Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to create virtual devices / state machines?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to create virtual devices / state machines?

Hi everyone-

I'm new to HSPRO, but not to programming or doing custom automation coding. I have a live / work building I am setting up with about 80 Z-wave devices including lighting, HSM100 sensors, door sensors, HVAC, etc. I apologize ahead of time if this has been covered elsewhere, but I don't know the search keywords in order to find it.

My problem is that I'm finding that taking various sensor and device events along with time-of-day info, applying boolean logic and then directly controlling other devices makes for awkward programming, and can't easily accomplish what I want (at least as far as I can tell). Here is an example problem I would like to solve:

Consider the following Z-wave devices:
    • stairway light (switch at top)
    • HSM100 sensor at lower entry
    • door sensor at lower entry
    • door sensor at top of stairs

The desired behavior is this:
    • if anyone is "present" at the top or bottom of the stairs, and it is dark (typically night), turn the light on
    • "presence" in these case being the opening of either door, motion detection, or the act of turning on the light switch manually
    • turn the light off some amount of time after the last indication that someone is present

I can accomplish this to some degree right now using events with HSPRO, but it leaves a bit to be desired. I use both door sensors, the time of day, and the HSM100 motion detection to turn the light on, but I essentially rely on the delayed off features of the HSM100 to ultimately trigger an event and turn the light off. If someone manually turns on the light, or never goes all the way down the stairs where the HSM100 sees them, the lights won't turn off.