Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noob looking for info on best hardware to use for HS3PRO.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob looking for info on best hardware to use for HS3PRO.

The amount of info on this HS message board is insane! I am a noob looking to build an HS3PRO system to automate the house, yard, everything. I think I need to start with the hardware first. Is there a thread that has the latest HS3 hardware successes? I'm not sure if I want to buy an HS Home Controller or build my own and buy the HS3PRO software. I currently have an UnRAID server in a 19-inch rack. However, I typically let it go to sleep every night to save some wear and tear on the harddrives and CPU. What do others do for their HS3 controller, do most folks keep them running and awake 24/7 or let them sleep?

Welcome. Check out https://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=181456.

I have a couple of fanless CPUs that use a couple of watts power. They run 24/7, since I have events that run around the clock, as well as the logging of energy, temperature, and humidity data. The reason I have 2 is that I have been migrating from HS2 to HS3 and have been using a dedicated box for each. It has taken a long time, but I am almost there.

Good luck and Happy New Year!
    Elliott
    "Living with technology means living in a [constant] state of flux." S. Higgenbotham, 2023
    "Reboot and rejoice!" F. Pishotta, 1989

Comment

Things to note:

a) With HS3PRO, you only get the plugins provided by Homeseer Technologies and not what you find in the updater (which are mainly 3rd Party developers).
      b) If you buy HS3/HS3PRO software for Windows, you get the Linux version thrown in as well. This is not the case for any of the controllers.
      c) There are more plugins available under Windows than Linux.
      d) You have to run HS3 24/7!