Zee with USB to RS-232 adapter for X10 CM11A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Zee with USB to RS-232 adapter for X10 CM11A

Will the Zee allow me to connect my X10 CM11A, which has the old type DB9 pin serial connection to one of its USB ports if I use a USB to serial adapter?

My adapter (translucent blue hoods with a foot long braided cable) worked in the past with WinXP machines and I don't think I had to add any type of driver software for Windows XP to see it, along with what was attached to the DB9 connector.

Some of the older threads here indicated that you had to first eliminate Z-Wave plug ins before adding X10 plug ins. Is this still a requirement?

Since I'm new to the Zee I figured I'd ask before trying in case doing things the wrong way screws stuff up?

And, is this Hardware forum for the Zee the best place to be asking these questions or should I re-post in the X10 area?

Originally posted by LarryB View Post
    Will the Zee allow me to connect my X10 CM11A, which has the old type DB9 pin serial connection to one of its USB ports if I use a USB to serial adapter?

My adapter (translucent blue hoods with a foot long braided cable) worked in the past with WinXP machines and I don't think I had to add any type of driver software for Windows XP to see it, along with what was attached to the DB9 connector.

Some of the older threads here indicated that you had to first eliminate Z-Wave plug ins before adding X10 plug ins. Is this still a requirement?

Since I'm new to the Zee I figured I'd ask before trying in case doing things the wrong way screws stuff up?

And, is this Hardware forum for the Zee the best place to be asking these questions or should I re-post in the X10 area?
    Welcome aboard. I think you are in the right forum, but if you don't get more responses, try a different one.