www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Plug-ins > Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Discussion > AirplaySpeak

AirplaySpeak This plug-in is a Speak Proxy which allows Homeseer to route annoucements to AirPlay capable devices such as an AirPort Express

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old December 27th, 2013, 07:17 AM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
not sure what needs to change

Hi Spud, so when I disable Norton it works but I can't leave it that way - not sure what I need to do to allow AirPlay to work - there is a ton of stuff in norton. Helppppp....
__________________

GearHouse Club Member
Intel Ci5 1.49 GHz / Win7 Pro 64 / 4G RAM
HSPRO v2.5.0.81 / Z-Troller / 30 Z-Wave devices
HSTouch / UltraWeatherBug / Insteon / ADIO-100 / EtherRain / SONOSCONTROLLER / UltraNetCam / BDGraphs / Pushover (3P) / EnvisaLink / AirPlay Speak
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old December 27th, 2013, 08:41 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcoscia View Post
Hi Spud, so when I disable Norton it works but I can't leave it that way - not sure what I need to do to allow AirPlay to work - there is a ton of stuff in norton. Helppppp....
you need to allow HSPI_AIRPLAY_SPEAK.exe to access the network. I don't know Norton, but there is probably a place where you can define a list of programs that are trusted to use the network.

Last edited by spud; December 27th, 2013 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:19 AM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
Sigh

I have added all of the files below to the exception list - did I miss one?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:28 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,115
the plugin also use Mono.Zeroconf.dll, but I thought you only had to make exceptions for exe files.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:56 AM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
what port is being used

Hi Spud, that did not help, the norton log shows UDP activity on port 5353 being blocked - is that the port for AirPlay?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old December 27th, 2013, 10:49 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,115
yes I think that's the port used by the Bonjour service.
Try to add C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe to the exception list
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old December 27th, 2013, 12:54 PM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
That worked - thanks

Thanks Spud, I wanted to do some testing with specific speakers but my Airplay speakers are not showing up on the "select or add speaker client list" (but they are listed on the Airplay config screen). Is there an HS3 Airplay Speak manual somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old December 27th, 2013, 01:47 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcoscia View Post
Thanks Spud, I wanted to do some testing with specific speakers but my Airplay speakers are not showing up on the "select or add speaker client list" (but they are listed on the Airplay config screen). Is there an HS3 Airplay Speak manual somewhere?
In the "select or add speaker clients" window you can manually add your airplay speakers. Just write its name in the text box located on the left of the add button.

No HS3 manual yet, but I'm going to write one.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old December 27th, 2013, 03:44 PM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
That works but...

Thanks that works but shouldn't the enabled speakers show up in the list box, is that a bug on the HS3 side or is it something that you need enable on the Airplay speak side.

If a box that has room for a bunch of speaks shows up (with arrows to move items back and forth) I assume all speakers should be listed then I just pick the one(s) I want to use.

Let me know, maybe I'm just not seeing this right....
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old December 27th, 2013, 03:55 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcoscia View Post
Thanks that works but shouldn't the enabled speakers show up in the list box, is that a bug on the HS3 side or is it something that you need enable on the Airplay speak side.

If a box that has room for a bunch of speaks shows up (with arrows to move items back and forth) I assume all speakers should be listed then I just pick the one(s) I want to use.

Let me know, maybe I'm just not seeing this right....
this box is originally designed to list the HS speakers clients (Not AirPlay), so I don't think it's possible for me to fill it with a list of Airplay speakers, it's kind of an internal HS3 thing.
But you're right that would be more user friendly, so I'm going to add a feature request in the HS3 bugzilla.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
airplay speak, hs3, version

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airplay Speak Feature Requests spud AirplaySpeak 27 June 12th, 2018 03:13 PM
Airplay Speak plug-in general information spud AirplaySpeak 41 November 2nd, 2017 10:27 AM
Airplay Speak - HS3 User Guide spud AirplaySpeak 1 January 21st, 2014 05:22 PM
Airplay Speak - HS2 Beta Testing spud AirplaySpeak 82 July 24th, 2013 06:45 PM
Airplay Speak - HS2 User Guide spud AirplaySpeak 0 March 4th, 2013 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC