www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 24th, 2012, 12:09 AM
GadgetBoySI's Avatar
GadgetBoySI GadgetBoySI is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 274
Checking if Homeseer is running

Tonight my power supply crapped out. First time I have had a power supply issue. I heard some crackling on the house speakers and then nothing. I yanked the power supply and bench tested it and the voltage was lower than it should be. Fortunately, I have another power supply and was able to swap it out while I determine what to do with the bootie one.

In the meantime, I got to thinking - I use a plugin to check the status of other PC's on my network and can drive events to notify me if a PC goes offline. What do you use to test to see if the Homeseer box is online? Maybe a small app to run on another PC to email you if a ping to the HS box fails?

Looking for everyone's thoughts.

Thanks!
__________________
LazyAutomation
www.lazyautomation.com

la·zy [ley-zee] - Resistant to work or exertion; disposed to idleness.
au·to·ma·tion [aw-tuh-mey-shuh n] - The automatic operation or control of equipment, a process, or a system.

HS3Pro / HSTouch / JRMC 19 / Gizmo / M-Audio Delta 410 / 5 Zone Whole House Audio / UPB / ZWave / RFXCOM / Windows 7 HTPC / Ceton InfiniTV w/Xbox Extenders / W800
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 24th, 2012, 12:44 AM
Stevech's Avatar
Stevech Stevech is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,532
my PC that runs HomeSeer and several other applications and a RAID array for files... is in the garage. It has run for 5 years or so. Has a top quality power supply. It's an ASUS motherboard and AMD CPU. The predecessor was similar, and it too ran for many years.

It does reboot about every 3-6 weeks, on my action, because of memory leaks in the driver for the USB to X10. And another leak somewhere I've not tracked down - perhaps one of the DLLs or the windows scripting engine.

I know that PC is not right within 3 or so hours, daytime; my wife complains that she' can't see her favorite webcams. I have the PC feed a browser's display to a spare input of the TV in the LR via a long composite video coax. We enjoy seeing places we've visit around the US and Europe, and some of the national park cams.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 24th, 2012, 07:02 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 6,699
First indicator all is not well with HS is when my touchscreens have the yellow bar at the bottom saying they cannot connect to the HS server, it is rarely anything other than HS/the PC has quit.

It is a good idea to monitor it though, might install a little app on one of my HSTouch screens that could ping the HS server to see if it was still online. If it has no success perhaps it could email me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 24th, 2012, 07:22 AM
GadgetBoySI's Avatar
GadgetBoySI GadgetBoySI is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhappy View Post
It is a good idea to monitor it though, might install a little app on one of my HSTouch screens that could ping the HS server to see if it was still online. If it has no success perhaps it could email me.
That's what I was thinking. There must be an app with a small footprint that can silently run on a separate PC and send me something if HS box goes down.

Anybody else?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 24th, 2012, 11:34 AM
Olbrit's Avatar
Olbrit Olbrit is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD / SW FL
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetBoySI View Post
...What do you use to test to see if the Homeseer box is online? Maybe a small app to run on another PC to email you if a ping to the HS box fails?...
I use Pingdom to ping the router and the HS HTroller every minute.
__________________
All Z-Wave, #101 devices, HomeTroller Series2, HomeSeer2 v.2.5.0.81, & 1x Z-Troller
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 24th, 2012, 11:57 AM
GadgetBoySI's Avatar
GadgetBoySI GadgetBoySI is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Here's an example of a little wintel powershell script you can run:
Pete:

Is this to be run as a batch file on another PC on the network?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 24th, 2012, 01:32 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 551
I don't suppose you have an ELK security system too, do you? Mine sends me an email if HS is down for more than xx minutes.

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=139878
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 24th, 2012, 03:27 PM
wpiman's Avatar
wpiman wpiman is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Carlisle, MA
Posts: 911
I have something called an iBoot at one of the houses. It can ping the machine, and if it doesn't get a response will cycle power on the server. I believe it can email as well.
__________________
HS 2.5.0.21; Z-Seer 1.2 with ZStick (38 devices)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional - Work Station;
Plug-Ins Enabled: ZWave Thermostats, HSTouch Server, TED, HSTouch Server Unlimited,
Media Player, HSTouch iPhone, CheaperRFID Plugin, AC RF Processor,
iTunes, WeatherPLUG

HSM100, HRDS1, Schlage Locks, WebController, WDT20, WGL..............

Second house....
2.4.0.72 Zstick
5 2Gig thermostats, Kwikset locks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 29th, 2012, 06:51 PM
Stevech's Avatar
Stevech Stevech is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,532
I've used these in my job.. well done; good support. About $100.
http://www.controlbyweb.com/webrelay...FUQipQodOW8AqA

the "pulse" mode could do a more graceful reboot/reset versus just remotely killing the power to the server (which risks corrupting the file system).

Last edited by Stevech; December 29th, 2012 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 30th, 2012, 12:01 PM
GadgetBoySI's Avatar
GadgetBoySI GadgetBoySI is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monk View Post
I don't suppose you have an ELK security system too, do you? Mine sends me an email if HS is down for more than xx minutes.

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=139878

I don't...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 31st, 2012, 01:56 AM
Krumpy's Avatar
Krumpy Krumpy is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,070
Easiest thing to do is instigate the IE browser and attempt to see if the HS web server is functioning. If you get data back, then it is working...

Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
IE.visible = 0
IE.navigate "http://homeseer/elog"
do while IE.Busy
loop
HTTPGet = IE.document.documentelement.outerhtml
' wscript.sleep 2000
IE.quit
Set IE = Nothing
WScript.Echo HTTPGet 'good for debugging. shows what you got back.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:01 PM
Bill Brower's Avatar
Bill Brower Bill Brower is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 3,258
Circles

For goofy little specialty programs I always go to download.com.

Try this:

http://download.cnet.com/WWWQuickChe...ml?tag=mncol;5

You can set the interval at which you'd like WWWQuickCheck to check the status of each Website--at that time, a specific phrase or regular expression will be validated against the response from the configured URI. If a match is not successful, an e-mail is sent to the e-mail address(es) for that URI (each URI can have one or more e-mail addresses attached to it). WWWQuickCheck is a free, easy to install, easy to configure tool. Set it up once and cross your fingers that you don't get any failure e-mails.
__________________


~Bill
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 20th, 2017, 01:38 PM
adamgreenberg adamgreenberg is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 75
I have just set up a way to be notified if HomeSeer is not running or not accessible. Thought I would share in case it is helpful for others.

My HS3 is running on a dedicated Windows 10 device. It is running as a service, but sometimes if the computer restarts (perhaps there was a Windows software update or something else happened like a power outage) HS3 doesn't always start. I have not been able to reliably recreate the issue to figure out why HS3 does not start. Other times, I've had an issue with a network switch. Issues happen on rare occasions, so I have been wanting to find a way to get a proactive notification that HS3 is not running or not running as intended.

I have come across two online services that are free uptimerobot.com and hetrixtools.com.

My HS3 is accessible through a domain that I own with a port specified (eg., mydomain.com:10200).

uptimerobot allows you to set up a port monitor as well as an http monitor and hetrixtools.com allows you to set up a ping/service monitor. They are both free. Apparently, you have to login to hetrixtools.com at least every 30 days to keep the free account active so I may end up just using uptimerobot. The only advantage to hetrixtools.com is that it checks every minute and uptimerobot checks every 5 minutes. They both have flexible notification options including pushover which I am a big fan of. I'm going to keep using both for the next little while to see if there are any differences in performance. Hopefully this solves my notification problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC