www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HomeTroller-SEL

HomeTroller-SEL Discussions related to the HomeTroller-SEL automation controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 23rd, 2017, 05:36 PM
aredhead's Avatar
aredhead aredhead is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: TX
Posts: 13
HomeSeer SEL pro and a Z-NET Remote Z-Wave Interface

I am having a hell of a problem understanding why I am having such a problem. I have a Homeseer Sel pro and I am trying to add a HomeSeer Z-NET Remote Z-Wave Interface with it. It is my understanding that the Interface is bascially a bridge. I thought that it was not a controller per say but is a holder of devices. Why am I having so much problem getting the thing to work. I have a green light and my system recognizes it. I really think that I am trying to hard here and overthinking this thing. I could use some basic help here in understanding what I have bought. All I am looking for is for the Interface to talk to my devices in the back of my house and let the SEL do the work and control. If it is better the other way around great. But,,, any help will help.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 23rd, 2017, 05:57 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,170
The Z-Net is a Z-Wave controller while the SEL is just running HS.
Using find.homeseer.com you can find your Z-Net's IP address and configure the Z-Wave plugin using that IP. From there, it's just a matter of adding Z-Wave devices using the Z-Tool+ app on your phone.
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
61 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, HAI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 24th, 2017, 12:41 PM
aredhead's Avatar
aredhead aredhead is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: TX
Posts: 13
That's a start

Thanks,
Ok. That means my little SEL box is the program and the zstick (in the SEL) is a holder of devices. The Interface box (located in another location)
is also a holder of devices. How do you know? or what is a test? to see that the SEL is communicating to the Interface and vice/versa. green led's? green checks on plug-ins?

Now another big question: if I have a door contact loaded in the SEL/stick on one side of the house (its to far to pick up its status), but the device is on the Interface side of the house; why is the status of the device not being read by the Interface? The interface will only pick up on devices loaded in it and the Stick will only pick up devices that are in it?

For both to share device information do I need to copy and send information between the both or what?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 24th, 2017, 12:53 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by aredhead View Post
Thanks,
Ok. That means my little SEL box is the program and the zstick (in the SEL) is a holder of devices. The Interface box (located in another location)
is also a holder of devices. How do you know? or what is a test? to see that the SEL is communicating to the Interface and vice/versa. green led's? green checks on plug-ins?

Now another big question: if I have a door contact loaded in the SEL/stick on one side of the house (its to far to pick up its status), but the device is on the Interface side of the house; why is the status of the device not being read by the Interface? The interface will only pick up on devices loaded in it and the Stick will only pick up devices that are in it?

For both to share device information do I need to copy and send information between the both or what?
Yeah, you would need to assign one as a primary controller and one as a secondary controller. I only have the Z-Net as my primary, so I'm not much help there.

Again, you would use find.homeseer.com to find the IP of your Z-Net and you configure it in the Z-Wave plugin configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 24th, 2017, 02:22 PM
zwolfpack zwolfpack is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 725
>> what is a test to see that the SEL is communicating to the Interface and vice/versa. green led's? green checks on plug-ins?

The green LED on the znet indicates the connection status between the plugin and the znet. The green check on the web page appears once the link is initially successful, but doesn't change if the link is broken. Best way to tell that from the web interface is the log; there will be a lot of complains in red font if there are issues.

>> The interface will only pick up on devices loaded in it and the Stick will only pick up devices that are in it?

Yes and yes.

>> For both to share device information do I need to copy and send information between the both or what?

That's a fairly advanced topic; for starters I'd recommend adding the device to the closest interface and leave this for down the road.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote z-wave interface setup kff HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 5 December 17th, 2014 05:56 AM
HomeSeer/Z-Wave as Interface for Remote Door Entry legendsfan Security System Discussion 7 May 20th, 2011 05:42 PM
Z Wave Remote Interface thedishking HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 6 December 13th, 2009 11:50 PM
Z-Wave Interface for Homeseer rbcaputo HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 4 September 26th, 2007 10:43 PM
HomeSeer Z-Wave USB Interface and powered USB hub dhk HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 1 December 1st, 2005 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC