Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Running Kinect plugin remotely

Spud,

I am interested in running you plug in on multiple client computers through out my house for VR is this possible and if so how do I go about doing it. I am new to homeseer and need a little guidance onhow to install plugins on a remote Pc thanks

Ken
    HSPRO,HS3PRO, BLsecurity, , MCSxap, HSTouch Android, UltraGCIR, CM15a, USBUIRT, BLUSBUIRT, WIFIRGB, BLAB8SS, BLcontrol, BLGData, BLLAN,BLOccupied, BLRadar, BLVolume, iTunesDAAP, UltraGCIR3, Airplayspeak, BLalarm, BLbackup, BLLED, BLrandom, BLReminders, BLRF, BL Speech, Hyperion, IFTTT, KINECT, XBMC, MCSprinkers PRO, PHLocation, ULtrapioneer, Ultralog, ultraweatherbug, Z,troller, GC-100, GC WIFICC, GC-WIFI SERIAL, Nitrogen logic depth camera controllers,

Originally posted by kenrad View Post
    Spud,

I am interested in running you plug in on multiple client computers through out my house for VR is this possible and if so how do I go about doing it. I am new to homeseer and need a little guidance onhow to install plugins on a remote Pc thanks

Ken
    to run the plugin remotely, you need first to install it on your HS machine, even if you don't have a Kinect connected to your HS machine you need to have it installed there (but you don't have to enable it) so that HS doesn't complain about licensing issue when you start your remote instances.
    Then
    • copy HSPI_KINECT.exe, bin/Kinect/Kinect.Toolbox.dll to a directory on your remote computer
    • copy HomeSeerAPI.dll, HSCF.dll and Scheduler.dll from your HS3 directory to the same remote directory
    • open a command prompt on your remote computer
    • cd to the directory, then type HSPI_KINECT.exe server=<ip_of_your_hs_machine> instance=<instance_name>

where instance_name can be anything you want but only alpha numeric characters.

I have only one Kinect so far, so my test with remote plugins have been limited, but it should work. Let me know if you have any issue.