HSTouch Clients and DLNA Manager

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HSTouch Clients and DLNA Manager

Didn't know this was going to be as long so a short version is, is there a script I can run as an event on track change to poll the DLNA Manager to update the status text labels in the clients of HSTouch? (Read below for more in depth)

Forgive me if this is a simple script writing exercise but I am fairly new to the home automation scene.

I am using JRiver as the "DLNA Server" and have 4 zones installed to see if I can get it to do what I want before finishing install.

In HSTouch Designer, I created three text labels with status pointing to "artist name", "album", and "title track". I also have buttons created for "next", "play", "stop", etc...DLNA Manager used for those actions.

When I run the clients everything starts up and the labels are created correctly per current song. If I press "next" the labels change to next song selected, no problems. The problem starts when I let the song end and the next song is played from playlist. The labels remain as the same as the previous song instead of updating. Granted almost as the new song is ending, the labels are correctly populated but by that time the next song is playing and is not matching the labels for current song.

Question is, is there a script I can add as an event to poll the DLNA Manager to update the labels say for a track change? I know a little bit about the polldevice command but I am not sure what the dim variables are I should be polling for the labels.

Thanks for any feedback.

Originally posted by olag00 View Post
    Didn't know this was going to be as long so a short version is, is there a script I can run as an event on track change to poll the DLNA Manager to update the status text labels in the clients of HSTouch? (Read below for more in depth)

Forgive me if this is a simple script writing exercise but I am fairly new to the home automation scene.