www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in

HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in Discussions relating to the Z-Wave plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 11th, 2013, 07:27 PM
cd-card-biz cd-card-biz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 152
Z-Wave Optimization Help

I just installed a Z-Wave mag door contact set.

I added the node with the device in near proximity of my Z-Troller. Added OK.

Next, I mounted the mag contact in its final location which is within 10 feet of a Z-Wave strobe/siren unit and 15 feet line of sight to a Z-Wave thermostat.

I opened the door to "wake up" the unit then did a full network optimize.

Z-Seer shows that the node is still trying to connect all the way back to the Z-Troller, which is out of range. Also, the new node does not show up in a full network optimize.

Can anyone throw me a clue on how to get this node connected to it's nearest neighbor?

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 11th, 2013, 10:26 PM
Person's Avatar
Person Person is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 501
From what I know simply opening the contact won't wake it up in a way needed to run optimization. It will wake it up to *send* to contact changes and it will go to sleep.

Typically you need to tap inclusion button 3 times or hold it for 10 seconds or something like that to wake it up (see the manual). Then it will stay awake for about 10 minutes.

Go to the device status page, select device and under properties run "full optimize and add return route".

I have some more info here:

http://board.homeseer.com/showpost.p...87&postcount=3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 12th, 2013, 01:04 AM
cd-card-biz cd-card-biz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks very much for the advice.

Strangely enough, the "Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-Wave Door/Window Sensor" comes with absolutely no Z-Wave setup information at all.

The "manual" describes how to screw it to a door. You're totally left guessing as to how the thing works. Hey, what do you expect for a $50 magnetic door switch?

I'll keep at it and will post back if I discover how to keep it awake long enough to optimize.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 12th, 2013, 01:27 AM
cd-card-biz cd-card-biz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 152
Solved.

3 - clicks of the tamper switch wakes it up.

I missed your suggestion of running "Full Optimize" from the device status page. That seemed to make the difference.

Now, my mag switch has (5) connected neighbors. It's actually my best connected node at present.

Sincere thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 12th, 2013, 08:32 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cd-card-biz View Post
Strangely enough, the "Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-Wave Door/Window Sensor" comes with absolutely no Z-Wave setup information at all.
Where did you purchase your unit? HomeSeer's instructions have steps on Z-Wave installation and inclusion.
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 12th, 2013, 12:19 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by cd-card-biz View Post
Solved.

3 - clicks of the tamper switch wakes it up.
That particular model requires 3 clicks within 1.5 secs. It's pretty tempermental
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 12th, 2013, 08:09 PM
cd-card-biz cd-card-biz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupp View Post
Where did you purchase your unit? HomeSeer's instructions have steps on Z-Wave installation and inclusion.
From Homeseer! I promise you, the only "instructions" in the box was the Aeon Labs 4-fold pamphlet. I shows pictures of hardware only. No mention anywhere about Z-Wave usage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC