www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > RFID Plug-ins > RFID Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 01:42 AM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
RFID Reader Recomendations

I am trying to find a rfid reader that I can use to have Homeseer send an unlock command to my Kwikset 99100-011 Motorized Deadbolt.
If possible I would like to be able to add and control the use of the rfid tokens within Homeseer.

My budget is about $200

Any Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 04:19 AM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
You should find what you need at http://www.rfidshop.com.hk/ for less than 100$
I've bought one. Very good communication with the seller.
Testing for the moment ; then connected to Homeseer to control alarm and lighting.
__________________
HS 3.0.0.318 Pro virtualized
Plugins & Scripts : APCUPSD, BLBackup, BLLan, Device History, HSTouch, IPX800, IRTrans, NetCam, PHLocation, ProgTV, Reveils, RFXCOM, SNCF, UltraCID3, Z-Wave, 1-Wire, WhoIs, EasyTrigger, RaspberryIO
HW : HPN54L with Esxi 5.5,
RFXCom LAN, IRTrans LAN+USB, USBModem, Oregon Scientific Sensors, 1-Wire, IPX800, Z-Wave devices
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 04:24 AM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks

What model do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 05:09 AM
Moskus's Avatar
Moskus Moskus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 3,666
PhidgetRFID might be an option if you can use USB or an USB-over-IP solution. My RFIDseer plugin (see signature) is simple but it works.
__________________
HSPro 3.0.0.368, Z-NET with Z-wave plugin 3.0.1.136, RFXCOM + 2x RFXtrx433E, HSTouch, Squeezebox plugin, iTach IP/WF2IR & GC-100-6 with UltraGCIR, BLDenon, NetcamStudio, Jon00s Webpage builder, Harmony Hub plugin, SCSIP (with FreePBX), Arduino plugin, IFTTT, Pushalot plugin, Device History plugin.
Running on Windows 10 (64) virtualized
on ESXi (Fujitsu Primergy TX150 S8).
WinSeer (for Win10) - TextSeer - FitbitSeer - HSPI_MoskusSample

Are you Norwegian (or Scandinavian) and getting started with HomSeer? Read the "HomeSeer School"!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 10:01 AM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk89 View Post
What model do you have?
I've bought this one "125K-R-485-W1" 125K EM4100 reader with RS485 interface and 10 "125K-T5" keyfob tags.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 12:55 PM
Richel Richel is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by eole View Post
I've bought this one "125K-R-485-W1" 125K EM4100 reader with RS485 interface and 10 "125K-T5" keyfob tags.
Can you recommend a reader for long range reading when an automobile enters a driveway (e.g., 30 meters)? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 01:51 PM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
I don't know but I think you should ask the seller directly. Sure he'll help you. I've had very good communication with him.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 2nd, 2011, 02:21 PM
Richel Richel is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 497
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 15th, 2011, 12:34 PM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by eole View Post
I've bought this one "125K-R-485-W1" 125K EM4100 reader with RS485 interface and 10 "125K-T5" keyfob tags.
Thanks for the response!
What homeseer plugin did you use to interface with it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 15th, 2011, 03:52 PM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
My reader is not connected for the moment because I don't have any time to test for the moment... and I don't want to destroy my server
I always prefer to install another server, or building a full Acronis image before installing new hardware.
I'll probably use Blade's free pluging : http://bladeplugins.no-ip.org/BLRfid/default.asp
I had read it seems to be the best. If someone has other information, please share, it could be usefull.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 15th, 2011, 08:59 PM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by eole View Post
My reader is not connected for the moment because I don't have any time to test for the moment... and I don't want to destroy my server
I always prefer to install another server, or building a full Acronis image before installing new hardware.
I'll probably use Blade's free pluging : http://bladeplugins.no-ip.org/BLRfid/default.asp
I had read it seems to be the best. If someone has other information, please share, it could be usefull.
Ok Thanks.
I'll let you know how my setup turns out .
I just ordered the 125K-R-485-W1" 125K EM4100 reader with RS485 interface and 20 "125K-T5" keyfob tags.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 22nd, 2011, 10:50 PM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by eole View Post
My reader is not connected for the moment because I don't have any time to test for the moment... and I don't want to destroy my server
I always prefer to install another server, or building a full Acronis image before installing new hardware.
I'll probably use Blade's free pluging : http://bladeplugins.no-ip.org/BLRfid/default.asp
I had read it seems to be the best. If someone has other information, please share, it could be usefull.
I received my reader and tags but have no clue how to get it to interface with homeseer.

It comes with a demo program, and that seems to work but the out put is all in HEX code.

Any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 28th, 2011, 12:26 PM
cactsbob's Avatar
cactsbob cactsbob is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 490
Do you have anymore information. I haven't used this brand RFID. I have been using the iAutomate rfid for several years. iAutomate support for the Homeseer plugin ended with JRE 1.4 and questions to their support about this go un-answered. Also, iAutomate is really expensive. So, I would like to have a cheaper alternative as RFID has really solved alot of occupancy issues with my system.

What does the demo program consist of? Do you have the source code?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 28th, 2011, 01:13 PM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk89 View Post
I received my reader and tags but have no clue how to get it to interface with homeseer.
Connect the reader to your HomeSeer server using a RS485 adapter. Then install Blade's plugin. It should work.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 28th, 2011, 03:52 PM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by eole View Post
Connect the reader to your HomeSeer server using a RS485 adapter. Then install Blade's plugin. It should work.
No offense, but have you actually tried this your self or is this just a theory.
The reason I ask it because I thought the rfid reader I bought was faulty until I used the demo program that was included with it.
It requires you send a set of hex code commands to it before it will spit out any rfid tag id.
When it dose spit out the tag id it's all in hex code.

At this point I am not sure if it is something I am doing wrong or what.

I should also note I can't get it to work with hyper terminal or any program except the demo program they included.

Here are to links to the PDF that are included with the reader.

http://www.rfidshop.com.hk/datasheet...-Datasheet.pdf

http://www.rfidshop.com.hk/datasheet...5-protocol.pdf

Again any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 28th, 2011, 03:54 PM
nk89
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cactsbob View Post
Do you have anymore information. I haven't used this brand RFID. I have been using the iAutomate rfid for several years. iAutomate support for the Homeseer plugin ended with JRE 1.4 and questions to their support about this go un-answered. Also, iAutomate is really expensive. So, I would like to have a cheaper alternative as RFID has really solved alot of occupancy issues with my system.

What does the demo program consist of? Do you have the source code?
Here are to links to the PDF that are included with the reader.

http://www.rfidshop.com.hk/datasheet...-Datasheet.pdf

http://www.rfidshop.com.hk/datasheet...5-protocol.pdf

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 28th, 2011, 09:12 PM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk89 View Post
No offense, but have you actually tried this your self or is this just a theory.
As said previously, I haven't tried, it was only theory.
But I've now tried... several hours this evening without success
Quote:
It requires you send a set of hex code commands to it before it will spit out any rfid tag id.
That's right with the demo software. But a French user made it work with a plugin he wrote and a RS232 reader. I can imagine that RS232 and RS485 respond differently. In fact I hope they don't. I can see different answers to the same command from the reader with the demo tool, even if there's only 10cm between reader and adapter.
So for the moment I suspect my USB-RS485 adapter and will probably buy another one. I'll perhaps ask the reader seller before.
As my reader will be far from the server I prefer to have a RS485 instead a RS432 reader. That's why I bought it.

If you want to have a look and test the french plugin, it's here : http://www.maison-et-domotique.com/2...dans-homeseer/
It's in french but easy to translate with google
Hope it'll work for you... and for me after buying a new adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 29th, 2011, 09:28 AM
eole's Avatar
eole eole is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France
Posts: 167
I've sent a mail to the seller.
Very bad news. There's another big difference between RS232 and RS485 readers that I didn't know and didn't see anywhere.

"The reader is with RS485 interface which need send command by polling method for card reading .
125K-R-232-W2 is with RS232 interface which don't need send command for card reading ."

So I don't see how to make it work, without writing a plugin which ask the reader every x seconds. Otherwise we'll have to buy a RS232 reader and hope the wire is not too long (I need 100-150m).

If someone knows how to create a plugin for this, I'm very interested, and think I'm not alone.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC