www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Plug-ins > Legacy HomeSeer Plug-ins > Aprilaire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 4th, 2015, 12:30 AM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 103
Aprilaire with HS3?

Did anyone find a way to run Aprilaire thermostat with HS3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 4th, 2015, 06:22 AM
ffneilm ffneilm is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8
Thinking the same thing.

An aprilaire plugin is the only thing stopping me from switching totally to H3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 4th, 2015, 09:46 AM
Gunneyk's Avatar
Gunneyk Gunneyk is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 236
I have an AprilAire thermostat that came with the house and I would like to replace it but I can't find one I am comfortable with. It displays the outside temperature on the LCD display and the majority of the Z-Wave thermostats do not have this feature. Now I don't really care if the temp is displayed or not but it is my understanding that the unit uses that input (in part) to determine when to kick in the aux heat source since this is a heat pump. I just can't find enough information to determine if the replacement thermostats deal with that regardless of displaying it on the screen. I tracked down the guy who installed the unit and he was clueless.
__________________
Andrew J. Kelly
Virginia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 4th, 2015, 07:20 PM
ffneilm ffneilm is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8
The outside temp is optional. It will allow you to set the balance point thru the thermostat that determines when the aux heat will run with the compressor shut off. Any thermostat designed for a heat pump will work.

The pluses of the Aiprilaire is that it is modular and has ability to add zones, multiple temp and humidity readings. You can control a whole house humidifier and the biggest plus is the ability to control it from a home automation system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 5th, 2015, 08:51 AM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffneilm View Post
An aprilaire plugin is the only thing stopping me from switching totally to H3.
I am in same situation. How many people have interest in a third party plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 15th, 2015, 12:25 PM
bbuck2002 bbuck2002 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50
I am still interested in this, and could help with testing and development. I am unable to upgrade to HS3 because of this one plugin... Is HomeSeer willing to provide the original code for the HS2 plugin? I could probably port it to HS3.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 15th, 2015, 12:35 PM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 5,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbuck2002 View Post
I am still interested in this, and could help with testing and development. I am unable to upgrade to HS3 because of this one plugin... Is HomeSeer willing to provide the original code for the HS2 plugin? I could probably port it to HS3.
The source code is available: http://store.homeseer.com/store/Home...ode-P1800.aspx

Cheers
Al
__________________
HS3Pro 3.0.0.318 on Jetway JBC501F9Q-Q87-B i7 8GB 1895 Devices, 949 Events, 28 Plugins
Z-Wave 3.0.1.110 Z-Net 105 nodes:Leviton Vizia,Kwikset,FortrezZ Valve/Sensors,Everspring Sensors/Modules/Outlets,CT30 Stats,MIMOLites,Aeotec Smart Switches
RFXCom W800,RFXrec433,RFXtrx433|APCUPSD|Pushover|Squeezebox|weatherXML|HS Phone W2C|APCUPSD|UltraLog
UltraGCIR GC-100|UltraNetcam|UltraPioneer|Ultra1Wire|DSC PC1832|BLLED|BLTVGuide|ImperiHome|jon00 Utilities|MySensors

PHLocation|X10 CM11A IOLinc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 24th, 2016, 08:19 PM
bbuck2002 bbuck2002 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50
Dollar Sign Really??

This frustrated me when I saw it, so I am not responding until now.
I might pay $50 or so for a working HS3 Aprilaire plugin, but I sure as **** am not going to spend $100 for the source code of the HS2 version! Who knows if I'd even be able to port it!
Anyway, still on HS2, and looks like I'll be supporting it for quite a while longer. I don't really want to replace a perfectly good Aprilaire thermostat setup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 24th, 2016, 08:43 PM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 5,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbuck2002 View Post
This frustrated me when I saw it, so I am not responding until now.
I might pay $50 or so for a working HS3 Aprilaire plugin, but I sure as **** am not going to spend $100 for the source code of the HS2 version! Who knows if I'd even be able to port it!
Anyway, still on HS2, and looks like I'll be supporting it for quite a while longer. I don't really want to replace a perfectly good Aprilaire thermostat setup.
Well, don't shoot the messenger

I'd call HS and see if they will release the code as open source. They've done that for a few other plugins as well.

Cheers
Al
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 26th, 2016, 09:16 AM
mattm55 mattm55 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Upstate Ny
Posts: 301
I have an interest in an Aprilaire HS3 plugin myself.

At the present I have a whole house Aprilaire humidifier that I would like to control but the thermostat is a Honeywell wifi. The HW works great except they won't release the API so I'm going to switch to the AA 8800 Thermo and the AA 8811 adapter. The HW uses the Total Connect Comfort and even though someone has done a HS3 plugin, it could change and break with any HW update.

So, count me in for a HS3 plugin. I'm going to get a non-HVAC test environment setup 8800 Therm, 8811 Adapter and 800 Hum connected.

-Matt

Update: Does anyone have a working HS2 Aprilaire plugin working? Screenshots and would grabbing source code might expedite a HS3 conversion. Might be worth the cost if HS wont turn it over to us.
__________________
HS: 3.x
HW: Insteon PLM 2412U, RFXCom, Concord Ultra w/AM, Brultech GEM, Brultech Dashbox, ELK-930, Venstar tStat T7900
3P-Plugins: GE Concord HS3, MS_Insteon HS3, UltraCID HS3, RFXCOM HS3, Venstar tStat HS3
3P-Plugins Admin: GE Concord HS3, Venstar tStat HS3 (beta)
Scripts: n/a
Server: Win8 (64bit), Intel i5-4670 3.4Ghz, Asus Z87i MB, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD/1TB SATA

Last edited by mattm55; January 26th, 2016 at 09:49 PM. Reason: source code
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 12th, 2016, 12:16 AM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattm55 View Post
I have an interest in an Aprilaire HS3 plugin myself.

At the present I have a whole house Aprilaire humidifier that I would like to control but the thermostat is a Honeywell wifi. The HW works great except they won't release the API so I'm going to switch to the AA 8800 Thermo and the AA 8811 adapter. The HW uses the Total Connect Comfort and even though someone has done a HS3 plugin, it could change and break with any HW update.

So, count me in for a HS3 plugin. I'm going to get a non-HVAC test environment setup 8800 Therm, 8811 Adapter and 800 Hum connected.

-Matt

Update: Does anyone have a working HS2 Aprilaire plugin working? Screenshots and would grabbing source code might expedite a HS3 conversion. Might be worth the cost if HS wont turn it over to us.
I have Aprilaire plugin working with HS2. This is the only missing plugin before I can upgrade to HS3.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 13th, 2016, 10:45 PM
mattm55 mattm55 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Upstate Ny
Posts: 301
Ok. I actually went for the Venstar thermostat and signed up to do that plugin for HS3. If that doesnt work well I may swap to an Aprilair.
Matt
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 17th, 2016, 01:19 PM
monument monument is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: boston
Posts: 2
hi all. new guy here-- i bought a home that has HS2 running a plugin talking to 10 Aprilaire stats -- only 5 furnaces, but used for floor heat zones and humidistats too -- works ok but trying to move to HS3 for other things. Would love an Aprilaire HS3 plugin so wanted to register my interest as well.
Just started running HS3 in parallel and am porting systems one by one, so ready to help with testing if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 26th, 2016, 02:52 PM
smacarth smacarth is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northboro, MA
Posts: 40
Source Code

Awhile back I inquired about the Aprilaire HS2 source code. HomeSeer provided me a link to the source code for purchase. I recently retired and might be interested in purchase and see what it would take to upgrade the HS2 to HS3. Not sure why no one has attempted this yet since there does seem to be a fair amount of interest in the Aprilaire plugin for HS3.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 27th, 2016, 06:41 PM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by smacarth View Post
Awhile back I inquired about the Aprilaire HS2 source code. HomeSeer provided me a link to the source code for purchase. I recently retired and might be interested in purchase and see what it would take to upgrade the HS2 to HS3. Not sure why no one has attempted this yet since there does seem to be a fair amount of interest in the Aprilaire plugin for HS3.


I'd buy it if there is a HS3 plugin for Aprilaire. It's the only thing preventing me going to HS3
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 7th, 2017, 11:08 PM
Near76 Near76 is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2
Aprilaire with HS3...?

Any updates? I'm in the same boat, I have a two zone Aprilaire system running HS2 and want to upgrade to HS3 without tearing it out. I use the remote temp sensor of the Aprilaire and don't see that feature in others out there. I'm willing to help financially as well.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 21st, 2017, 12:17 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 2,969
If anyone wants to build a plug-in for Aprilaire, email me directly (mark at homeseer dot com) and I'll put you in touch with the right person at Aprilaire. He will provide you with the API and also with the hardware you need to create the plug-in.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS-Elk-Aprilaire 8870 will40 UltraM1G HSPI 3 August 17th, 2008 05:05 AM
Aprilaire setup with Elk M1G ctwilliams Aprilaire 1 August 27th, 2007 07:41 PM
AprilAire GreenAcres HS2 / HSPRO 11 May 18th, 2007 09:41 AM
Aprilaire 8870 cutthroat Aprilaire 0 November 11th, 2006 11:04 PM
Aprilaire 8870 keng Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 1 January 11th, 2004 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC