www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > Z-NET

Z-NET Discussions about HomeSeer's Z-NET IP-Enabled Z-Wave Interface

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2017, 05:55 AM
Mack1979 Mack1979 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 268
Z net stuck on old IP address

Replaced my router and uses a different network range. Z net won't connect. Using a screen and keyboard when it powers up it says it's IP address is still in old range (192.168.1.25), new router has 192.168.86.x. I've tried logging into it but homeseer / hsthsths3 doesn't seem to work. Any ideas how i can force it to allow the router dhcp to apply?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 21st, 2017, 06:41 AM
Mack1979 Mack1979 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 268
OK. I've managed to answer my question, so I'll put the info I gathered from a few places here to help out others.
At some point it appears my Z-net got a static IP address on the device itself (presumably a mis-click in the router settings when assigning it a static IP which should have been reserved in DHCP, NOT stored on the Z-net).

You can connect a keyboard and monitor on HDMI and watch as it logs on. I could see it getting the wrong IP address. Some people have said there is a prompt to press r during this bootup to reset the network settings, but I can't see this, so I let it go to the prompt and logged in.

There are also questions about which logon works. This one worked for me:
homeseer
zneths15
(Thanks to one of RJH's posts for that).

The rest of the info I got here:
https://uk.mathworks.com/help/suppor...id=gn_loc_drop

You can just follow the steps (you can ignore the MathWorks-related bits. If they have something in brackets just type the command from within the brackets.

In short, I edited the interfaces file, changed static to DHCP and removed the 3 lines for the gateway, IP address and subnet mask. Saved, exited and rebooted and I'm back on DHCP and able to pick up an IP address.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
questions about Mac address and IP address completelyhis Personal Computers 3 April 9th, 2011 01:39 PM
Stuck Again stretch HS2 / HSPRO 2 October 30th, 2005 12:18 AM
- - - HELP - Stuck On 1 jmonaco MCS Temperature 7 June 12th, 2004 03:06 PM
convert the email address to the person's formal name using Outlook's Address Book James Hennessey Script & Plug-In Development 2 August 21st, 2002 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC