www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in

HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in Discussions relating to the Z-Wave plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 17th, 2017, 10:57 PM
nibrt nibrt is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Control 240v pool pump

Hi,

I would like to control my pool pump which is 240v. Can I use the following device
http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-40-Amp...2726/207059394
I searched everywhere and everybody is talking about an Intermatic control that was discontinued or using an ELK 9200 which is not rated for outdoor. My pump is inside a shed but water might enter the shed, so I would really like something rated outdoor. The manual for the GE switch says it can control 2 120v lines that power a 240v device.

Thanks,
Nio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 18th, 2017, 09:18 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 520
Intermatic CA3750 is still available on Amazon....
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.379
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station

Enabled Plug-Ins:
  • 2.0.47.0: BLBackup
  • 2.0.22.0: BLUPS
  • 1.2.2.0: Device History
  • 3.6.5.0: Harmony Hub
  • 3.0.0.40 Easy Trigger
  • 3.0.0.104: HSTouch Server
  • 3.0.1.90: PHLocation
  • 3.0.6331.36036: UltraCID3
  • 3.0.5917.35093: UltraLog3
  • 3.0.6542.26784: UltraMon3
  • 3.0.0.76: weatherXML
  • 3.0.1.152: Z-Wave
  • 3.0.51: HS Touch Designer
  • 3.0.0.40 Z-Seer+
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 18th, 2017, 09:22 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewkearns View Post
Intermatic CA3750 is still available on Amazon....


It's cheaper direct from HomeSeer
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 18th, 2017, 10:05 AM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,194
I've been using a CA3750 (from HS) for a while now to control a pool pump and booster pump. It's under a shed, but exposed to the elements somewhat. It works fine.
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
61 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, HAI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 18th, 2017, 10:08 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 520
Hmmmm... yes, they are. Last time I checked, the item didn't appear as available.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 18th, 2017, 11:47 AM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 430
How many amps is the pump motor?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 18th, 2017, 12:02 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
How many amps is the pump motor?
I dont recall off-hand, but it is a 1.5HP Hayward pump that is wired for 220V
https://www.amazon.com/Hayward-SP261...sr_1_1?ie=UTF8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 20th, 2017, 08:02 AM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 430
Google says a 1.5hp motor is 10 amps at 240v. I was thinking about the Qubino relay that is rated for exactly that. So there's no room for any load increase. Oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 20th, 2017, 08:18 AM
clafa clafa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 132
Hi, I am using 2 intermaric CA3750 and they work.
You need to be aware that these units can't be very far from other z-wave devices since they have their antenna inside the plastic case.
I installed a z-wave repeater close by (indoors) and have had zero issues.
One of these is for a 120v pump and the other is controlling the heat pump 220v and no issues.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
S6-Pro, Zwave devices, 2 Kinects, iTunes DAAP, UltraGCIR, Vista Alarm, Sonos, Whole House Audio, Pool control using Spud's plug-in, HSTouch, BLRussound, BLLog.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 12th, 2017, 10:11 PM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
Did you have any issues adding the CA3750 to your network? I can't get mine to pair but it came without any instructions so I was wondering if it's someone else's return and can't be disassociated...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 12th, 2017, 11:05 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskvarenina View Post
Did you have any issues adding the CA3750 to your network? I can't get mine to pair but it came without any instructions so I was wondering if it's someone else's return and can't be disassociated...


Use the HS3 remove node option before trying to include (pair) it
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 12th, 2017, 11:31 PM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
Just tried that. No change. Didn't think I could remove it from the network if it never was part of the network.

GE has a Z-Wave pool controller (model 12726) for twice the price that seems to have good reviews. Looks like I may end up with this model if I can't figure out how to reset the Intermatic...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 13th, 2017, 12:04 AM
clafa clafa is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 132
How I paired the device

Hi,

Since these are high voltage units and typically far away from the z-net, I used a "extension" cord to power the unit with 120v and take it next to the z-net, then pair the device and then installed the unit in its final location. With 240v.

The manual can be found here
http://waterheatertimer.org/pdf/Inte...750-Manual.pdf

I learned how to connect the wires by looking at pictures see here
http://waterheatertimer.org/images/H...ic-CA3750.html

Hope it helps,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 13th, 2017, 01:36 PM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
So that's a possibility

The controller is wirelsss so perhaps I'll bring it down to the timer and see if it will pair just feet away.

Then assuming that works perhaps it will remain on the network for commands.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 14th, 2017, 12:12 AM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
Moving the HS controller right next to the CA3750 did the trick. Once paired to the network it talked to a number of nearby nodes so I was able to move the controller back to it's usual spot.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 22nd, 2017, 11:32 AM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
So it seems I've been bitten but the same bug others have reported. The CA3750 looses it's Z-Wave pairing with the controller for no apparent reason.

When I did a full optimization of the network, the node was not seen by any neighbors and when it reached that node it was it was not found on the network.

I guess I can bring the controller back down and re-pair it but my suspicion is, this is simply a flaw in the timer that is not going to be addressed/fixed since it's my understanding Leviton has discontinued this product and most likely isn't offering any support for it such as a firmware update that may address it dropping off the network.

Looks like I may end up with the more expensive GE model afterall.

Anyone else have any insight on this topic?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 22nd, 2017, 01:09 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,194
This weekend, I'm swapping my CA3750 out for the Heavy Duty Smart Switch.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 22nd, 2017, 07:36 PM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93
That's a great idea. That switch is about $90 compared to the GE at $150

Do you know if one can secure Romex wire to it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 22nd, 2017, 08:03 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskvarenina View Post
That's a great idea. That switch is about $90 compared to the GE at $150

Do you know if one can secure Romex wire to it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes you can

Sent from my Galaxy S7 Edge using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old June 25th, 2017, 02:21 PM
mskvarenina mskvarenina is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 93


Hooked mine up this weekend. So far so good. Definitely a little less commercial looking compared to the typical plastic or metal timer cases but I'm sure it will do the job just fine. I have a few other Aeotec devices and all work perfectly 100% of the time.

Take note of the wiring for a 120v circuit. The website has wiring diagrams that show different scenarios. It's different than what you would think just by reading the markings on the switch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Pump Control tulit HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 4 June 23rd, 2011 03:16 PM
Pool pump control using a SwitchLinc 220V Relay leerogers Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 24 April 22nd, 2011 09:10 PM
Suggestions on how to control a pool filtration pump pyspilf HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 May 29th, 2008 03:18 AM
Pool Pump Control & Timing anogee General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 1 May 27th, 2005 06:41 AM
Pool Pump Control Thickman HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 July 22nd, 2004 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC