www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2017, 07:02 PM
deanrparry deanrparry is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 196
Secure JSON

Anybody advise on the best and safest way for me to have a change of status on a remote site homeseer eg. workplace then send this data via script for example &hs.geturl but via https or something safe? but i have 2 servers under myhs so it would need to point to the correct one to be able to change the virtual device status at home to (armed/disarmed) etc...

so simplified!

work alarm says i am armed then send that to a virtual device at home but without plain text password etc

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 19th, 2017, 08:23 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,231
If you are doing a POST or a GET to the MyHS server you are using HTTPS (SSL) and all the data is already encrypted. Do I misunderstand what you are trying to do? SSL encrypts both the data and the URL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrparry View Post
Anybody advise on the best and safest way for me to have a change of status on a remote site homeseer eg. workplace then send this data via script for example &hs.geturl but via https or something safe? but i have 2 servers under myhs so it would need to point to the correct one to be able to change the virtual device status at home to (armed/disarmed) etc...

so simplified!

work alarm says i am armed then send that to a virtual device at home but without plain text password etc

thank you
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 20th, 2017, 03:14 AM
deanrparry deanrparry is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
If you are doing a POST or a GET to the MyHS server you are using HTTPS (SSL) and all the data is already encrypted. Do I misunderstand what you are trying to do? SSL encrypts both the data and the URL.
I am trying to do this remotely from work to home but i cannot get it to talk to the right server as i have two listed on myhs

Could you provide example of changing value in device 1234 for example if it was server #2 on myhs list
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 20th, 2017, 10:05 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,231
The HS server is chosen by the login. So if you want to just send a command to your HS server with login "joe", password "1234", you can do this:


Code:
https://connected2.homeseer.com/JSON?request=controldevicebylabel&ref=###&label=ON&user=joe&pass=1234
Where ### is the reference # of the device you want to control and the label is the control string you want to send. You can get the control strings from the "Status/Graphics" tab in the device properties. You can get the device reference # from the Advanced tab.

USER and PASS are the username and password for the HS system you want to connect to. Note that if you have a premium account you can create multiple users, make sure that each user is set to access only ONE system, otherwise the call will fail.

There are some other JSON commands you can use if you want to control a device by some other means, or maybe just trigger an event that does the work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrparry View Post
I am trying to do this remotely from work to home but i cannot get it to talk to the right server as i have two listed on myhs

Could you provide example of changing value in device 1234 for example if it was server #2 on myhs list
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 20th, 2017, 03:45 PM
deanrparry deanrparry is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
The HS server is chosen by the login. So if you want to just send a command to your HS server with login "joe", password "1234", you can do this:


Code:
https://connected2.homeseer.com/JSON?request=controldevicebylabel&ref=###&label=ON&user=joe&pass=1234
Where ### is the reference # of the device you want to control and the label is the control string you want to send. You can get the control strings from the "Status/Graphics" tab in the device properties. You can get the device reference # from the Advanced tab.

USER and PASS are the username and password for the HS system you want to connect to. Note that if you have a premium account you can create multiple users, make sure that each user is set to access only ONE system, otherwise the call will fail.

There are some other JSON commands you can use if you want to control a device by some other means, or maybe just trigger an event that does the work.
and my initial issue was same user multiple servers ;-) exactly as you suggested

*** thank you kindly sir... i have it working from a browser but failing to get it to trigger on &hs.geturl() any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2017, 03:54 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,231
hs.GetURL was added in HS2 as the original .net did not offer a solution, but now you have a few options built into .net. Try:

dim wc as new WebClient
dim st as string = wc.DownloadString(url)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrparry View Post
and my initial issue was same user multiple servers ;-) exactly as you suggested

*** thank you kindly sir... i have it working from a browser but failing to get it to trigger on &hs.geturl() any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 21st, 2017, 04:45 PM
deanrparry deanrparry is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 196
OK! Sussed it out thank you... not sure if it is right... but it works and it seems secure as its https
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Secure Include for Motion associated with Secure and NonSecure Switches SteveN1 HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 April 3rd, 2017 07:44 PM
Include Non Secure vs Secure U5tabil HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 3 September 9th, 2015 01:14 PM
Secure SIR 321 HELP Gogs HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 May 19th, 2015 07:08 PM
How secure? LeoS Face Recognition Plug-In (3P) 5 March 27th, 2015 12:58 AM
using secure http ctwilliams mcsSprinklers 12 July 12th, 2010 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC