Time to cut the cord?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Time to cut the cord?

I have an hd home run prime with a cable card in it from comcast that I've been using for several years. I have been recording some shows on windows 7 media center that way I can fast forward through the commercials. I like to watch the news in the morning when I wake up before I get out of bed, usually HLN, but it hasn't been very reliable lately. I think the user profile is corrupt again and it randomly records soap operas and various terrible movies even though they don't show up in the series list. My daughter and I have been watching that new show "The Orville" together and the other night the recorder stopped before the end of the show It took her all of 10 minutes to find it on-line so we could finish watching it on her cell phone.

That got me thinking, why on earth am I paying Comcast $1200/year US to watch commercials? Thats just stupid. No wonder the want to get rid of net neutrality!

So that begs the question, What are my friends at HomeSeer using? It doesn't look like there is any PVR recording software besides Windows 7 that works with a cable card, not that I even think I need it anymore. I use Kodi with WmcServer now any ways on all my TV's and computers. I'm leaning towards a plex media server with kodi and openelec clients but I'm really not sure if that will work?

Any thoughts?
    https://forums.homeseer.com/forum/de...plifier-plugin