www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > User Interface Plug-ins > User Interface Discussion

User Interface Discussion User Interface Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 13th, 2011, 09:36 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
Touchscreen recommendations

I'm investigating using Homeseer for my HA project, and one thing I'm trying to understand is the UI controls used on touch screens that are mounted in walls. I understand that HStouch builds a UI interface for iPad, iPhone and android, but what if I want some touch screens made by a company like Crestron? How do I design those interfaces, what screens should I consider, and how well do they work?

My plan is to use my iPhone and iPad to control things, but having a couple built in screens is going to be inevitable, and I'm not sure where to start. Any recommendations for me would be appreciated!

Oh, one other thing, it is likely that I'm going to need wireless touch screens. I will be able to get power to them, but not cat5e in most situations...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 13th, 2011, 09:48 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,021
HSTouch runs on PC's as well so if the Crestron screen is PC based then it will work. Most users seem to be settling on the first gen iPads as there wall mounted screens.
__________________
-Rupp

Last edited by Rupp; May 13th, 2011 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 13th, 2011, 10:00 PM
tpchristian's Avatar
tpchristian tpchristian is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 1,028
Why are you thinking about Crestron touch screens? Aren't these very expenseive? What advantages do these provide over a PC, Android tablet or iPad tablet? Just curious?
__________________
- Tom

HSPro/Insteon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 14th, 2011, 02:20 AM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
I wasn't specifically considering Crestron, it was just as an example. I guess the question I should have asked is what touch screens are people using, other than ipads? Are people really putting full touchscreen PCs into wall mounted units? Seems a bit overkill to me....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 14th, 2011, 07:32 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,314
I think the majority of people are using the windows clients with windows PC's, things like the touchscreen all in one PC's. Not sure how many people are using them mounted in the wall, theres also a screen that HS itself sells that is wall mounted. I use a desktop modified OpenPeak device running linux, buts its not sold anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 14th, 2011, 08:51 AM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
From what I've seen, Homeseer doesn't sell any touch screens itself, only plug-INS for android and iPhone/pad and the designer. I would imagine that those are almost less expensive than a purpose-built touch screen, but I kind of want a purpose-built look.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 14th, 2011, 08:59 AM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,314
they used to sell a 7" in wall touchscreen, its not in the store from what I can see - not sure whats happened to it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 14th, 2011, 03:14 PM
tpchristian's Avatar
tpchristian tpchristian is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 1,028
I think that most of the wall mounts that I have seen have been PCs, but I recall seeing some screens on folks talking about wall mounts for iPads. I don't recall how the power was run these, but search the forum for that, maybe you will get some ideas. There are also some nice inexpensive options for 10" Android tables. That is what I use -- Have three of them. I don't wall mount -- I use docks on the tabletop. You would probably have better luck with a wall mount for iPad however.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 24th, 2011, 12:45 AM
mbrett's Avatar
mbrett mbrett is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, Ny
Posts: 321
Hi Tom,

which Android tablets are you using, there are so many of them out there. and I get overwhelmed when I start to think do I want android 2.1 or 2.2 then the speed of the processor and blah blah blah...

any guidance would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 24th, 2011, 08:04 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbrett View Post
Hi Tom,

which Android tablets are you using, there are so many of them out there. and I get overwhelmed when I start to think do I want android 2.1 or 2.2 then the speed of the processor and blah blah blah...

any guidance would be appreciated.
See this post for a bit of info on the hardware Tom is running. The newer the better when it comes to Android versions.

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=145583
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 29th, 2011, 12:49 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
One thing is that if I go with an Android tablet and use HSTouch, how much of a lag will there be when I power up the tablet from sleep mode in order for it to connect to my wifi network? I want to find a solution that has a "never off" mode, so that reaction is instantaneous....

Any recommendations or solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 29th, 2011, 06:03 PM
tpchristian's Avatar
tpchristian tpchristian is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 1,028
It depends what you mean by off. There is off and then there is sleep. If you actually shut it down, it will take a little while to boot -- Maybe 30 seconds. If you put it to sleep mode, it will wake up immediately. However, it will consume some power while in sleep mode. I have mine in table top docking stations and leave the up all the time. There are settings, at least on mine, to leave wifi running while it sleep mode so it doesn't need to reconnect either.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 4th, 2011, 10:28 AM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
I think I found a Viewsonic that a friend has that won't disconnect to wifi. Now just a way to mount it nicely on the wall!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 15th, 2011, 06:45 PM
EricE's Avatar
EricE EricE is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 22
Arrow

Hmm, a great use for the $350 refurbished iPad on the apple.com store. I may have to pick one up for a controller. Great idea!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 16th, 2011, 07:30 AM
zakrzep zakrzep is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 230
I use a Galaxy Tab 7" mounted to the wall with this mount to power it. I don't have the arm on it (it is detachable).

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Galaxy.../dp/B004EVNHZG

It looks pretty good except the square box on the right where the power is connected, but it's better than a cord hanging. I can also snap it out if I want to use it as a remote device.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 28th, 2011, 09:47 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Raptor Raptor is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,089
I use an 15" ELO touchscreen mounted in a kitchen cabinate door connected to a PC on top of the cabinate. I lost about 3/4 of an inch of cabinate space and it works well.
Attached Images
 
__________________
HS3 Pro on Windows 8 64bit
53 Z-wave nodes(46 devices, 7 remotes), 15 DS10a's, 10 ms16a's, 9 Oregon Sensors, W800, RFXCOMtrx433, Way2Call, 3 HSTouch Clients, 2xRussound CAS44, Global Cache GC100-12,10 Rollertrol blinds(+ zwave) ,3 Squeezebox Radios and 1 Squeezebox Boom,DMX Arduino via ethernet,Rain8Net,3x Echo Dot's


Check out my electronics blog here:
https://www.facebook.com/RaptorsIrrationalInventions
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old August 17th, 2011, 11:46 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
Nice work on the mount, although I'd never get wife approval for that in my kitchen.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old August 17th, 2011, 11:48 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakrzep View Post
I use a Galaxy Tab 7" mounted to the wall with this mount to power it. I don't have the arm on it (it is detachable).

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Galaxy.../dp/B004EVNHZG

It looks pretty good except the square box on the right where the power is connected, but it's better than a cord hanging. I can also snap it out if I want to use it as a remote device.
I'd love to see a picture of what it looks like installed in your installation if you'd be willing to share!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 7th, 2013, 11:35 AM
wolf382's Avatar
wolf382 wolf382 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rougemont,NC
Posts: 39
Nice GUI.How did you do that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC