www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Weather Plug-ins > Weather Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 07:29 PM
fischb22 fischb22 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: north carolina
Posts: 184
Checkbox weather station?

greetings,

i'm going to be in the market for a weather station, and one requirement is that it can interface to homeseer.

what is everyone using? are their plug ins readily available?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 08:40 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,801
I am using an Ambient WS-1000-WiFi (now WS-1002-WiFi). We liked this unit because it was relatively inexpensive (~$300) Has its own display and that it posts directly to Weather Underground. With it posting to Weather Underground, Jeff's (CFGuy) WeatherXML and Randy's (ultrajones) UltraWeatherWU3 can create devices using the feed from Weather Underground. It has been running for about two years. The only problems we had was it dropped WiFi from time to time until fixed in a software update a year or so ago. Here are the devices from UltraWeatherWU3

Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 225
Size:  88.5 KB
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 08:53 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,284
Here utilizing a Weather program called Cumulus.

Cumulus can run in Linux or Windows and on the same computer as HS3 (RPi too).

Jon00 wrote a Homeseer Plugin for Cumulus and it works with WeatherXML.

Here utilize a Davis and Fine Offset weather station.

Cumulus supports:

Davis, Oregon Scientific, Fine Offset, La Crosse, ....

Recently been tinkering with a Meteostick.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 09:03 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 851
Using an old Ambient Weather 1080 that has PC connection. Cumulus (not MX) version reads the data and the Jon00Cumulus plugin reads the available parameters. You simply select the ones that are important to you.

My quite old weather station is dying a slow death and although I would like to get a Davis Vantage Pro, I'll probably get another Ambient Weather, can't justify more than a couple hundred dollars as it's just not that important.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:17 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 860
I am probably going to get a WS-1002-WIFI. Currently researching too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 11th, 2018, 04:51 PM
Cheat Cheat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
I am using an Ambient WS-1000-WiFi (now WS-1002-WiFi). We liked this unit because it was relatively inexpensive (~$300) Has its own display and that it posts directly to Weather Underground. With it posting to Weather Underground, Jeff's (CFGuy) WeatherXML and Randy's (ultrajones) UltraWeatherWU3 can create devices using the feed from Weather Underground. It has been running for about two years. The only problems we had was it dropped WiFi from time to time until fixed in a software update a year or so ago. Here are the devices from UltraWeatherWU3
Good Afternoon Randy,
I bought a PWS (Qubino) around 16-17 months ago... blasted thing is still not supported by the developer and HS3 won't recognize all the devices (thread). So, looking for another solution and came across your post in this thread... however, I'm NOT seeing the model numbers (old/new) on Amazon.

The closest match that I found was WS-2902

Technologies:
- HS Pro 3
- Z-Wave
- Google Home


All,
Thoughts/Suggestions?

I'm already using UltraWeatherWU3... so I think I'm good on plug-ins.

R/,
Chad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 11th, 2018, 08:17 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 834
I wonder if the one Randy has is now called this one.
https://www.amazon.com/Ambient-Weath...70_&dpSrc=srch

I just purchase the 2902 so waiting on it to arrive.

I did find the one Randy is talking about. It looks a lot like the one above.
https://www.ambientweather.com/amws1000wifi.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 11th, 2018, 08:33 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheat View Post
Good Afternoon Randy,
I bought a PWS (Qubino) around 16-17 months ago... blasted thing is still not supported by the developer and HS3 won't recognize all the devices (thread). So, looking for another solution and came across your post in this thread... however, I'm NOT seeing the model numbers (old/new) on Amazon.

The closest match that I found was WS-2902

Technologies:
- HS Pro 3
- Z-Wave
- Google Home


All,
Thoughts/Suggestions?

I'm already using UltraWeatherWU3... so I think I'm good on plug-ins.

R/,
Chad
My WS-1000-WiFi was replaced by the WS-1002-WiFi, but it appears to be out of stock. The others are similar, but the WS-1002-WiFi has WiFi connectivity and a dedicated display. The units without a display still post to WU and are much less expensive. My wife wanted the display.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 11th, 2018, 09:03 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
My WS-1000-WiFi was replaced by the WS-1002-WiFi, but it appears to be out of stock. The others are similar, but the WS-1002-WiFi has WiFi connectivity and a dedicated display. The units without a display still post to WU and are much less expensive. My wife wanted the display.
That is the reason I purchased the WS-2902 because it has the wifi connection also. It looks pretty good and has 10 sensors. It is also more in my price range.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New weather station langenet Weather Discussion 2 August 18th, 2016 03:16 PM
Personal Weather Station and Weather Underground rprade WeatherXML 22 August 29th, 2015 09:03 PM
Weather station michelrochette mcsSprinklers 3 April 25th, 2008 12:53 PM
Can weather station ET be used? bunkers mcsSprinklers 21 July 1st, 2006 10:32 PM
New weather station tman1 Weather Discussion 12 December 19th, 2005 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC