www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill Discussions regarding HomeSeer's Amazon Echo Skill

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 14th, 2017, 07:54 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
Alexa Push Notification

Any word about Push Notifications from HS3 to Alexa? I know the developers have been working with Push Notifications but haven't heard anything about HomeSeer adding it. Hopefully this will be soon.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 25th, 2017, 12:29 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
Guess no one knows anything.

I will say that I wish Alexa would allow for local push for audio response. Don't see any reason that local devices can't send sound or TTS directly to Alexa. That would make it simpler to control. After all if someone is on your local network, them having the ability to make Alexa say something is the least of your worries.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 25th, 2017, 08:53 PM
Krumpy's Avatar
Krumpy Krumpy is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,131
Anything is easy once an API allows it. Are you sure that Alex API allows this? If so, where is the documentation and then we can see how we can integrate this...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 26th, 2017, 07:58 AM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 544
As far as I know, there is nothing in the API to allow for pushes as yet.

The audio isn't just sent (like a file) to Amazon..., it's an encrypted bitstream.

That being said, it should be possible (in theory) to send to a TTS to Amazon to gives commands to Alexa, just not easy.

That won't, however, initiate speech.

That's because Amazon would respond to the request sent with the audio back to the request origin.

There's a third party plugin for HomeSeer that has part of this built, in that you can use a microphone on your PC to send the audio, and the speakers to play the response when you receive it.

But you can't send audio from the PC and have the echo respond.

As an experiment, I built a function I called 'Mirror Text' to respond to whatever was sent with the exact same phrase, then bluetoothed it to the echo.

So when you got a response back to the PC, it played out the echo, mimicking a push response.

This would require a lot of time and fudging to make it work and the echo would need to be in bluetooth range, but if you really want it, you could try that route.

For me, better to wait for Amazon to update the API with a function that allows straight text to be sent that will get converted to audio by them and sent right to your echo.
__________________
Wade



website | products | support | youtube
I know nothing...., nothing!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 26th, 2017, 03:45 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
There is a worry that Amazon won't play what pushed till the user ask Alexa to play it. This would be not useful at all for home automation.

What I was thinking would get around the issue Amazon may have with skills pushing would be to allow local devices to sent a text string to an Echo on the local network. That Echo would send the text string to Amazon where it would be returned to the all specified local echos to be played back.

This leaves the person in charge of the local network to control who can have echos play back TTS. No outside pushing could do it. It also makes the protocol extremely simple. All that would be needed is a simple test string with the beginning containing Echo names or the keyword All that the TTS should be sent to.

Example: "Echo 1, Echo 5;This is the text string to speak.

Audio files could also be included using a similar method most likely with the audio files being stored on your Amazon account so they wouldn't have to be sent to Amazon every time. A key word would then select the sound to play.

Example: "Echo 1, Echo 5;This is the text string to speak with a sound &sound_name More Text".

In the last example the entire TTS string would be spoken including the embedded sound(s)

Anyway, none of this matters till we see what Amazon releases for Push.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 26th, 2017, 04:06 PM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 544
The echo does no TTS.

It only recognizes the wake word.

All audio is sent to the cloud to be converted.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 27th, 2017, 12:04 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
I know that. You seemed to have missed my point. It's what I'd like to see added to the Echo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 27th, 2017, 09:06 PM
Krumpy's Avatar
Krumpy Krumpy is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,131
And who will develop that function into the Echo? HomeSeer?

You'd have more luck discussing this with Amazon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 28th, 2017, 11:32 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krumpy View Post
And who will develop that function into the Echo? HomeSeer?

You'd have more luck discussing this with Amazon.
Please, of course that would be Amazon.

My only point, which I think you missed, was only to put the idea out there to any of the developers, both HomeSeer and 3rd party, that when Amazon releases Pushed notifications, including TTS, if it doesn't allow it to play without the user asking the echo what notification was just sent, because Amazon thinks there is some privacy reason, then they could suggest a local way it be done for home automation.

Can we now end this back and forth bantering?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 29th, 2017, 12:33 AM
sharrisct25 sharrisct25 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 95
What about Simon Says

Is there no way to leverage that Echo command to somehow push voice back to alexa? I think that would be a killer add to this plugin.

I love the echo's the hardware is so much better than anything I could get working for voice recognition with HS before. However I miss the voice feedback. I have a bunch of scripts I just can't use anymore because they revolve around voice.

My search showed this has been mentioned before but no real response or conclusion.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 29th, 2017, 02:23 AM
IanIreland's Avatar
IanIreland IanIreland is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 596
I have my HS PC bluetoothed to Echo - pseudo push notifications :-)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 29th, 2017, 08:44 AM
sharrisct25 sharrisct25 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 95
That is one way

I have done that also but with 5 devices through the house and limits on bluetooth range it just does not get it done for me reliably.

I really want to be able to send speech commands to one or more of the Echo's like i used to with HS.speak. I would think that if the simon says stuff is exposed to the API that could be possible.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 29th, 2017, 08:45 AM
sharrisct25 sharrisct25 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 95
Even better

This would be even better if I could also remotely wake a specific device so it was listening right after speaking.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 29th, 2017, 01:08 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharrisct25 View Post
Is there no way to leverage that Echo command to somehow push voice back to alexa? I think that would be a killer add to this plugin.

I love the echo's the hardware is so much better than anything I could get working for voice recognition with HS before. However I miss the voice feedback. I have a bunch of scripts I just can't use anymore because they revolve around voice.

My search showed this has been mentioned before but no real response or conclusion.
Direct push notifications are not the same as pushing TTS back to Alexa when initiating a conversation with her. Take a look at the you tube video by Moskus below using my Echo skill helper.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sharrisct25 View Post
This would be even better if I could also remotely wake a specific device so it was listening right after speaking.
Due to security restrictions, I very much doubt Amazon would allow push notifications followed by listening capability as that opens up many privacy concerns including remote recording.
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 16th, 2017, 11:57 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 171
I wonder if it might be possible to do push notifications on Alexa using SropIn the way they do the intercom feature? Sure there would be a chime when its sent but I kinds like that since it gets your attention before the message is spoken.

Since RaspberryPis can be turned into Alexas is may be possible for one to send a intercom drop in command to a specific Echo.

Just thinking out loud.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 26th, 2017, 02:15 PM
Kerat Kerat is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 635
i think being able to pass audible notifications would be a sweet feature.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old August 20th, 2017, 06:14 PM
spike5884's Avatar
spike5884 spike5884 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 70
Looks like Amazon is working on something:

Amazon Announces ‘Notifications for Alexa' Feature Is Coming Soon—Sign Up to Stay Tuned

Hopefully HomeSeer is signed up to get the 411 when Amazon releases it to developers...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 27th, 2017, 12:23 PM
Matt Powell Matt Powell is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 39
Smile

Are homeseer working on this as i now believe amazon have included this feature ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old November 27th, 2017, 04:21 PM
aldo's Avatar
aldo aldo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Powell View Post
Are homeseer working on this as i now believe amazon have included this feature ?
+1 that would be fantastic.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old November 27th, 2017, 07:28 PM
Krumpy's Avatar
Krumpy Krumpy is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,131
Are you speculating or have you actually seen the API or the feature documented? I will admit that I do not check daily, but to my knowledge as of a month or so ago this was not possible as I did not come across the api.

Maybe I missed it....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autelis works with Amazon Alexa? Autelis Vs Pentair Screen Logic alexa skill... bankingdom Autelis Pool Control (3P) 11 June 4th, 2017 12:03 PM
Alexa confused whether HS skill enabled so can't "Alexa, tell homeseer to..." lowenna HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 6 February 3rd, 2017 09:07 AM
Alexa Skill Missing for UK Alexa NicolaiL HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 2 October 1st, 2016 06:39 AM
Push Notifications? paul HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 September 18th, 2016 12:40 PM
Button Help: Push On/Push Off kenm HSTouch™ 11 June 20th, 2009 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC