www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill Discussions regarding HomeSeer's Amazon Echo Skill

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 24th, 2016, 12:52 PM
rxatwell's Avatar
rxatwell rxatwell is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Anyone using Amazon Echo as HS3 Speaker?

I have not been able to come by any definitive solution for using the Amazon Echo as a Speaker for HS3. Is anyone doing this in any capacity? (i.e. Bluetooth, API, Skill) I have been looking for a speaker for device status announcements like washer/dryer complete, etc. and the Amazon seems like it would be perfect for this.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 24th, 2016, 01:09 PM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 544
I linked an Echo to my PC via bluetooth and sent announcements from HS3.

You need to have the Speaker.exe app for HS3 running.

As it's using the text to speech process in Windows, it doesn't sound like the Alexa voice however.

A nice feature in the Echo is when it receives the bluetoothed audio it turns down the audio it is currently playing in favor of the bluetooth one, then resumes the original audio afterwards.


It should work on a Linux box as well but I don't know the specifics regarding that.
__________________
Wade



website | products | support | youtube
I know nothing...., nothing!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 24th, 2016, 01:09 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is online now
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxatwell View Post
I have not been able to come by any definitive solution for using the Amazon Echo as a Speaker for HS3. Is anyone doing this in any capacity? (i.e. Bluetooth, API, Skill) I have been looking for a speaker for device status announcements like washer/dryer complete, etc. and the Amazon seems like it would be perfect for this.

Any ideas?
I think I read previously that some people had managed to link it to their HS3 machines with standard Bluetooth pairings. I tried that a couple of times, but my HS3 machine is too far away from my Echo. Worth a shot if your devices are close enough.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 24th, 2016, 01:24 PM
rxatwell's Avatar
rxatwell rxatwell is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Thank you, Shultz.

cheeryfool, I had the same thought. Especially once walls are between the units. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 25th, 2016, 12:30 AM
tbever tbever is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 86
I have mine paired with bluetooth, and it works great. It is set to play certain audio files or read text to speech when exterior doors are opened, the alarm is armed or disarmed etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 25th, 2016, 12:58 AM
Sterno4905 Sterno4905 is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Has anyone thought about or tried using the Echo "Simon Says" feature to send HS speaker messages? It would be a hack but I am sure it could be done.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 30th, 2016, 04:40 PM
chimera chimera is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
Echo on a Linux HomeSeer

I have my echo paired on Linux as a bluetooth speaker and I can use it as the default sound device. So far the sound is clear and working nicely.
However I am new to HomeSeer and have not been able to get it setup as a speaker device.
I understand there is some way you can use Linux to do this. Can someone please advise how this can be done?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 6th, 2016, 11:50 PM
CFGuy's Avatar
CFGuy CFGuy is offline
Have A Blessed Day
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Basehor KS
Posts: 5,155
What hardware / software is needed to connect HS speaker to use the Echo as a speaker?
__________________
--
Jeff Farmer
HS 3.0.0.312, HSPhone
My HS3 Plugins: CFHSExtras, Random, Restart, Tracker, WeatherXML, PanaBluRay
Other Plugins In Use: APCUPSD, EasyTrigger, FBitSeer, HSTouch Server, Kinect, PHLocation, Pushover, RFXCom, UltraGCIR3, UltraMon3, UltraPioneerAVR3, X10, Z-Wave

Hardware: GoControl Irrigation Controler, Schlage Lever Lock, Schlage Deadbolt, Way2Call Hi-Phone, RFXCom RFXrec433 Receiver, WGL 800, TI-103, Z-Net, Pioneer 1120, Pioneer 1021, Panasonic BDT-110, Panasonic BDT-210 x2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 7th, 2016, 04:35 AM
chimera chimera is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
On Windows I'm sure you could just use Bluetooth and set it up as an output for hs speaker. Linux is more complicated as there is no hs speaker. It works using an AirPlay server.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 8th, 2016, 10:00 AM
lhfarm lhfarm is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Columbus, IN USA
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxatwell View Post
I have not been able to come by any definitive solution for using the Amazon Echo as a Speaker for HS3. Is anyone doing this in any capacity? (i.e. Bluetooth, API, Skill) I have been looking for a speaker for device status announcements like washer/dryer complete, etc. and the Amazon seems like it would be perfect for this.

Any ideas?
Thank you for posting this question. I've been trying to figure out how to lower the kitchen PC footprint (aka reclaiming counter space) and this was the perfect solution. And I'm getting more use out of the Echo to boot.

This is why I read new posts every day or so. Never know what you are going to learn.

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 8th, 2016, 10:01 AM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 544
For those who like projects, I came up with a process to have Alexa speak without a prompt, and it would be in the Alexa voice.


You first need a program or plugin similar to spud's Alexa plugin.

This plugin mimics an Amazon Echo, so it allows input from a PC micophone, and responds through the PC speakers.

Second you need to convert text to speech.
HS3 has that ability with the process HS.SpeakToFile(TextToSpeak, "", FileName).
That would get used in a script.

The last thing you need is an Alexa skill that can give you the audio you want.
I had thought about this awhile ago, and I added a function to the echo process call MirrorText. (you could build a lambda function that does this as well.)
This function simply responds with the exact same text that was sent.

The schema and utterance are:

{
"intents": [
{
"intent": "MirrorText",
"slots": [
{
"name": "TextToMirror",
"type": "LITERAL"
}
]
}
]
}

MirrorText {The Text|TextToMirror}


So, the whole thing works like this:
HS3 fires an event that runs a script to build an audio file.
The Alexa .exe takes the audio and sends it to the skill in the Alexa app at Amazon.
The skill sends the text to our echo processing site (or your lambda function), and gets back the exact same text.
The audio response is sent back to the Alexa .exe, which is then sent out the audio output of the PC via bluetooth.
The echo receives the bluetoothed audio and plays it.

The end result is that is sounds as if the echo has spoken without a prompt in the correct voice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 8th, 2016, 06:23 PM
BlairG's Avatar
BlairG BlairG is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Phx.Arizona
Posts: 347
I'm really happy with a Bluetooth transmitter that's plugged into a small tablet there next to the Echo. Instead of the TTS coming from the crappy speakers in the tablet the Echo has its BT paired with the transmitter, Cost $20.
__________________
Blair

HomeSeer: HS3 Pro 3.0.0.318
Hometroller S6 | Devices: 539 | Events: 176
Plug-Ins: Z-Wave .130 | HSTouch | RFXCOM | UltraRachio3 | BLLAN | NetCAM | Global Cache Pro Sonos
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 09:09 AM
sleeve sleeve is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 60
It looks like Amazon will help us rip out the bailing wire and duct tape used to attempt to make Alexa speak soon: http://lovemyecho.com/2016/09/13/ale...-talking-blue/

I think Alexa's IFTTT channel will support this by adding Actions. We'll be able to trigger canned speech via device toggles, IFTTT's action would contain the static notification text, Homeseer would send the device status change. Stone age, but functional day one.

Sgt, any word in the dev forums about allowing skills to push directly to Echo? Will we see HS3 event actions directed to Alexa with the same functionality as the Speak Something action?

Could HS's IFTTT channel be upgraded to receive a device string change trigger that can be sent to Alexa as a notification action?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 09:29 AM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 544
We haven't seen anything yet from Amazon regarding push notifications.

As far as working it through IFTTT, an HS3 on/off device can be accessed through events, so pretty much anything in HS3 can cause a trigger in IFTTT.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 23rd, 2016, 04:07 PM
sleeve sleeve is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 60
Sure, loving IFTTT and virtual devices, and IFTTT off/on triggers give me mostly static text: If Homeseer device turned on Then Tell Alexa to Say This is my notification text. I can vary the text said with multiple virtual devices.

Next level would be: If a Homeseer device has its status text changed Then Tell Alexa to Say <that status text>. I can construct infinite status text and merge in momentary data.

I've got this rose-colored vision of Dots as speaker clients for TTS given Amazon's announcement of push notification for Echo.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 7th, 2016, 12:20 AM
Krumpy's Avatar
Krumpy Krumpy is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,131
Regarding this post, would it be possible to utilize the microphone array from the Echo/Dot and feed it into HomeSeer for processing? Therefore, bypassing all of the Amazon cloud technology such that these devices would just be Bluetooth microphones for HomeSeer?

I would significantly prefer this over all of this cloud technology!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Shultz View Post
I linked an Echo to my PC via bluetooth and sent announcements from HS3.

You need to have the Speaker.exe app for HS3 running.

As it's using the text to speech process in Windows, it doesn't sound like the Alexa voice however.

A nice feature in the Echo is when it receives the bluetoothed audio it turns down the audio it is currently playing in favor of the bluetooth one, then resumes the original audio afterwards.


It should work on a Linux box as well but I don't know the specifics regarding that.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 7th, 2016, 08:53 AM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,526
In addition to my original Echo, I now have 2 Echo Dots. Is it possible to direct speech to multiple Echos. Does IFTTT allow more than One echo? Anybody have any experience with this?

Steve Q


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.258, Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 - Home, Number of Devices: 290, Number of Events: 404, Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.83.0: BLRF, 2.0.10.0: BLUSBUIRT, 3.0.0.75: HSTouch Server, 3.0.0.58: mcsXap, 3.0.0.11: NetCAM, 3.0.0.36: X10, 3.0.1.25: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 7th, 2016, 02:14 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Q View Post
In addition to my original Echo, I now have 2 Echo Dots. Is it possible to direct speech to multiple Echos.
I think this will only be possible once Amazon enable push notifications to developers.
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 6th, 2017, 01:11 PM
jrfuda's Avatar
jrfuda jrfuda is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Shultz View Post
For those who like projects, I came up with a process to have Alexa speak without a prompt, and it would be in the Alexa voice....
Wade, do you (can you) have this packaged up into something that could be used by anyone with minimal modification?
__________________
John
Hardware: i5-6400T w/16GB RAM & SSD w/HS3Pro, Z-Net, Harmony Hub x2, Echo Dot x2, Ocelot
Plugins: Z-wave, HSTouch, BLBackup, Harmony, GTS CPUXA, UltraMon3, Nest
HSTouch: Multiple Android Devices; 5 x ToteVision MD-1001 10.1" Win 7 Tablets
Devices: Cooper RF9501 x4, RF9517 x6, RF9534 x1, RF9540-N x7, RF9542 x1, RF9542-Z x2, RFHDSCG x1, RFWC5 x5; Intermatic HA02 x6; FortrezZ MIMOLite x3; Leviton VRPD3-1LW x4, VRR15-1LZ x6; Nest Tstat & 9x Protects; Dragon PD-100 x3, PA-100 x3
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old August 20th, 2017, 05:46 PM
Ltek Ltek is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 499
Bumping this back up... Anyone got it running using an Alexa skill or hack, not bluetooth?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than one Amazon Echo. outbackrob HomeSeer General Discussion Area 10 April 1st, 2017 08:09 PM
Amazon Echo Dot Steve Q HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 51 December 11th, 2016 05:36 PM
HomeSeer Devs - Amazon Echo Home API - Suggestion (Multiple - Echoes, Echo Dot's) Daweeze HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 7 April 28th, 2016 01:49 PM
amazon echo DOT and TAP DevinH HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 51 March 17th, 2016 12:44 AM
Using the Amazon Echo and the amazon-echo-ha-bridge with HomeSeer3 Ultrajones Ultra Scripts and Plug-Ins 1 January 10th, 2016 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC