Creating Events Based on Current Weather Conditions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creating Events Based on Current Weather Conditions

I am new to WeatherXML plug-in. I've set it up to use NOAA, and the plug-in seems to be working.

I'm hoping to use the WeatherXML plug-in to create events dependent on the current weather conditions. For example, I usually turn on my lighting at ~30 minutes before sunset... when the outside starts getting dim, but it is not completely dark. However, ideally I'd like to vary when I turn on lighting based on weather conditions. If it's overcast outside, then I want to turn on lighting earlier than 30 minutes before sunset; and if it's sunny outside, then I could wait a little later before turning on lighting.

Is this possible? If so, I would I structure an event to turn on if current weather is overcast? I tried a forecast on day (0) containing "cloud", which doesn't seem to work consistently.

Try using the condition device. On the HSTouch/Data tab select the day 0 Condition device. In the event you can comma separate the conditions you want to trigger on. Cloudy,Overcast, etc.
    --
    Jeff Farmer
    HS 3, HSPhone
    My HS3 Plugins: CFHSExtras, Random, Restart, Tracker, WeatherXML, PanaBluRay
    Other Plugins In Use: APCUPSD, BLOnkyo, Device History, EasyTrigger, HSTouch Server, PHLocation2, Pushover, RFXCom, UltraGCIR3, UltraMon3, UltraPioneerAVR3, X10, Z-Wave

Hardware: GoControl Irrigation Controler, Schlage Lever Lock, Schlage Deadbolt, Way2Call Hi-Phone, RFXCom RFXrec433 Receiver, WGL 800, TI-103, Z-Net, Pioneer 1120, Pioneer 1021, Pioneer LX302, Panasonic BDT-110, Panasonic BDT-210 x2

Comment

I'm a tad confused as to how to do this.

When I create an event, and select the Conditions device, I don't see a way to specify "rain", for example. The only option I see is to enter a numeric range. What am I doing wrong?

Basically, if the current conditions are rain, I want to turn off a device outside.