www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Spud Plug-Ins > Chromecast (3P)

Chromecast (3P) Discussions related to the HS3 Chromecast plugin by Spud.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161  
Old November 13th, 2017, 11:33 AM
peterpc's Avatar
peterpc peterpc is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
well, this sdk is used to let a physical device run google assistant, but I don't think it can be used to send requests to an instance of Google Assistant
You can let HS speak to Google then.
You can let HS then start TuneIn Radio or Spotify........
I was already thinking of using a Google Home Mini to place near a speaker of my HS PC to send speak commands from HS.
For now, when I start a radio stream, I don't see a pictue of the music that is playing, or the name of the number that is playing. With TuneIn Radio I see them.
But I can't start a TuneIn radio stream from HS, but with Google Home I can.
__________________
Peter

http://ohh.pcgsm.nl
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old November 13th, 2017, 01:04 PM
stefxx's Avatar
stefxx stefxx is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxx View Post
Hi Spud,

Every other day the plugin seems to hit an issue. After that, one of more of my Chromecast devices do no longer reflect the actual status of the device, until I disconnect/connect again. This is the error I see in the log:

nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0

I am using 2 CC Audio, 1 CC 2 and 1 CC Ultra. The two CC Audio devices are also combined in a CC Group.

I am using the 3.0.0.8 version of the plugin on Ubuntu.
Hi Spud,

Any idea? It seems to happen most frequent to the CC Ultra (but that one is also most frequently used).

Thanks!
__________________
stefxx
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old November 13th, 2017, 02:14 PM
jryan15 jryan15 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Indiana
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxx View Post
Hi Spud,

Every other day the plugin seems to hit an issue. After that, one of more of my Chromecast devices do no longer reflect the actual status of the device, until I disconnect/connect again. This is the error I see in the log:

nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0
nov.-10 15:53:17 Chromecast ERROR System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at HSPI_Chromecast.ChromecastTarget.MediaStatusChangedHandler (System.Object sender, SharpCaster.Models.MediaStatus.MediaStatus e) [0x00168] in :0

I am using 2 CC Audio, 1 CC 2 and 1 CC Ultra. The two CC Audio devices are also combined in a CC Group.

I am using the 3.0.0.8 version of the plugin on Ubuntu.
This is the same issue that I have. My CC status freezes on "playing" when I disconnect and therefore my system has no way to know that the device has disconnected.

I tried to make an intuitive event that would notice that the song had not changed in the last xx minutes by monitoring for a song change, but the CC add-in is constantly triggering a title change even though the title does not change.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old November 13th, 2017, 02:31 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxx View Post
Hi Spud,

Any idea? It seems to happen most frequent to the CC Ultra (but that one is also most frequently used).

Thanks!
What apps are you using with the chromecast?
Could you provide full debug logs?
The errors you posted may not be related to the freezing problem. In version 3.0.0.9 I fixed one possible cause for these errors, so please use this version.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old November 13th, 2017, 02:41 PM
stefxx's Avatar
stefxx stefxx is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
What apps are you using with the chromecast?
Could you provide full debug logs?
The errors you posted may not be related to the freezing problem. In version 3.0.0.9 I fixed one possible cause for these errors, so please use this version.
Thanks. I am using lots of different apps, most related to Dutch television (nlziet, kpn play, knippr, rtl xl, npo, etc) and off course Netflix.

I agree that I do not know for sure if the error is related to the freeze of the device. I just installed 3.0.0.9, lets see if that fixes the issue.

If not I will try to get some debug logging. Problem is that it may take a day or two before the error shows up again.

Thanks again!
__________________
stefxx
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old November 13th, 2017, 02:44 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxx View Post
If not I will try to get some debug logging. Problem is that it may take a day or two before the error shows up again.
enable log to file at debug level, then just send me the log file (Logs/Chromecast.txt) and the time at which you noticed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old November 13th, 2017, 05:56 PM
Sireone Sireone is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 392
Well, this seems ironic!

https://www.blog.google/products/***...gle-assistant/

Spud, does this changes things with the plug-in?
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old November 14th, 2017, 10:12 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sireone View Post
Spud, does this changes things with the plug-in?
no, the plugin interacts with the chromecast builtin features of the google Home, but not directly with the Google assistant part.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old November 14th, 2017, 12:32 PM
chrkov chrkov is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Crown Point, Indiana
Posts: 563
If there was any way to actually interact with the assistant, I think that would open up several new abilities. I am by far not a programmer, so I dont know what is involved to do that. But being able to send a message saying "Play music in the living room" and have it act on that would be awesome.

Just my 2 cents.

Check out this link

https://beebom.com/how-get-google-as...ows-mac-linux/
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old November 15th, 2017, 11:55 AM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 507
All is running now !

Hi,
I have my chromecast plugin running fine now.
Spud helped me.
I had a version of Newtonsoft.Json.dll in HS3 root dir conflicting with the one used by the Chromecast plugin in bin/Chromecast.

Thanks again, Spud !!!

This is a very useful plugin, it helps me to get a livestream from my
outdoor cam onto my TV.
Re switching from HDMI back to TV I do with the Harmony plugin.

Regards,
Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old November 16th, 2017, 01:05 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 507
Hi Spud,
I want to cast the content of my outdoor camera onto my tv.
I've created a chromecast cast event and inserted the valid url
http://84.142.xxx.xxx/view/viewer_index.shtml?id=109
or another cast event
http://84.142.xxx.xxx/mjpg/video.mjpg?timestamp=
but the chromecast doesn't show the livestream.
Where can be the issue ?

Regards,
Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old November 16th, 2017, 02:09 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 507
Smile

OK,
I've found the solution by myself :
I have been changing the MIME type of the second event from video/mjpg
to image/mjpg because the chromecast doesn't understand mjpg.

Thanks,
Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old November 19th, 2017, 03:40 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 507
Hi Spud,
can you add a possibility to set the chromecast application to "backdrop" ?
I can do it this the google home ios app but I want it to do with the help of
your plugin.
After manual switching back my tv from HDMI to TV and running a HS chromecast cast event again the tv doesn't switch back to HDMI, only if the
Chromecast is in the backdrop mode.

It would be very useful to add this feature to the plugin.

Regards,
Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old November 20th, 2017, 03:23 PM
stefxx's Avatar
stefxx stefxx is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fischi View Post
Hi Spud,
can you add a possibility to set the chromecast application to "backdrop" ?
I can do it this the google home ios app but I want it to do with the help of
your plugin.
After manual switching back my tv from HDMI to TV and running a HS chromecast cast event again the tv doesn't switch back to HDMI, only if the
Chromecast is in the backdrop mode.
I guess what you mean is the option to "disconnect" a stream, going back to "None" or "Backdrop" (depending on how you setup the CC). Similar to disconnect by using the Google Home app. I would like this feature as well.
__________________
stefxx
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old November 20th, 2017, 03:29 PM
stefxx's Avatar
stefxx stefxx is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
What apps are you using with the chromecast?
Could you provide full debug logs?
The errors you posted may not be related to the freezing problem. In version 3.0.0.9 I fixed one possible cause for these errors, so please use this version.
Since using 3.0.0.9 the errors in the log are gone. However, I still loose the connection with my Chromecast devices. A quick disconnect/connect updates to the correct status instantly. Not sure if/what logs I can give you as I don't have a clue when the disconnect occurs until I look at the HS3 CC devices.
__________________
stefxx
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old November 20th, 2017, 03:30 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 507
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxx View Post
I guess what you mean is the option to "disconnect" a stream, going back to "None" or "Backdrop" (depending on how you setup the CC). Similar to disconnect by using the Google Home app. I would like this feature as well.
Stefxx,
yes this would be a great addition.
Let's hope Spud will find a solution for this

Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old Yesterday, 06:51 PM
superpups superpups is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Can not connect to Chromecast after successful discovery

Hi, any ideas what can be the wrong with the following setup:
- HS on Windows machine
- Windows Firewall service is Off
- Chromecast plugin version 3.0.0.8
- Plugin discovers all Chromecasts successfully, no issues
- When i press "Test" button next to any of discovered Chromecasts on plugin config page nothing happens, and I see following lines in the log:
Code:
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	ERROR Not connected to chromecast Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	DEBUG Playing http://10.0.0.75:80/Wave/chromecast20171122094856757.wav on Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	INFO (Kitchen TV): Hello, this is a test for chromecast plug-in
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	DEBUG calling SpeakToFile text=Hello, this is a test for chromecast plug-in file=C:\Program Files\HomeSeer HS3\html\Wave\chromecast20171122094856757.wav
Just in case part of log files related to Chromecast discovery:
Code:
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	INFO Connecting to Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG rs = ''
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG nf = '1'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG bs = 'FA8FCA760B98'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG st = '0'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ca = '4101'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG fn = 'Kitchen TV'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ic = '/setup/icon.png'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG md = 'Chromecast'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ve = '05'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG rm = ''
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG cd = '33F456973E6A3891C50C54EA408562F4'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG id = '0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG TXT Records =
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG Resolved Service: Chromecast-0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373 - _googlecast._tcp. - 10.0.0.73 - 8009
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	INFO Found Service: Chromecast-0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old Yesterday, 07:14 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by superpups View Post
Hi, any ideas what can be the wrong with the following setup:
- HS on Windows machine
- Windows Firewall service is Off
- Chromecast plugin version 3.0.0.8
- Plugin discovers all Chromecasts successfully, no issues
- When i press "Test" button next to any of discovered Chromecasts on plugin config page nothing happens, and I see following lines in the log:
Code:
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	ERROR Not connected to chromecast Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	DEBUG Playing http://10.0.0.75:80/Wave/chromecast20171122094856757.wav on Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	INFO (Kitchen TV): Hello, this is a test for chromecast plug-in
Nov-22 09:48:56	 	Chromecast	DEBUG calling SpeakToFile text=Hello, this is a test for chromecast plug-in file=C:\Program Files\HomeSeer HS3\html\Wave\chromecast20171122094856757.wav
Just in case part of log files related to Chromecast discovery:
Code:
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	INFO Connecting to Kitchen TV
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG rs = ''
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG nf = '1'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG bs = 'FA8FCA760B98'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG st = '0'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ca = '4101'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG fn = 'Kitchen TV'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ic = '/setup/icon.png'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG md = 'Chromecast'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG ve = '05'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG rm = ''
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG cd = '33F456973E6A3891C50C54EA408562F4'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG id = '0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373'
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG TXT Records =
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	DEBUG Resolved Service: Chromecast-0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373 - _googlecast._tcp. - 10.0.0.73 - 8009
Nov-22 09:30:37	 	Chromecast	INFO Found Service: Chromecast-0d3a038525258b94665807e5769fd373
Do you have a Newtonsoft.Json.dll in your HS3 root directory?
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old Yesterday, 07:17 PM
superpups superpups is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
Do you have a Newtonsoft.Json.dll in your HS3 root directory?
Yes, I do
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old Yesterday, 07:22 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by superpups View Post
Yes, I do
delete or rename it, it's probably causing a conflict with the one used by the Chromecast plugin in bin/Chromecast

This dll has probably been installed by another plugin, but it shouldn't be there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
android tv, chromecast, google cast, google home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS3 Beta Plug-In Available for Testing YoYo IRTrans (3P) 92 November 6th, 2017 09:10 PM
EnvisaLink DSC Plug-in - HS3 Beta Testing spud Envisalink DSC Plugin (3P) 52 May 30th, 2017 07:23 AM
IFTTT Plug-in - Beta Testing spud IFTTT (3P) 48 March 15th, 2017 07:23 PM
UPB Plug-in - Beta Testing spud UPB plugin by Spud (3P) 101 March 14th, 2017 08:47 PM
EnvisaLink DSC Plug-in - HS2 Beta Testing spud Envisalink DSC Plugin (3P) 102 October 31st, 2013 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC