Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to Home Automation -- Need external security camera solution / recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Home Automation -- Need external security camera solution / recommendations

Greetings All!

I'm very new to Home Automation. I learned about it a few months ago, but I didn't look into it much then, as I was in the process of buying an older home (115 years old).

Now that the purchase is complete and we've had a few weeks to settle in, I'm ready to get started.

And it looks like I NEED to get started!

The neighborhood we moved into, like a lot of those with older homes, has a higher crime rate (mostly property crimes) and a higher percentage of rental properties in the area.

Our garage window got broken out / garage was broken into early one morning this week.

Fortunately, the thieves only made off with about $100 worth of items.

However, they actually cut a 5' tall chain link fence running along the back of our property to get at the side of the garage.

This area is VERY dark. So, obviously, I need to get a motion light in there. (Another possible solution would be to pay the electric company about $13 a month to install, power, and maintain a sodium area light on an electrical pole nearby.)

I have a couple of friends at work who are "into" Home Automation a bit, but they all work the night-shift and I'm on days, so I think I still need to post here occasionally to get some info.

This morning, one such coworker gave me a few "hand-me-downs":

1) An X10 2 Way Computer Interface, which I understand is the core unit I'll need to interface Homeseer with any X10 equipment I'll get. (Oh yeah, by the way, I fully intend to download the Homeseer trial and then pay for it within 30 days soon... probably will do the download/install tomorrow.)

2) 4 X10 Powerhouse Transceiver Modules (two are smaller units than the others.... TM751's vs. RR501's).

3) 1 RF Wireless Remote Receiver