www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 6th, 2017, 12:56 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Circles Lost Config

Twice now I have lost my events for no known reason. The first time was a couple of weeks ago. I dutifully recreated most of them when it happened again on 7/4. The backup config files did NOT bring back the events!

This is now a helpdesk ticket, but the support guys told me that I should investigate the thread at https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=185508 While it's similar, I don't think it's the same problem, but due diligence suggests I run it by you anyway.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 6th, 2017, 01:57 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSpy View Post
Twice now I have lost my events for no known reason. The first time was a couple of weeks ago. I dutifully recreated most of them when it happened again on 7/4. The backup config files did NOT bring back the events!

This is now a helpdesk ticket, but the support guys told me that I should investigate the thread at https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=185508 While it's similar, I don't think it's the same problem, but due diligence suggests I run it by you anyway.

Thanks.
HS3 events are stored in \data\HomeSeerData.hsd, nothing to do with Insteon. In that same directory, you should find other DB files named HomeSeerData_X.hsd, where 'X' goes from 1 to 10: these are backups. Don't assume '..._1.hsd' or '..._10.hsd' is the latest backup, rely instead on the last modified date.

Make a copy of all .hsd files, just in case, then rename the most recent backup that still contains your events to HomeSeerData.hsd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 6th, 2017, 02:15 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSpy View Post
Twice now I have lost my events for no known reason. The first time was a couple of weeks ago. I dutifully recreated most of them when it happened again on 7/4. The backup config files did NOT bring back the events!

This is now a helpdesk ticket, but the support guys told me that I should investigate the thread at https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=185508 While it's similar, I don't think it's the same problem, but due diligence suggests I run it by you anyway.

Thanks.
did this occur because hs3 crashed, a power failure, or something else?
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.280
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.5.76 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 6th, 2017, 02:24 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by claude View Post
HS3 events are stored in \data\HomeSeerData.hsd, nothing to do with Insteon. In that same directory, you should find other DB files named HomeSeerData_X.hsd, where 'X' goes from 1 to 10: these are backups. Don't assume '..._1.hsd' or '..._10.hsd' is the latest backup, rely instead on the last modified date.

Make a copy of all .hsd files, just in case, then rename the most recent backup that still contains your events to HomeSeerData.hsd
OK, that's good to know. And I am aware of the .hsd files, none of the backups had the events - even the ones that predated the incident.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 6th, 2017, 02:25 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
did this occur because hs3 crashed, a power failure, or something else?
Not that I know of. One second they were there, the next they were not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 6th, 2017, 02:40 PM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 912
What are you running HS3 on?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 6th, 2017, 03:31 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,784
You may need to restore an HS db and Insteon.ini to get back everything.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 6th, 2017, 04:54 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
What are you running HS3 on?
Current Date/Time: 7/6/2017 1:53:54 PM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard Edition 3.0.0.318
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Work Station
System Uptime: 1 Day 13 Hours 51 Minutes 2 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.1.121
Number of Devices: 214
Number of Events: 1
Available Threads: 600

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.0.6.0: Insteon
3.0.0.14: NetCAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 6th, 2017, 04:56 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
You may need to restore an HS db and Insteon.ini to get back everything.
What is meant by "HS db"? Remember, I have tried all 10 .hsd files, and none of them contain my old events - even the ones dated before the mishap.

I am resigned to re-creating the events. My concern is not having to repeat this process AGAIN in the future. So I'd rather get some kind of diagnosis.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 6th, 2017, 05:01 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,784
Hs db is the .hsd file

What does th HS log reveal when you restart? Any Insteon entries
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 10th, 2017, 06:53 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,784
Jim
have you verified that your backups are now working?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 15th, 2017, 02:00 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
Jim
have you verified that your backups are now working?
Hi, sorry, I've been working with the help desk, but they're a little slow. (But then so am I!)

No, the backups are NOT working. They do not contain the events - even the ones created before the blip.

Update: This morning it happened right in front of me! I was inputting events and all of them disappeared. I was then presented with an Events tab that looked like a fresh install.

And get this:

Current Date/Time: 7/15/2017 9:34:08 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard Edition 3.0.0.318
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Work Station
System Uptime: 1 Day 12 Hours 22 Minutes 35 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.1.121
Number of Devices: 210
Number of Events: 13
Available Threads: 600
License: Registered
License: 84336
User Name and Access Level: Admin (Admin)
WAN IP Address: 47.216.208.49
Web Server Port: 80
Location: (Latitude) 35.20 (Longitude) 111.65 City/State-US-Arizona,Flagstaff,111.65,35.20

It says 13 events! So where are they?

Maybe wipe HomeSeer and re-install?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 16th, 2017, 09:55 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,784
I'll let you figure this out with the HST helpdesk. good luck
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 16th, 2017, 01:11 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
I'll let you figure this out with the HST helpdesk. good luck
Don't blame you a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 16th, 2017, 02:45 PM
aldo's Avatar
aldo aldo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSpy View Post
Hi, sorry, I've been working with the help desk, but they're a little slow. (But then so am I!)

No, the backups are NOT working. They do not contain the events - even the ones created before the blip.

Update: This morning it happened right in front of me! I was inputting events and all of them disappeared. I was then presented with an Events tab that looked like a fresh install.

And get this:

Current Date/Time: 7/15/2017 9:34:08 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard Edition 3.0.0.318
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Work Station
System Uptime: 1 Day 12 Hours 22 Minutes 35 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.1.121
Number of Devices: 210
Number of Events: 13
Available Threads: 600
License: Registered
License: 84336
User Name and Access Level: Admin (Admin)
WAN IP Address: 47.216.208.49
Web Server Port: 80
Location: (Latitude) 35.20 (Longitude) 111.65 City/State-US-Arizona,Flagstaff,111.65,35.20

It says 13 events! So where are they?

Maybe wipe HomeSeer and re-install?
Stupid question, in the event menu did you enable to see all the event like you do in devices?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 16th, 2017, 04:57 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldo View Post
Stupid question, in the event menu did you enable to see all the event like you do in devices?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
There are no stupid questions, especially with this stuff. But yes, I clicked SHOW ALL just in case. No change.

Please keep the stupid questions coming.

Thanks,

==JJS==
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old July 16th, 2017, 05:12 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 13,227
Poltergeist.

I am not a medium here.

Just kidding.

I dunno; you are the first person on this forum with this unique issue. In some 17 or so years of using Homeseer never seen this before or ever seen another user reporting same issue.
__________________
- Pete

Automator
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old July 17th, 2017, 01:50 PM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Poltergeist.

I am not a medium here.

Just kidding.

I dunno; you are the first person on this forum with this unique issue. In some 17 or so years of using Homeseer never seen this before or ever seen another user reporting same issue.
I am not a medium here. - No, most of your stuff here is well done.

Poltergeist. Funny you should say that. You're by no means the first.

For 30 years I spent my spare time writing on the paranormal. I'm a lifelong atheist, and skeptical of anything "supernatural". I've been to 3 CSICOP conventions; I once interviewed for a job at the Center for Inquiry in Buffalo, the Vatican of skepticism. Some of those debunkers you see on TV shows on Destination: America are friends of mine.

But now I'm not so sure. There have been things happening at this particular house I live in that have got me scratching my head. My wife became convinced long ago, and has been razzing me for years. My local computer whiz, also a skeptic, has looked at some of our computer (and other electronic and electro-mechanical) problems and said the same thing you did: "I gotta say, I've never seen THAT before."

I'm sure this will be resolved somehow. I'm sure there's a naturalistic explanation for all of it. I'm going to keep repeating that to myself.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old July 17th, 2017, 10:31 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 13,227
Build a new box (W7 or W7e) from scratch.

Don't use the box for anything but Homeseer.

Don't install any remote access to it....vnc or team viewer...see if that helps...

Last edited by Pete; July 17th, 2017 at 11:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old July 21st, 2017, 10:40 AM
JimSpy's Avatar
JimSpy JimSpy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Build a new box (W7 or W7e) from scratch.

Don't use the box for anything but Homeseer.

Don't install any remote access to it....vnc or team viewer...see if that helps...
I don't have the time or the wherewithal to build a new box from scratch. Or the scratch, for that matter.

The good news is, it hasn't happened lately. I've been saving a backup offline every time I add a new batch of events, just in case.

The bad news is, apropos to my previous off-topic rant about the supernatural, I saw something yesterday that shook my world. Let's just leave it at that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost Config (NOT kidding!) JimSpy HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 27 July 16th, 2017 01:14 PM
Lost my config page - how can I get it back? CinciJeff Omnistat 3 (3P) 3 August 22nd, 2016 11:26 AM
Lost DooMotion Button and Config Option yelloow7t Motion Sensor Plug-In 11 January 22nd, 2009 08:29 PM
Config davidyork WapSeer (3P) 1 December 10th, 2007 01:57 AM
MS SQL Config MediaStorm HSTV 4 July 4th, 2003 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC