www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Plug-ins > Legacy HomeSeer Plug-ins > Aprilaire

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 4th, 2015, 12:30 AM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 159
Aprilaire with HS3?

Did anyone find a way to run Aprilaire thermostat with HS3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 4th, 2015, 06:22 AM
ffneilm ffneilm is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8
Thinking the same thing.

An aprilaire plugin is the only thing stopping me from switching totally to H3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 4th, 2015, 09:46 AM
Gunneyk's Avatar
Gunneyk Gunneyk is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 238
I have an AprilAire thermostat that came with the house and I would like to replace it but I can't find one I am comfortable with. It displays the outside temperature on the LCD display and the majority of the Z-Wave thermostats do not have this feature. Now I don't really care if the temp is displayed or not but it is my understanding that the unit uses that input (in part) to determine when to kick in the aux heat source since this is a heat pump. I just can't find enough information to determine if the replacement thermostats deal with that regardless of displaying it on the screen. I tracked down the guy who installed the unit and he was clueless.
__________________
Andrew J. Kelly
Virginia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 4th, 2015, 07:20 PM
ffneilm ffneilm is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8
The outside temp is optional. It will allow you to set the balance point thru the thermostat that determines when the aux heat will run with the compressor shut off. Any thermostat designed for a heat pump will work.

The pluses of the Aiprilaire is that it is modular and has ability to add zones, multiple temp and humidity readings. You can control a whole house humidifier and the biggest plus is the ability to control it from a home automation system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 5th, 2015, 08:51 AM
cjin cjin is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffneilm View Post
An aprilaire plugin is the only thing stopping me from switching totally to H3.
I am in same situation. How many people have interest in a third party plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 15th, 2015, 12:25 PM
bbuck2002 bbuck2002 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
I am still interested in this, and could help with testing and development. I am unable to upgrade to HS3 because of this one plugin... Is HomeSeer willing to provide the original code for the HS2 plugin? I could probably port it to HS3.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 15th, 2015, 12:35 PM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 6,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbuck2002 View Post
I am still interested in this, and could help with testing and development. I am unable to upgrade to HS3 because of this one plugin... Is HomeSeer willing to provide the original code for the HS2 plugin? I could probably port it to HS3.
The source code is available: http://store.homeseer.com/store/Home...ode-P1800.aspx

Cheers
Al
__________________
HS3Pro 3.0.0.318 on Jetway JBC501F9Q-Q87-B i7 8GB 1874 Devices, 955 Events, 28 Plugins
Z-Wave 3.0.1.131 Z-Net 105 nodes:Leviton Vizia,Kwikset,FortrezZ Valve/Sensors,Everspring Sensors/Modules/Outlets,CT30 Stats,MIMOLites,Aeotec Smart Switches
RFXCom W800,RFXrec433,RFXtrx433|APCUPSD|Pushover|Squeezebox|weatherXML|HS Phone W2C|APCUPSD|UltraLog
UltraGCIR GC-100|UltraNetcam|UltraPioneer|Ultra1Wire|DSC PC1832|BLLED|BLTVGuide|ImperiHome|jon00 Utilities|MySensors

PHLocation|X10 CM11A IOLinc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 24th, 2016, 08:19 PM
bbuck2002 bbuck2002 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Dollar Sign Really??

This frustrated me when I saw it, so I am not responding until now.
I might pay $50 or so for a working HS3 Aprilaire plugin, but I sure as **** am not going to spend $100 for the source code of the HS2 version! Who knows if I'd even be able to port it!
Anyway, still on HS2, and looks like I'll be supporting it for quite a while longer. I don't really want to replace a perfectly good Aprilaire thermostat setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS-Elk-Aprilaire 8870 will40 UltraM1G HSPI 3 August 17th, 2008 05:05 AM
Aprilaire setup with Elk M1G ctwilliams Aprilaire 1 August 27th, 2007 07:41 PM
AprilAire GreenAcres HS2 / HSPRO 11 May 18th, 2007 09:41 AM
Aprilaire 8870 cutthroat Aprilaire 0 November 11th, 2006 11:04 PM
Aprilaire 8870 keng Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 1 January 11th, 2004 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC