www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Weather Plug-ins > Weather Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 28th, 2015, 04:48 PM
joels joels is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SouthWest
Posts: 35
Best solutions for Davis Vantage Pro 2 weather on HS3

Hello All, I have spent the last few days going through EVERY piece of information I could find about getting my Davis VantagePro 2 weather station to show up in my HS3 Hometroller. Most of the information I have found has been about HS2 and is about 10 years old. The time wasted reading about obsolete technology and plugins is my definition of frustration. I do have to say a big Thank You to HiTech for the write up about what I'm looking for here: http://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=138704 It is truly what I expect from forum posts and support. Outstanding work. I followed those instructions but I believe they are for HS2 and I can't get it to work. I also briefly tried VWS but got stuck pretty quickly and never heard back from my questions.

What would you guys recommend for the most efficient way to have my weather information appear in HS3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 28th, 2015, 05:00 PM
Uncle Michael's Avatar
Uncle Michael Uncle Michael is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,535
I use Jon00's VWS script to import data from Virtual Weather Station. It works quite well.
__________________
Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.318

HW: Stargate | NX8e | CAV6.6 | Squeezebox | PCS | WGL 800RF, Rain8Net+ | RFXCOM | QSE100D | Vantage Pro | Green-Eye | X10:
Compose, XTB-232, -IIR | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call | Ecobee3


Last edited by Uncle Michael; May 28th, 2015 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 28th, 2015, 05:56 PM
dcdelong's Avatar
dcdelong dcdelong is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Indiana\Ohio
Posts: 295
Welcome to the HS forum,

I use Cumulus software to upload to Wunderground/NOAA from my Davis VantagePro 2. Cumulus also creates a file that is leveraged by JON00's Cumulus script.... works fantastic. Almost real-time data in HS3.

Let me know if you find that interesting and I can help you flesh it out on your system.

WeatherXML also can read the Cumulus file and is pretty easy to implement as well.

Here is the link to my station on Wunderground:

http://www.wunderground.com/personal...ID=KININDIA125

Here is a shot of some of the HS3 devices created by JON00's Cumulus script



Chris
Attached Images
 
__________________
HSPRO3 3.0.0.312 on HP 8000, 9 SONOS, Vista p20 alarm, 3 IPads and HP Touch Screen, 23 z-Wave, 44 INSTEON

Plugins :BLBackup:,Pushover 3P:,Wiimote:Winery,HSTV:,Insteon:,PHLocation:,drhsIpPlugIn:, UltraNetatmoWelcome3:,UltraSighthoundVideo3:,Vista Alarm:,UltraCID3:,Random:,EasyTrigger:,iAutomate RFID:,FitbitSeer:,Z-Wave:,HSTouch Server:,weatherXML:,Sonos:,Restart:,UltraGCIR3:,UltraPioneer AVR3:JowiHue;WiiMote;MyQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 28th, 2015, 06:38 PM
Bob_Linux_User's Avatar
Bob_Linux_User Bob_Linux_User is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fayetteville, TN
Posts: 547
Hi joels,

I went through the same process for my Davis Vantage Pro 2. I use a Linux based server with Wview as my application and there are no plugins available. I get my data in a round about way. I send data to Weather Underground and then use the WeatherXML plugin to retrieve my data to HS3. I realize that it delays the readings but it is sufficient for my HS needs. I have a weather server online if I need near realtime data. http://www.w4lcs.com/weather

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 28th, 2015, 06:42 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,697
You can also use Weather Display and produce a file that will populate the variables in HS3.
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 29th, 2015, 12:46 PM
joels joels is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SouthWest
Posts: 35
It's looking like Davis VP2 > Weather Display > HS3 via Jon00's scripts.

Thank you everyone for the ideas and recommendations. I installed both Cumulus and Weather Display on a different system. I like the fit, finish, look, and interface of Cumulus a lot more than Weather Display but it seems like Weather Display has a lot of additional features I may use like webcams. I already have a few weather cameras I would eventually like to integrate. I also would like to have some nice graph and histogram pages after I get all the configurations working.

I looked through Jon00's scripts and it seems he also has a nice one for Weather Display. I downloaded and quickly glanced through the instructions and I'm going to attempt this setup this weekend. I'm sure I
ll be back with some other questions though.

- I'd like to run Weather Display on my HomeTroller S6. What are your thoughts of having both HS3 and Weather Display constantly running on the same machine? Will is be too taxing on the CPU?

- I would be very interested in anyone's experiences or best practices in getting the VP2 setup with Jon00's scripts. That is going to be one of my weekend challenges.


(As an aside to that in case anyone is interested. I've had Davis Weatherlink running on a PC for years. Finally about 6 months ago I installed Meteobridge (http://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page) on a TP-Link mini-router. It worked great and helped me eliminate an extra PC running all the time. I just don't know enough about it to want to integrate it with HS3 now. For those of you who may need additional resources for your Davis station.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 10th, 2017, 04:44 AM
ScottRennie ScottRennie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 383
Joels,
Did you get this working? How did you do it in the end?

Anyone else got recommendations - I'm looking at purchasing a Davis and integrating with HS3?

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 10th, 2017, 11:42 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Here have been running Cumulus on an RPi2 connected to a Davis Console. It's been running great. You can utilize Jon00's utility / script to get data from the Cumulus application.

Just testing out WeeWx and it also works great. Might install this on HS3 Pro Linux machine with a MeteoStick.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.383 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 10th, 2017, 12:53 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottRennie View Post
Joels,
Did you get this working? How did you do it in the end?

Anyone else got recommendations - I'm looking at purchasing a Davis and integrating with HS3?

Scott
Still using Weather Display here and have been for over 10 years and it just keeps humming along.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 10th, 2017, 09:22 PM
Thickman's Avatar
Thickman Thickman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oklahoma City,Ok.
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcdelong View Post
Welcome to the HS forum,

I use Cumulus software to upload to Wunderground/NOAA from my Davis VantagePro 2. Cumulus also creates a file that is leveraged by JON00's Cumulus script.... works fantastic. Almost real-time data in HS3.

Let me know if you find that interesting and I can help you flesh it out on your system.

WeatherXML also can read the Cumulus file and is pretty easy to implement as well.

Here is the link to my station on Wunderground:

http://www.wunderground.com/personal...ID=KININDIA125

Here is a shot of some of the HS3 devices created by JON00's Cumulus script



Chris
+1
__________________
Terry
______________________________________
HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.318 | Windows 10 Home

Zwave 3.0.1.136 | Z-Stick | HSTouch | Sonos | Vantage Vue
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 11th, 2017, 09:01 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Over the years the Davis buffered serial cable has been reverse engineered with a larger buffer for more data. Here originally started with a non buffered serial cable to my Davis console and recently went to a custom job designed in Australia that is levels above what Davis offers.

I just tacked on the RPi2 to the back of the Davis Console (which I never looked at anymore any how)

Concurrent with the buffered cable stuff has been a reverse engineering of the wireless communication protocols that Davis uses.

IE: you can custom build a wireless weather console today that talk and mixes Davis wireless weather devices stuff (more than just the ISS).

WeatherDuino Pro 2 Plus (for hardware tinkerers)

Name:  WeatherDuino.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  42.2 KB

MeteoStick

Name:  meteostick.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  5.3 KB

It would be like using the RFXCom receiver for Davis weather stations (if it did that) plus other wireless weather instruments.

Davis Weather Station Hacking (2010)
It's science, but it works like magic.

The use of Davis weather stations was so prevalent that the communications became standard and sort of public domain. (Like Q-Tips are synonymous with a cotton swab on a stick).

Reverse engineering wireless weather stations 2011

Last edited by Pete; May 11th, 2017 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
davis, hs3, vantagepro 2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mcsSprinklers - Davis Vantage View - Cumulus - Data - Methodology Pete mcsSprinklers 2 May 22nd, 2013 11:27 AM
OT Davis Weather Station Problem neiltimms General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 6 October 26th, 2009 01:58 PM
Problem with ET using CSV from Davis Vantage Pro Cecil mcsSprinklers 5 April 6th, 2007 01:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC