www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Irrigation Plug-ins > Irrigation Discussion

Irrigation Discussion Discussion of irrigation integration with HomeSeer systems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #401  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 05:55 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
Same for me.
What version of the plugin are you using?
I have seen a couple versions throughout this thread
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #402  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 06:05 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
What version of the plugin are you using?

I have seen a couple versions throughout this thread


2.1.6.0, which seems to be the latest in the updater.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #403  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 06:25 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
2.1.6.0, which seems to be the latest in the updater.
Great - I will check it out. My OpenSprinkler 3.0 was just delivered.
Apparently they had someone buy all their v2.3 stock so they upgraded my order to the 3.0 for no extra. It is wifi only though - no Ethernet hard wire on it.
Reply With Quote
  #404  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 08:49 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Great - I will check it out. My OpenSprinkler 3.0 was just delivered.

Apparently they had someone buy all their v2.3 stock so they upgraded my order to the 3.0 for no extra. It is wifi only though - no Ethernet hard wire on it.


I don't really agree with them removing Ethernet. Seems like a backward step to me, though I am sure adding Wifi will be appreciated by many. Mine is firmly hard wired!
Reply With Quote
  #405  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 08:51 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
I don't really agree with them removing Ethernet. Seems like a backward step to me, though I am sure adding Wifi will be appreciated by many. Mine is firmly hard wired!
I agree - hard wired is always better
Reply With Quote
  #406  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 08:59 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I agree - hard wired is always better
Just an aside though... Mine does drop off the network for ~20mins two to four times a day - as reported by BLLAN

It has been replaced by Opensprinkler and I have changed the port / cable and even plugged an RPi in on that cable instead, but the problem still persists just on the Opensprinkler. They suggested that fast pinging could cause issues for the under-powered 'duino network stack/hardware, so I dropped the rate back to once a minute and still see the problem. It does not affect the controller running watering programs and it is still responsive to the local buttons etc, but I cannot access it via the app or plugin during these windows. Last thing I am going to try is cabling it direct to my FiOS router, bypassing patch panels, switches etc. I expect that it will still behave the same way given the experiment with the RPi already.
Reply With Quote
  #407  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 05:42 PM
Kerat Kerat is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 373
New OpenSprinkler Plugin

Interesting, I am currently considering this device to replace the control unit that came with the house. Is there a way to add a NIC onto the newer units?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #408  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 08:38 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 233
I have hardware version 2.3-DC and firmware version 2.1.6(1).

Is it worth upgrading the firmware and if I do, is the plugin working with the newer firmware?

Thanks,

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #409  
Old May 3rd, 2017, 09:56 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerat View Post
Interesting, I am currently considering this device to replace the control unit that came with the house. Is there a way to add a NIC onto the newer units?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
On their website it says this:
"If you absolutely need wired Ethernet port and cannot use WiFi AP at all, contact us for ordering the older version (2.3)."

However, Blade said they told him that their entire 2.3 stock was bought up by one buyer.

They also link to a mobile A/P to ethernet solution, but I'd rather have it built in personally

I found the OpenSprinkler guy very reasonable to deal with, so I'd reach out to him to pass on comments / questions about this.
Reply With Quote
  #410  
Old May 4th, 2017, 05:34 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
My first question to OpenSprinkler was: Is the wifi reliable?
His answer was that it was tested a lot and he saw no issues with it. I hope so since this will be the only automation wifi device in my house so I hope I am not shooting myself in the foot.

Is the plugin actively being developed anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #411  
Old May 5th, 2017, 02:33 AM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
My first question to OpenSprinkler was: Is the wifi reliable?
His answer was that it was tested a lot and he saw no issues with it. I hope so since this will be the only automation wifi device in my house so I hope I am not shooting myself in the foot.

Is the plugin actively being developed anymore?
Mattyjee is here once in a while and typically is able to fix reported issues. I have combed through the code, but haven't done any major tweaking myself.
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old May 5th, 2017, 06:57 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,404
One of benefits here is that both the plugin and the OS firmware are open source.
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old May 5th, 2017, 07:08 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechFan View Post
Mattyjee is here once in a while and typically is able to fix reported issues. I have combed through the code, but haven't done any major tweaking myself.
Is the code shared somewhere? I would like to take a look at it
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old May 5th, 2017, 07:52 AM
jbbtex's Avatar
jbbtex jbbtex is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Is the code shared somewhere? I would like to take a look at it
Matt posted a link here.
__________________
Brady
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old May 5th, 2017, 08:03 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbbtex View Post
Matt posted a link here.
Great Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old May 6th, 2017, 01:39 PM
Mark S. Mark S. is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 619
Disabled Zone?

I started up my system this year - 8 zones - and for some reason zone 1 is disabled (value of -2). How do I re-enable? I tried setting the value to zero (off) or 5 (it runs for 5 minutes) but it always returns to -2 (disabled). That zone is also missing from the OpenSprinkler app, and I can't figure out how to get it back. Help?
__________________
Mark

Hometroller S6 w/ HS3Pro, Way2Call
BLAB8SS, BL Backup, Easy Trigger, HSTouch, Open Sprinkler, SONOS, Ultra1Wire3, UltraM1G, WeatherXML, Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old May 8th, 2017, 09:23 PM
Mark S. Mark S. is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 619
Never mind - found it - disable was buried in the OpenSprinkler app. No idea how it got that way.
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old May 11th, 2017, 10:32 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 233
Would it be possible to expose some properties to HS3?

I recently had a sprinkler solenoid go bad and didn't notice that it was drawing over 2 amps. Normal is about 128ma.

My wife let me know that this line wasn't running, but it took about a week.

If "current" was exposed, we could use it as a trigger.

Michael

Last edited by Rvtravlr; May 12th, 2017 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old May 12th, 2017, 05:11 AM
Mattyjee's Avatar
Mattyjee Mattyjee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 204
Hi guys,

I'm on here a lot less frequently lately, have two very young kids so don't get a lot of spare time for working on this stuff. The Opensprinkler firmware is constantly changed and I struggle to keep up with it.

Also, I only have old hardware, so a lot of the new features are not available to me and I can't upgrade my firmware past 2.1.5 so cant test anything.

I'm happy if someone wants to put their hand up and take over ownership of the plugin... the only rule is it has to remain free, and it has to remain backwards compatible with different firmwares.

Cheers.
Matt.
__________________
HS3 v152 with HSTouch v49 running on old Lenovo R61 Laptop 2GHz, 4Gb with Windows 7 Utimate.
DSC PC1832 with IT100, Aeon Labs Z-Wave stuff, OpenSprinkler, 4x Foscam 9805E with iSpy, 2x GC-IP2IR.
Proud Member of Crotchety Old Man Club as that's the only way I can work out how to add this signature...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenSprinkler open source sprinkler controller reidfo Irrigation Discussion 21 August 27th, 2013 11:16 PM
OpenSprinkler control plugin available for download reidfo BeakerRain 0 July 19th, 2012 11:21 AM
Does this plugin work with the Windows Media Center plugin? rdimitri SqueezeBox Plug-In (3P) 0 May 16th, 2011 05:05 PM
Upgrade procedure for ACRF plugin from W800 free plugin htsource ACRF Processor (3P) 14 January 26th, 2006 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC