Total Newbie with X10 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total Newbie with X10 question

New user: Pi based zee. All up and running with Z-wave devices so far (indoor motion sensor turning on a outlet...gee...but it works).

I have the CM15a installed and to some degree working. I can turn my X10 wall switch on and off manually from the devices web page.

However, I have an X10 outdoor motion sensor that I have no idea how to detect. The sensor transmits to an X10 receiver (not the CM15a) that already existed and translates it to a powerline command for unit 2 on.

I also have an outdoor X10 flood light that is motion sensitive and when it turns on , it sends an "unit 2 on" command to my X10 wall switch. That is done thru the power lines.

I'd like to get it all under homeseer control so I can write more events. But I see no way to react to the X10 motion sensor, or detect the on command from the floodlight. Where do I start? I am just completely lost!

I would switch it all over to Z-wave, but amazingly, there seems to be no decent outdoor motions sensors! The X10 outdoor motion sensor works perfectly, dusk to dawn, adjustable delay, etc. Can't believe there is not a similar Z-wave device that works well!

So, please how do I get started seeing my X10 wireless motion detector? And is there anyway to see commands in the log from X10?

Thanks so much!

Welcome the Homeseer Board.

The answer(s) to your questions can become complicated and confusing because X10 has been around for quite a while and approaches to interfacing to it are somewhat varied. Worse, HST has chosen not to fully support X10 in HS3, so it's been left to a volunteer to pick up the slack. So, there's a bad news, good news, bad news sort of story. Here's my take on a first step to address the immediate problem. A more robust and extensible solution is possible, but will take some extra hardware, possibly another plug-in, and some work. I'll leave that for another discussion.