www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 09:29 AM
smashburn smashburn is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN
Posts: 9
HS3 and Harmony Hub

Can someone help explain to me what I need to make the Harmony remote control the z wave devices through HS3? Which plugin is best? Do I need the z wave extender for the Harmony Hub? I've read through the forums and have the meiharmony hub plugin but it looks like I can just control harmony hub through my HS3. Can my Harmony remote control some of my z wave devices through my HS3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 09:41 AM
mikee123 mikee123 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: London
Posts: 1,196
There are 2 Harmony hub plugins I have tried. Cant remember what the first one was called, the last one I tried was Jon00 harmony plugin (which is free). You can find both on the forum here. Once installed and linked, Jon00's Pi will create deviecs for your harmony devices which you can use to control devices on your hub. Best to go to the PI section and read all the instructions, I only tried using it for 1 specific purpose so dont know much about it (controlling a Nvidia shield)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 10:49 AM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by smashburn View Post
Can someone help explain to me what I need to make the Harmony remote control the z wave devices through HS3? Which plugin is best? Do I need the z wave extender for the Harmony Hub? I've read through the forums and have the meiharmony hub plugin but it looks like I can just control harmony hub through my HS3. Can my Harmony remote control some of my z wave devices through my HS3?
There are 3 plug-ins. I have tried all of them and I am currently using the same one you mention. They are all functionally equivalent, but I like the responsiveness of MeiHarmonyHub.

All three have the same limitations. They can control activities and individual devices, but they can only report the status of activities. They do not and cannot report the status of devices. As a result you can only trigger HS events by activities. You could have the activity “Watch TV” control lighting or anything else from an event using that activity as a trigger. You cannot trigger an event by individual device controls as Harmony does not report those from the hub. They are only for control.

While the Harmony Hub can control Z-Wave devices with the extender and a compatible remote, Z-Wave devices can only be associated with a single controller, so you cannot have both HS and Harmony control the same device. It is one or the other.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 10:52 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,713
Currently all 3 of the Harmony Plug-ins do not allow control of HS devices from the Harmony remote (not directly that is). The create and allow control of the AV devices on your Harmony device from HS and to control and monitor the active Activity.

You can add z-wave devices to the Harmony Hub via the Hub Extender, but currently none of the 3 plug-ins allow control of those z-wave devices from HomeSeer. My plugin (MeiHarmonyHub) has the potential to do this as I communicate directly with the hub, but I have not added that as most did not seem to want it. It is still in my plans because I can also control things like the Nest Thermostat and Hue Bulbs, but since i've already paid for those plug-ins, and no one has requested it, I have not put a ton of energy into it.

Now, there is some limited control you can do, but in an indirect way. For instance, in my living room, when the hub has it's activity set to any one that is not "PowerOff", I turn on the ceiling fan in the living room. Same for if it is PowerOff, I then turn the ceiling fan off. So, in this sense, you can have your z-wave devices or other HomeSeer devices react to activity changes on your hub (for instance, if you change your activity to "Watch Movie", you could dim the lights).

Another consideration to make is how reactive the plugins are to activity changes. Last I checked, Rein's Harmony Hub plugin has a polling of at minimum 60 seconds. That means that HS will not be updated for up to 1 minute away. Jon00s plugin is much better and has a minimum polling of 5 seconds. My plugin, since it has direct communication to the Hub gets those updates instantly.

I'm not saying mine is the best option. Depending on your use case you may not care about the 5-60 second delay the others offer. I suggest you try them all out and pick the one that fits your needs the best.

If you want me to investigate adding support for z-wave devices from the Hub, I can do that. I've already added a zigbee bulb locally (but never released that code).
__________________
Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 07:37 PM
dilbert1 dilbert1 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 54
I have also tried using the MeiHarmonyHub plugin with my Harmony hub. From the HS3 web page I can use the drop down box to switch the TV or Stereo on/off, so that part is working.

However, I tried making a screen in HSTouch Designer and cannot get those buttons to work to control the same equipment. I also tried one of the other plugins before MeiHarmonyHub and had the same problem in Designer. Does that go back to the activities you are describing, or a problem with the Designer?

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 24th, 2018, 11:39 AM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by smashburn View Post
Can someone help explain to me what I need to make the Harmony remote control the z wave devices through HS3? Which plugin is best? Do I need the z wave extender for the Harmony Hub? I've read through the forums and have the meiharmony hub plugin but it looks like I can just control harmony hub through my HS3. Can my Harmony remote control some of my z wave devices through my HS3?
To control lights, fans and outlets with your harmony HOME remote you need to either use an extender like you menchioned or use the HA-BRIDGE java app running on your network. I run the java app on the same windows computer I run HS3 on.

If your running HS3 on a windows computer it's pretty easy just download the lastest java file from here
https://github.com/bwssytems/ha-bridge/releases
and make sure that is running on your windows computer. Then all setup is done in the web UI.

You can find more info in the forums or on google., but its been out for a few years and mimics a HUE HUB which your remote will find.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 24th, 2018, 11:44 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilbert1 View Post
I have also tried using the MeiHarmonyHub plugin with my Harmony hub. From the HS3 web page I can use the drop down box to switch the TV or Stereo on/off, so that part is working.

However, I tried making a screen in HSTouch Designer and cannot get those buttons to work to control the same equipment. I also tried one of the other plugins before MeiHarmonyHub and had the same problem in Designer. Does that go back to the activities you are describing, or a problem with the Designer?

Jeff
If my plugin isn't working correctly in HSTouch, let me know and I'll spin it up and see if I can reproduce and fix it. Just let me know how exactly you are attempting to add it to HSTouch (I've not used it much).

You can start a new thread in my plugin subforum for this: https://forums.homeseer.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1562
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 30th, 2018, 07:22 PM
dilbert1 dilbert1 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
If my plugin isn't working correctly in HSTouch, let me know and I'll spin it up and see if I can reproduce and fix it. Just let me know how exactly you are attempting to add it to HSTouch (I've not used it much).
I was able to get the plugin working today with HSTouch also. I had tried another Harmony plugin before yours and had mixed the commands together in HSTouch between the two. I also purchased the plugin today and will be having fun designing some screens in HSTouch now to work with it

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:44 PM
NickTheGreat NickTheGreat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
Currently all 3 of the Harmony Plug-ins do not allow control of HS devices from the Harmony remote (not directly that is). The create and allow control of the AV devices on your Harmony device from HS and to control and monitor the active Activity.

You can add z-wave devices to the Harmony Hub via the Hub Extender, but currently none of the 3 plug-ins allow control of those z-wave devices from HomeSeer. My plugin (MeiHarmonyHub) has the potential to do this as I communicate directly with the hub, but I have not added that as most did not seem to want it. It is still in my plans because I can also control things like the Nest Thermostat and Hue Bulbs, but since i've already paid for those plug-ins, and no one has requested it, I have not put a ton of energy into it.
---
Are you saying your plugin could control z-wave devices from my Harmony remote? I would very much like to control lights from my Harmony remote, but I've never seen a way to do this very well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 31st, 2018, 01:03 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Are you saying your plugin could control z-wave devices from my Harmony remote? I would very much like to control lights from my Harmony remote, but I've never seen a way to do this very well.
Your harmony can already control z-wave devices from the harmony, if you use the harmony extender. The problem is that doing this means you lose control in HS (I believe a z-wave device can only have 1 controller).

My plug-in could* allow you to add z-wave and zigbee devices to the harmony extender and then pull them into HS, which would then control and monitor them via my plugin.

*My plugin does not currently do this, though I have done tests with a zigbee bulb and my nest thermostat.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 31st, 2018, 01:36 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Are you saying your plugin could control z-wave devices from my Harmony remote? I would very much like to control lights from my Harmony remote, but I've never seen a way to do this very well.
As the Harmony Hub supports Philips Hue control without a hub extender, you can use the HA Bridge software which emulates a Hue bridge and provides gateway to control Homeseer. I personally use this for control of Homeseer from the Harmony remote.
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 31st, 2018, 05:22 PM
NickTheGreat NickTheGreat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
Your harmony can already control z-wave devices from the harmony, if you use the harmony extender. The problem is that doing this means you lose control in HS (I believe a z-wave device can only have 1 controller).

My plug-in could* allow you to add z-wave and zigbee devices to the harmony extender and then pull them into HS, which would then control and monitor them via my plugin.

*My plugin does not currently do this, though I have done tests with a zigbee bulb and my nest thermostat.
Makes sense. I don't have any desire to pull my devices out of HS.

Just thought I'd ask. Having my Harmony's control my lights and such is the missing link to my home automation!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 31st, 2018, 05:26 PM
NickTheGreat NickTheGreat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon00 View Post
As the Harmony Hub supports Philips Hue control without a hub extender, you can use the HA Bridge software which emulates a Hue bridge and provides gateway to control Homeseer. I personally use this for control of Homeseer from the Harmony remote.
I started reading on this earlier today. Seems like it has the most potential for my goals.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 31st, 2018, 06:01 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat
Makes sense. I don't have any desire to pull my devices out of HS.

Just thought I'd ask. Having my Harmony's control my lights and such is the missing link to my home automation!
Yeah, I don't plan to either. I started looking into it as a ZigBee hub and the posibility to use it as a bridge to other systems. The Hamony Hub ccan connect to Philips Hue and SmartThings as just 2 examples. I would be able to pull devices from those systems into HS using the Harmony Hub as a bridge.

I only mentioned z-wave because the extender does that and it is technically possible.

Jon00s suggestion is the best right now for controlling any HS device in the hubs. I had that set up for a while, but stopped because starting it up after a restart of my server was just 1 extra step and no one in my family was actually using it. Remember you can only control the divices from your remote from certain areas (the touch screen ones might be different). For the Harmony Connected remotes (I think that's what they are called) they have 2 outlets and 2 dim up/down buttons and that's it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harmony on SEL ryanoly Harmony Hub 6 January 25th, 2018 02:10 PM
Harmony Hub freeon HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 November 26th, 2017 01:47 PM
Harmony Hub API jlrichar Harmony Hub 3 September 21st, 2014 05:41 AM
Harmony Remote ? kwolter General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 2 February 29th, 2008 07:21 PM
Harmony Z-Wave cactsbob HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 December 15th, 2006 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC