www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 24th, 2018, 07:21 PM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Fibaro Devices

Hi, soon to be ex Vera user here (yes i have been one of those people).

I cant believe i haven't found homeseer until now, about to throw Vera in the garbage, but no use complaining how bad Vera is here as i wouldn't offer any sympathy if i was in your position.

I was trying to confirm that all my devices are supported before i spend all this money. I could not find Fibaro devices under compatible lighting products on the website.

The ones i have specifically are:
Fibaro Dimmer 2 FGS-212
Fibaro double relay FGS-222
Fibaro Single switch 2 FGS-213

As my whole house uses these, i doubt i would get the wife's approval to start from scratch as i am already in the doghouse from Vera causing her so much trouble.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 27th, 2018, 08:45 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by pricey1985@hotmail.com View Post
Hi, soon to be ex Vera user here (yes i have been one of those people).

I cant believe i haven't found homeseer until now, about to throw Vera in the garbage, but no use complaining how bad Vera is here as i wouldn't offer any sympathy if i was in your position.

I was trying to confirm that all my devices are supported before i spend all this money. I could not find Fibaro devices under compatible lighting products on the website.

The ones i have specifically are:
Fibaro Dimmer 2 FGS-212
Fibaro double relay FGS-222
Fibaro Single switch 2 FGS-213

As my whole house uses these, i doubt i would get the wife's approval to start from scratch as i am already in the doghouse from Vera causing her so much trouble.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Chris
Tilsy?

As far as I'm aware yes all of those are supported and many people here use there. There was some issue with either status or power readings on one of the relays if I remember... search on here and you'll find it. Otherwise the normal on/off/dim work the way they should.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 27th, 2018, 09:02 PM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Thanks,
I did see some issues which got me worried and also not being on the supported list as i thought they were very popular.

Thanks again.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 30th, 2018, 08:47 AM
Tillsy's Avatar
Tillsy Tillsy is online now
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
Tilsy?
I know right, what are the chances?!

He's using all the same gear as me (inc multisensors he mentioned on the "other" forum)
He has had major problems like me
He has upset his wife like me
He even has the same name as me (Chris)

But no, he's not me And yet, I am indeed here too looking at jumping ship (in fact a fair way into my testing process).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 30th, 2018, 09:58 AM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,495
Remember if you are jumping ship, the 50% software sale ends tomorrow! (Thursday)
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 30th, 2018, 07:54 PM
Tillsy's Avatar
Tillsy Tillsy is online now
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
Cheers mate

Also forgot to say he is also in Australia like me.

Swear he's not me though LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 30th, 2018, 11:29 PM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillsy View Post
Cheers mate

Also forgot to say he is also in Australia like me.

Swear he's not me though LOL!
So similar it's a bit freaky.

In all your testing do you know if homeseer has a similar thing to pleg. Or something that the end result is similar?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 30th, 2018, 11:57 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillsy View Post
I know right, what are the chances?!

He's using all the same gear as me (inc multisensors he mentioned on the "other" forum)
He has had major problems like me
He has upset his wife like me
He even has the same name as me (Chris)

But no, he's not me And yet, I am indeed here too looking at jumping ship (in fact a fair way into my testing process).
Like I said on the other forum... I know your pain. Been there...now I'm here
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 30th, 2018, 11:59 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by pricey1985@hotmail.com View Post
So similar it's a bit freaky.

In all your testing do you know if homeseer has a similar thing to pleg. Or something that the end result is similar?
HomeSeer events are as or more powerful than PLEG and 1,000 TIMES EASIER!
The only complaint I have ever heard (so far) was that PLEG supported sequences and that's hard to do with HomeSeer.

I'm hoping that it may get added into the EasyTrigger plugin but I don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:09 AM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Thanks. Just one more pro to add to my list of moving or not.
List if pretty big now.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:34 AM
Tillsy's Avatar
Tillsy Tillsy is online now
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
As jeubanks mentioned, "events" in HomeSeer are soooooo much more powerful than scenes in Vera - I've already created some test events that have quite complex triggers and conditions directly in the interface that would have required a lot of code in Vera. In fact there's one I created last night that I hadn't even thought how, and thus even bothered to try, achieving in Vera - I did it in HomeSeer simply because it was so simple and obvious.

And speaking of freaky.... can you imagine what it is like to turn on a Fibaro connected light and it be almost INSTANTLY recognised in HomeSeer, or to click it on off on off on off on off in HomeSeer and it happens instantly and HomeSeer keeps up with you in realtime (whereas Vera would be lucky to even finish understanding that it had turned the light on once in that same timeframe, assuming it even turned on and assuming it doesn't wrongly concluded that it did not turn on and thus turn it back off again (or the reverse - turning it back on a short while after you turned it off).

That said, HomeSeer is the most atrociously horrible 1995 era HTML interface I have ever seen... period. Seriously it is so bad - but the product is so fast and powerful you just have to look past that. Oh and configuring custom device parameters is the pits - you get no acknowledgement that it actually worked (I eventually found out that NOT getting an error is how you know it worked - again things happen straight away in HomeSeer, so I'm just used to the Vera world where doing something like a device parameter change can take minutes so you need to check and know the result). Also knowing what parameters you have set is manual, HomeSeer doesn't keep track of them so you simply type each parameters over the top of the prior one and need to keep a manual record of what you have set (unless it is a device where HomeSeer has had a table pre-created with all the parameters).

However, overall in two days I have already achieved far more than the five months I battled with my bloody Vera. I honestly anticipate that when I re-do my entire existing Vera setup in HomeSeer I will, easily, be able to achieve that in a single night... and then the sky's the limit...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:52 AM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
You just made me daydream for a minute, thinking how nice it would be to press a button and it happens instantly and as intended.

I have spent all morning re setting up my Fibaro double clicks after my factory reset and its giving me a headache.

So....as today is the last day of the sale i think i need to make a decision.

How are you running the software?
I like the idea of putting it on a raspberry pi, is there any limitations running from a pi? I see the available plugins says '5 linux'. is that 5 included or max 5?

Also pi software for $75 + HS3Touch for $99 = $174, why would you get the Pro for $299

Sorry for picking your brain, getting a bit excited about all this.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 31st, 2018, 01:53 AM
Tillsy's Avatar
Tillsy Tillsy is online now
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
For testing I was going to spin up a copy of Windows 7 in VMware on my Mac, but given the time constraint with the sale and the amount of Vera vs HomeSeer testing I wanted to do before it ended I instead quickly grabbed an old PC notebook and shoved the HomeSeer trial on that. Spent a night getting familiar with the product on its own, and the next day had a Z-Stick arrive* which I've then used for doing my tests.

Given I'm about 80% through my evaluation, the fantastic results so far, and the remaining time for the sale I've taken the punt and purchased the Pi version of HomeSeer. I will continue testing with the notebook eval copy until I've purchased a Pi, case, MicroSD, etc.

As a newbie the 5 limit thing is a bit confusing. One minute they talk about drivers, the next plugins, some are included free, but then possibly it's a limit of how many can be concurrently installed. No doubt makes sense to the developers and existing users, but as a newbie it's confusing.

Whichever one it is, bear in mind that HomeSeer seems to have been around a long while and is a Home Automation "platform" - so Z-Wave itself is a plugin/driver/whatever that you add. Therefore if the limit is how many you can have installed then you are already down to 4 straight away.

* I want to specifically mention this Z-Stick was to serve two purposes. Firstly I was going to test a theory of mine to hopefully overcome some of Vera's immense flaws. Secondly, I had begun researching HomeSeer and was going to begin evaluating it if the first test did not go well. However, a vendor saw my posts on the Vera forums and contacted me privately to (very convincingly) encourage me to abandon plan 1 and go straight to plan 2. I'd like to give them credit for convincing me of that, but given the vendor deals with both Vera and HomeSeer I'm not sure if they would want to be named or not. I can't thank them enough for reaching out though - it was incredibly thoughtful of them, and I would otherwise have wasted even more time and frustration on Vera not to mention missed the HomeSeer sale.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 31st, 2018, 02:12 AM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Glad you are having good results since we are having similar problems with Vera.

I dont believe i would be over the 5 plugins required, however, who knows what you may add in the future.

Also i noticed not all plugins are for Linux, so if the time comes that you want more then 5 or one that is not for Linux it would be a big cost to redo with a windows system.

Wish there was a few more days left of the sale as i dont like being rushed and i dont have a z-wave stick to test anything.
May just bite the bullet and get the pi version also.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 31st, 2018, 02:18 AM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,495
The 5 Plugin limit relates to the HS3-Pi version. If you purchase the HS3 standard or Pro version, you are free to install it on a Pi using your favorite Linux distribution. That way there is no plugin limit (just processor limit). Also, by purchasing the HS3 standard/pro, you have a license to install HS3 on Windows AND Linux at the same time.

All HS3 plugins written by Homeseer (not 3rd Party) come free with the Pro version. That includes HSTouch designer and Z-Seer+

One other bit of advise. The updater is not the sole source of plugins. Search the board first and you may find a few free gems hidden in the posts.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 31st, 2018, 02:38 AM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon00 View Post
The 5 Plugin limit relates to the HS3-Pi version. If you purchase the HS3 standard or Pro version, you are free to install it on a Pi using your favorite Linux distribution. That way there is no plugin limit (just processor limit). Also, by purchasing the HS3 standard/pro, you have a license to install HS3 on Windows AND Linux at the same time.

All HS3 plugins written by Homeseer (not 3rd Party) come free with the Pro version. That includes HSTouch designer and Z-Seer+

One other bit of advise. The updater is not the sole source of plugins. Search the board first and you may find a few free gems hidden in the posts.
Thanks Jon00

You have all sold me, i'm jumping ship.

Tillsy: What z-wave USB interface stick did you use, homeseer want $85 postage for a $33 stick.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 31st, 2018, 03:12 AM
Tillsy's Avatar
Tillsy Tillsy is online now
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon00 View Post
The 5 Plugin limit relates to the HS3-Pi version. If you purchase the HS3 standard or Pro version, you are free to install it on a Pi using your favorite Linux distribution. That way there is no plugin limit (just processor limit). Also, by purchasing the HS3 standard/pro, you have a license to install HS3 on Windows AND Linux at the same time.
Wow had no idea about any of that. However I'm still happy with the Pi version - I can only find one other plugin I may want, I don't need to run it on multiple platforms, and happy using a pre-created Pi image that HomeSeer fully supports. I can only find one other plugin I might want so looks like it all worked out for me anyway

Quote:
Originally Posted by pricey1985@hotmail.com View Post
Tillsy: What z-wave USB interface stick did you use, homeseer want $85 postage for a $33 stick.
My testing has been with an Aeotec Z-Stick, however I have been told they can be problematic (haven't experienced any issues though?). The vendor that contacted me sent an eval of their stick which they say is 100% HomeSeer supported (and was on my doorstep when I headed off to work this morning) - will start playing with that tonight and buy it from them if it works well. Again not sure if they are happy for me to name them or not so if you like PM me after I've tested it and I'll be happy to tell you who they are - the cost is less than that shipping cost alone!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 31st, 2018, 03:27 AM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tillsy View Post
My testing has been with an Aeotec Z-Stick, however I have been told they can be problematic (haven't experienced any issues though?). The vendor that contacted me sent an eval of their stick which they say is 100% HomeSeer supported (and was on my doorstep when I headed off to work this morning) - will start playing with that tonight and buy it from them if it works well. Again not sure if they are happy for me to name them or not so if you like PM me after I've tested it and I'll be happy to tell you who they are - the cost is less than that shipping cost alone!

Spent all day trying to get my luup to do all my double click scenes but just would not work. Had enough, so just purchased HomeSeer.
I then worked out i was missing an 'END' in the code, typical.

Anyway its for the better.

I was looking at the Aeotec Z-Stick and the Z-Wave.Me.

Since i'm in no rush i might wait to see how you go with the Aeotec Z-Stick to make the decision.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:39 PM
NickTheGreat NickTheGreat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 70
I'm another Vera ex-pat here.

You'll be so much happier with Homeseer than Vera it'll make you mad you didn't do this earlier.

Vera is a toy plastic hammer, and Homeseer is a gas-powered jackhammer.

The only thing I miss from Vera is the Authomation App, but I just bought a seat of HSTouch, and will be able to make my own UI (once I get more time )

I'm using the Homeseer stick, but didn't have to pay that crazy shipping. That's outrageous!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 31st, 2018, 03:27 PM
pricey1985@hotmail.com pricey1985@hotmail.com is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Hi Nick,

Love that analogy, can't wait to set it up.

Is there a similar thing to 'geofencing', not that I could ever get that working on Vera.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fgs-212, fgs-213, fgs-222

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new fibaro devices renevk HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 5 April 19th, 2016 02:33 PM
Fibaro devices finally show up in Energy! WfromL HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 0 June 1st, 2015 03:43 AM
HS3 & FIBARO devices cnbesse HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 5 March 6th, 2015 03:49 PM
BEWARE of Fibaro Devices sooty HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 13 March 5th, 2014 04:13 AM
No scene support for Fibaro devices? Moskus HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 1 September 13th, 2012 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC