www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Help

HomeSeer Help Help, How-to's and Documentation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 16th, 2015, 09:10 PM
Groot Groot is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 24
Controlling blinds

Hi,

I have some screens/blinds on my bedroom windows.
Offcourse the motors are not Somfy(that would have been to easy...)

Have figured out that the motors I have come from NICE and are NICE Era Fit M.
Have sent som e-mail to check how I can control them buy using HS.

Have only received one reply, with the following:
Quote:
Your motor is just radio motor, you can manage by our remote or by TTX4.
In your case I suggest to use the TTX4. In attached the manual.
Here is the manual: http://manuals.easygates.co.uk/wp-co...2/TTX4-TAG.pdf

Does anyone know if this is a easy task?
Have tried to search the forum, but searching for NICE ain't working so good
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 17th, 2015, 12:32 AM
lveatch lveatch is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA - Illinois
Posts: 146
It appears that you would have 4 push buttons, 1 each connected to pins 1-4 with common on pin 5. Power on pins 6 (hot) and 7 (neutral). Each of the 4 push buttons would tell this unit to transmit control signals (on 433.92 MHz) to a device - a window blind in your case .

This is interestingly scary caution in the manual!! Caution: – As the pushbuttons are subject to hazardous voltage levels, they must be adequately insulated and protected.

You would need to replace each push button with an appropriately rated relay which you would then control via your HS system; which is the tricky part as you are dealing with "hazardous voltage levels".

There are many ways to do this but the options depend on which interfaces you are using with HS. An Arduino type solution to control the relay would be the most generic.

Edit: An ADIO-100 may work to control the relays. I have not used this product so please research further.
http://store.homeseer.com/store/Home...ace-P1091.aspx


Len
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 17th, 2015, 01:15 AM
Groot Groot is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 24
Thanks for your reply!

I don't have push buttons installed.
All three blinds are controlled by a remote control with 6 channels.

The distance between the blinds are so big that I would have to get a TTX4 for every blind/motor.
Wich again means 3 more boxes on the outside, beside the blinds. And that reduced the WAF considerably! :P

Had a small hope that I could control the blinds with a controller connected to the PC and HS3, but not according to the reply I got from NICE.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 19th, 2015, 07:33 PM
matt246 matt246 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groot View Post
Hi,

I have some screens/blinds on my bedroom windows.
Offcourse the motors are not Somfy(that would have been to easy...)

Have figured out that the motors I have come from NICE and are NICE Era Fit M.
Have sent som e-mail to check how I can control them buy using HS.

Have only received one reply, with the following:


Here is the manual: http://manuals.easygates.co.uk/wp-co...2/TTX4-TAG.pdf

Does anyone know if this is a easy task?
Have tried to search the forum, but searching for NICE ain't working so good
If you wanted to know an alternative that supports Zigbee and ZWave check out the axis gear its on indiegogo but is supposed to come out some time next year and looks like its quite easy to install on existing blinds. I didnt back the project as I was in no rush to get them at the current time.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/a...-window-shades
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 19th, 2015, 08:19 PM
Groot Groot is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt246 View Post
If you wanted to know an alternative that supports Zigbee and ZWave check out the axis gear its on indiegogo but is supposed to come out some time next year and looks like its quite easy to install on existing blinds. I didnt back the project as I was in no rush to get them at the current time.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/a...-window-shades
I have seen that one, but I have motorized screens on the outside.
So that is not an alternative.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling 2" Wood Blinds ORNVM HomeSeer General Discussion Area 16 December 21st, 2014 08:49 PM
Help for my Blinds khriss75 HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 0 January 10th, 2014 02:50 PM
Blinds with controllers????? smith.wesj HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 4 December 21st, 2013 12:09 AM
Somfy Blinds GreenAcres General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 5 December 1st, 2006 12:25 PM
Automatic Blinds humphreysr HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 March 30th, 2006 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC