HS out of sync when PC improperly shuts down

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HS out of sync when PC improperly shuts down

I have a day/night device that triggers sunrise/sunset events. Everytime my PC crashes or if it was improperly shut down, the day/night device goes out of sync. I'd have to trigger the device back and forth and things works again.

Similarly, there's a garage/gate status device that controls the gate and garage. It would sometime get out of sync if the above happens.

Is there a way to make sure that all the devices are in sync all the time?

I'm a newb, but I saw that you can update the startup.vb script to run events when HomeSeer starts. Like initialization commands. Maybe reset that device off/on or on/off at each start.

Comment

Originally posted by dannieboiz View Post
      It will depend on the nature of the device.

Day/night is fairly easy. An event can check the current time against sunrise and sunset and update the device.

A gate or a garage door may be more difficult. Do they have a sensor of any kind or do you assume that every time they are activated the state switches between open and closed?
      Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
      HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.548, NUC i3

HW: Stargate | NX8e | CAV6.6 | Squeezebox | PCS | WGL 800RF | RFXCOM | Vantage Pro | Green-Eye | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call | Ecobee3 | EtherRain | Ubiquiti

Comment

Originally posted by Uncle Michael View Post
        It will depend on the nature of the device.

Day/night is fairly easy. An event can check the current time against sunrise and sunset and update the device.

A gate or a garage door may be more difficult. Do they have a sensor of any kind or do you assume that every time they are activated the state switches between open and closed?
        Can you please elaborate on the day/night resolution?