www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Analog & Digital IO Device Plug-ins > Analog & Digital IO Discussion > RaspberryIO Plug-In (3P)

RaspberryIO Plug-In (3P) Plug-In for the Raspberry Pi hardware to support digital IO, by Spud.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 1st, 2018, 12:25 PM
dzee's Avatar
dzee dzee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California, USA
Posts: 173
Remote RaspberryIO Connects, But No Remote Plugin on Manager

I have followed the steps in configuring remote RaspberryIO between a RPi 3 and a Windows HS3 system using RaspberryIO ver 3.0.0.12. The plugin on RPi shows connection to the HS3 system and the INFO lines. The Windows HS3 system shows the plugin connected, and if I disconnect on the RPi, I see it disconnect on HS3, then reconnect when I run it on the RPi again. I rebooted the RPi a few times and ran apt-get update/upgrade once more for good measure then rebooted again.

I'm NOT seeing the Remote Plugin on the Manage Plug-Ins screen, and under Plug-ins | RaspberryIO, I see Config, User Guide, and Forum, but no instance-specific option. Instance name is set in the RPi config file per your instructions.

I've set Log Level to debug on the RaspberryIO Plug-in on HS3, and see the plugin RaspberryIO has connected and I see "IP:<shows correct RPi IP>:53874", and the same INFO lines I see in the console of the RPi. I also see a log entry when I start the RaspberryIO plug-in on the Windows system that says "ERROR System is not a Raspberry Pi" before all the non-error connection log entries for the RPi, but I presume that is just saying you can't run RaspberryIO plugin natively on the Windows PC since it's not the expected platform/architecture.

My systems have all the outward signs of the two talking to each other, except for the Remote Plug-in is missing from the Manage Plug-ins, and there is no instance-specific configuration screen under the Plugin config menu.

I installed the RPi Debian from scratch yesterday, and all apt-get updates/upgrades are applied. The platform is a RasPi 3 Model B, Debian 9.4, and Mono 4.6.2 (with all mono parts you describe in your upgrade to 4.x post). On both the RPi and Windows 10 1709 with HS3 3.0.0.368, I've got RaspberryIO plug-in ver 3.0.0.12.

Does this sound like a familiar issue? What am I doing wrong?
__________________
HS3 since 4/2015, Windows 10 x64, BLLAN, BLOccupied, BLShutdown, BLUPS, BLVolume, CADDX, EasyTrigger, Insteon (Sanders), PLLocation, Random, RCS Serial, UltraCID3, WeatherXML, Amazon Echo Skill, Blue Iris

Last edited by dzee; April 1st, 2018 at 12:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 1st, 2018, 12:49 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,123
You mustn't start the RaspberryIO plugin on your Windows system

Start the remote instance on your RPi, then post what you get in the HS3 logs and in the linux console of your RPi.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 1st, 2018, 03:05 PM
dzee's Avatar
dzee dzee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California, USA
Posts: 173
Found the problem

I just found the problem. It was me not checking my run.sh file carefully enough.

After looking at it a few times, I realized I had accidentally put a duplicate "=" on the instance name parameter, so the line read instance==<instance-name>. Effectively, it was not getting an instance name.

I now see the Remote Plug-ins with the instance name and correct IP, and ONLY the "config-<instance name>" on the RaspberryIO plugins menu.

Thanks also for the tip about NOT starting the RaspberryIO plugin on the HS3 host. I didn't realize it would run with only the RPi active.

I'm off to test this afternoon.

Thanks for the fast feedback, Spud.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 11th, 2018, 07:00 PM
dzee's Avatar
dzee dzee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California, USA
Posts: 173
Raspi-IO is now installed in garage location and it's way more solid than the Insteon garage door sensor/opener modules. Funny, those never failed to open/close the garage doors, just not reliable for the dry contact status. I'm going to make same RasPi a control for irrigation rain cutout, and also sense refrigerator power outage in garage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 12th, 2018, 03:14 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzee View Post
Raspi-IO is now installed in garage location and it's way more solid than the Insteon garage door sensor/opener modules. Funny, those never failed to open/close the garage doors, just not reliable for the dry contact status. I'm going to make same RasPi a control for irrigation rain cutout, and also sense refrigerator power outage in garage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
thanks for the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 12th, 2018, 05:53 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
You mustn't start the RaspberryIO plugin on your Windows system

Start the remote instance on your RPi, then post what you get in the HS3 logs and in the linux console of your RPi.
If you're not using any GPIOs on the RPi that's running HS3 can you leave the plugin off as well?

I'd still like to use some I/O boards on the RPi that communicate using I2C. This allows for more I/O ports, RGB LEDs, small 2x16 or 4x20 character displays and A2D converters so you can read sensors. It would be nice to have a way to access these as well. In most cases these have Python APIs front ending them so no direct GPIO access is needed, just a way to send & receive to them from HS.
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Ret mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (GP).

HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard 3.0.0.435
Linux version: hs3 4.14.34-v7+ #1110 SMP Mon Apr 16 15:18:51 BST 2018 armv7l GNU/Linux
Mono version: 5.12.0.226
Z-NET V2 - Version 1.0.23
IP Address: 10.0.2.43
Number of Devices: 257
Number of Events: 320
Available Threads: 399
HSTouch Enabled: True

3.0.0.13: AirplaySpeak
3.0.0.48: EasyTrigger
3.0.1.109: PHLocation
0.0.0.42: Pushover 3P
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 14th, 2018, 09:03 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
If you're not using any GPIOs on the RPi that's running HS3 can you leave the plugin off as well?
yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
I'd still like to use some I/O boards on the RPi that communicate using I2C. This allows for more I/O ports, RGB LEDs, small 2x16 or 4x20 character displays and A2D converters so you can read sensors. It would be nice to have a way to access these as well. In most cases these have Python APIs front ending them so no direct GPIO access is needed, just a way to send & receive to them from HS.
well, there is a lot of different I/O boards for RPi, integrating them in the plugin would mean to add some different code for each one, not ideal...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 14th, 2018, 05:14 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
well, there is a lot of different I/O boards for RPi, integrating them in the plugin would mean to add some different code for each one, not ideal...
I know and I've been think about that.

There is no way you would want to do the actual I2C or other protocols but let the existing drivers written by the supplier do it most of these are written in either shell script or python.My idea would be a general interface protocol for doing strings reads/writes, integer reads/writes and bit reads/writes. So all you have to do is the basic transport then let the user write the final shell script that interfaces between you and the device driver

All shell scripts would follow a fixed set of rules and be named in a consistent way similar the way plugins are named. They would also return data in a consistent manner. So once the protocol is written the rest is up to the script to get and receive that data from the hardware.

Bit data would look exactly as it does now, integer data, such as to and from an A2D or D2A would be much like a dimmer. And string data would be kinda like sending PushOver or Mail messages.

It would be good to write a couple of interface scripts for Adafruit and Pimoroni must useful devices. I'd be willing to write the script for Pimoroni Automation pHAT and the Adafruit i2c / SPI character LCD backpack which can control the 16x2 and 20x4 displays.

Actually this wouldn't have to be just for the Pie, it could be a way to interface lots of things between HS3 and Unix like system that supports mono on any platform.

This needs some more fleshing out but I don't think there isn't much too it since it's the user supplied script that is responsible to actually get the data to the device. I'd be more than happy to be a sounding board working on the basic protocol if you thing this would be useful.

Just my musing on the subject.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote RaspberryIO not working alexbk66 RaspberryIO Plug-In (3P) 16 July 14th, 2017 08:48 PM
HSTouch connects Remote but not locally Infinite HS3Touch General Discusion 0 August 31st, 2016 09:12 AM
Training Data Manager on Remote PC ShimmerNZ Face Recognition Plug-In (3P) 1 May 25th, 2015 11:34 PM
Using Ademco remote (5834-4) as Kwikset door remote LeoS Vista Alarm Plug-in (3P) 2 July 19th, 2013 04:23 PM
Infrared Remote Manager Software bernieb General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 8 September 26th, 2002 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC