www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches

HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches Forum for HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 5th, 2016, 03:07 PM
jonjonbear jonjonbear is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bastrop, Texas
Posts: 286
Correct Trigger for Double-Tap / Triple-Tap Operations

Hello all,
I had three of the old Insteon eight button wall switches that finally bit the dust so I replaced them with three of these. With having the different tap functions I figured I could use them for my most needed event triggers. I installed them and programmed them and they worked great. Triple tap shuts lights off at night and sets the burglar alarm, etc. What I have discovered, the multi tap function won't work if the local load on the switch is completely off. I tried it again last night. "tap tap tap" nothing. Ramped up the light enough to light one LED. "tap tap tap" fired the event. Is this the way they are supposed to work? I sure hope not, because two of them are on lights that are not used regularly and I hate to have to turn them on to use the tap commands. Looks like they all have software 5.14. Anyone else run up against this?

Thanks,

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 5th, 2016, 03:36 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,746
No, they definitely work when off for me. I have one in my hallway that I use to turn off all the lights on the main floor as I go up to bed. The local load for that is the hall light and we almost never have that on.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 5th, 2016, 03:40 PM
jonjonbear jonjonbear is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bastrop, Texas
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
No, they definitely work when off for me. I have one in my hallway that I use to turn off all the lights on the main floor as I go up to bed. The local load for that is the hall light and we almost never have that on.
Interesting. I wonder why I'm having this issue..Thanks for the fast response. Surely I don't have defective ones.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 5th, 2016, 04:28 PM
waynehead99 waynehead99 is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjonbear View Post
Hello all,
I had three of the old Insteon eight button wall switches that finally bit the dust so I replaced them with three of these. With having the different tap functions I figured I could use them for my most needed event triggers. I installed them and programmed them and they worked great. Triple tap shuts lights off at night and sets the burglar alarm, etc. What I have discovered, the multi tap function won't work if the local load on the switch is completely off. I tried it again last night. "tap tap tap" nothing. Ramped up the light enough to light one LED. "tap tap tap" fired the event. Is this the way they are supposed to work? I sure hope not, because two of them are on lights that are not used regularly and I hate to have to turn them on to use the tap commands. Looks like they all have software 5.14. Anyone else run up against this?

Thanks,

John
I had this same problem initially and it was because I setup the event wrong. You probably have the event set to "changes and becomes" when looking at the scene controller and pushing the button 3 times. Change that to "is set to" and that will fix your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 5th, 2016, 06:58 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehead99 View Post
I had this same problem initially and it was because I setup the event wrong. You probably have the event set to "changes and becomes" when looking at the scene controller and pushing the button 3 times. Change that to "is set to" and that will fix your problem.
+1 on this answer. It is what bites many users.

Name:  Capture1.png
Views: 802
Size:  33.6 KB

Name:  Capture2.PNG
Views: 792
Size:  33.7 KB
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 5th, 2016, 07:27 PM
Kerat Kerat is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 749
I had the same problem when I first got my Homeseer dimmers. It was the event configuration. Waynehead99 and rprade hit the nail on he head to fix your event.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 6th, 2016, 01:09 PM
jonjonbear jonjonbear is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bastrop, Texas
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehead99 View Post
I had this same problem initially and it was because I setup the event wrong. You probably have the event set to "changes and becomes" when looking at the scene controller and pushing the button 3 times. Change that to "is set to" and that will fix your problem.
Wayne, you saved the day! Thanks! That definitely fixed it. Someone should make this a sticky.

Thanks again,

John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 7th, 2016, 02:05 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjonbear View Post
Wayne, you saved the day! Thanks! That definitely fixed it. Someone should make this a sticky.

Thanks again,

John
Done. Renamed the thread too.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switch wiring WD100+ and WA100+ overburn HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches 5 January 28th, 2017 02:51 PM
HS-WD100+ Ranked as Best Z-Wave In-wall Dimmer by WireCutter! macromark HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches 2 October 8th, 2016 03:00 PM
X10 Wall switch and controller question langenet Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 5 October 15th, 2009 01:25 PM
Wall Switch Spectrum HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 1 November 28th, 2007 08:08 PM
Which x10 wall switch to get? htsource General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 2 October 20th, 2004 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC