www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Media Plug-ins > Media Discussion > iTunes DAAP (3P)

iTunes DAAP (3P) iTunes third party plugin for HS3 that supports iTunes control using the DAAP protocol.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 26th, 2017, 02:29 PM
jimbtv jimbtv is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: VT
Posts: 22
Launching iTunes

I have been testing this plug-in using HSTouch and it has been working quite well. I have a question.

If iTunes is not currently running as an application the HSTouch integration doesn't seem to operate. I manually have to start iTunes and and then cycle the iTunes DAAP plug-in.

I can add a button to HSTouch that will start iTunes and I suppose I can put the iTunes .exe in the Startup folder, but I was hoping that the iTunes dependency might be part of the plug-in's domain.

Am I missing something or do I have to have iTunes running as an application before iTunes DAAP will operate correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 26th, 2017, 03:06 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,156
The plugin cannot do anything (play music, browse library, etc...) if iTunes is not running, so yes you need to have iTunes running. That being said the plugin is supposed to detect when iTunes starts and closes and connect/disconnect accordingly, so you should not have to enable/disable the plugin after starting iTunes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 17th, 2017, 10:56 PM
logbuilder logbuilder is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 684
I have been running the PI for a month or so. It is running in an environment that has a metered internet connection. So... when I am not around, I turn off iTunes so that there is no chance it will use any data. What I have found is that when I turn it back on cause I want to listen to some music, I have to cycle the iTunes PI before my HSTouch app will play anything.

I can live with it but I just haven't seen it recover when I start iTunes as you stated it should.

PI is 3.0.0.27. I see there is a version 28 avail so maybe that functionality is in there and not in 27.

My biggest problem is that I get a popping sound every few minutes, sometimes more frequently. It sounds like a bubble popping. I tried to find a solution but have not been successful. It is annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 25th, 2017, 08:28 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by logbuilder View Post
I have been running the PI for a month or so. It is running in an environment that has a metered internet connection. So... when I am not around, I turn off iTunes so that there is no chance it will use any data. What I have found is that when I turn it back on cause I want to listen to some music, I have to cycle the iTunes PI before my HSTouch app will play anything.

I can live with it but I just haven't seen it recover when I start iTunes as you stated it should.

PI is 3.0.0.27. I see there is a version 28 avail so maybe that functionality is in there and not in 27.

My biggest problem is that I get a popping sound every few minutes, sometimes more frequently. It sounds like a bubble popping. I tried to find a solution but have not been successful. It is annoying.
I have fixed some disconnection/reconnection issues in version 3.0.0,29 available here.
Now the plugin should disconnect properly from iTunes when it's being closed, and reconnect when it's being discovered again.

Regarding the popping sound, I have no idea what it could be. The plug-in never tries to play anything by itself. Is it a windows sound or something?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes update to 12.4.1.6 BLIT no longer recognizes iTunes as installed. CeeTee BLiTunes (3P) 1 June 12th, 2016 03:15 PM
iTunes stopped working after Apple iTunes 11 Update mlehrer Apple iTunes 8 August 26th, 2013 06:58 PM
Error initializing iTunes, either iTunes is not insta newstuart Apple iTunes 3 April 30th, 2012 04:36 PM
Itunes has lost my itunes library silkybaracuda Apple iTunes 0 January 7th, 2011 06:37 PM
Launching an App on another client? Tymon HSTouch™ 4 May 11th, 2010 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC