www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches

HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches Forum for HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old May 5th, 2018, 05:46 AM
marcusone marcusone is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Keep us updated on your testing. I've just bought a bunch of the WD200+'s and having similar issues and not happy about it

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilbert View Post
Any update on the new firmware? Should I see something on the firmware download page when it is released?

I put a couple WD200's in to test and experienced similar trouble with the lowest dim not being low enough, specifically on the Philips LEDs. My Costco Feit flickered too much at any setting. These are A19 bulbs I bought a little over a year ago.

Tomorrow I am going to put in a GE/Jasco 14294 and Leviton DZ6HD-1BZ dimmer in 2 other rooms to compare the performance with WD200s. I really like the status LED and central scene features of the WD200, but need to prioritize the dimming performance. I am about to swap all switches in the house once I finish testing. I'm anxiously awaiting the release of the new HomeSeer fan controller so I can compare that to the GE as well.

I would prefer to go HS everywhere if possible. Partly because firmware updates are even a possibility. I don't expect GE or Leviton to bother, but maybe I'm wrong about that.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 5th, 2018, 08:01 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,739
We have a test version and it works, needs one change, should have it available soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusone View Post
Keep us updated on your testing. I've just bought a bunch of the WD200+'s and having similar issues and not happy about it
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 8th, 2018, 12:00 PM
dilbert dilbert is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 2
Comparing the Jasco and WD200, the Jasco does seem to have better performance. I was able to use my Costco Feit A19 bulbs and while there was a slight flicker, it was not nearly as bad as on the WD200. The change in flicker surprised me.

After installing my first WD200 I replaced the Feit bulbs with Philips Warm Glow. They had no flicker issues and could dim all the way to 1%. When the Philips bulbs are installed with the Jasco switch they do seem to go dimmer, but my fixtures are not identical and in different rooms.

I was disappointed with the Leviton switch. I like the separate paddle for dimming as it is more intuitive, but I dislike the speed at how quickly the switch dims up/down. The WD200 and Jasco switches take slower steps so it is easier to dial in the brightness you want. I am also disappointed in the build quality of the Leviton for the price. Both the HomeSeer and Jasco switches allow the insertion of wires through the back which makes installation quick and easy. The final annoyance with Leviton is that HomeSeer does not build the status graphics configuration automatically so I needed to manually replicate each dim percentage defined on the WD/Jasco.

I needed black faceplates where I put the Leviton and am using incandescents since it is a home theater and we want very low dimming capability. I could have used Jasco here since they also offer a black face plate. I have 2 more switches to replace in the theater room and have not decided which way I'll go. A white switch would really stand out on a black wall so unfortunately the WD200 is out.

Hopefully the upcoming firmware will enhance the dimming performance. Between these 3 I for sure prefer the HomeSeer design. Jasco is a great performer, but I dislike greatly that there are no status LEDs to indicate dimming level. Without LEDs the switches are not at all intuitive to those that are not already aware they are dimmers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusone View Post
Keep us updated on your testing. I've just bought a bunch of the WD200+'s and having similar issues and not happy about it
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 8th, 2018, 12:29 PM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
The parameter simply changes the voltage at the lower range so the bulbs will dim to a lower level. This may cause some bulbs to flicker in which case you can use the parameter to use an alternate voltage range.
In testing, which bulbs performed the best? I've been holding off buying dimmers, awaiting this fix.... if the legwork has already been done, I'd prefer to buy the right bulbs, instead of doing a bunch of R&D....
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station

Enabled Plug-Ins:
2.0.57.0: BLBackup | 3.0.16.0: BLLock | 2.0.24.0: BLUPS | 1.2.5.0: Device History | 3.0.3.10: MeiHarmony Hub | 3.0.0.48 Easy Trigger | 3.0.1.90: PHLocation | 3.0.6681.34300: UltraCID3 | 3.0.6644.26753: UltraLog3 | 3.0.6554.33094: UltraMon3 | 3.0.0.87: weatherXML | 3.0.1.210: Z-Wave | 3.0.51: HS Touch Designer | 3.0.0.40 Z-Seer+
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 8th, 2018, 06:14 PM
dmiller dmiller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
I have one WD200 for testing. I use a lot of heavily dimmed LEDs.

Soraa makes a true PAR30. Hyperikon makes my favorite budget PAR-like bulbs. I have no problem getting these bulbs dim on both 4th and 5th gen Nortek dimmers (GoControl, Linear, Evolve).

I do like the speciality Philips bulbs too, especially in antique fixtures. I use the warm glow type in an antique ceiling fixture with exposed bulbs and it looks great.


I will test both of these in the next few days with the WD200. I hope that more expensive bulbs made for commercial lighting design, like Soraa and Philips, are more resistant to flicker at low levels.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:27 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
We have a test version and it works, needs one change, should have it available soon.
@rjh - how soon? :-)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 08:39 AM
rsonedecker rsonedecker is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OH
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomgru View Post
@rjh - how soon? :-)
I ditto the "how soon"?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 10:21 AM
AutomatedJim AutomatedJim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonedecker View Post
I ditto the "how soon"?

+2
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 23rd, 2018, 01:30 PM
Irishman Irishman is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Harrison Idaho
Posts: 6
On March 26, 2018, I once again brought up this issue with Matt Cave, support@homeseer.com and here was his reply: "We do not have any of those bulbs here in the office, and we currently do not have any plans for adjusting the firmware in our dimmers. I understand the reluctance to replace all your bulbs, and apologize that our hardware doesn't mesh well with them."

I then made the decision to spend over $1,500 on Lutron wireless Caseta dimmers, switches, hubs along with a HomeSeer plug-in which work well. However Lutron technology does not support mesh technology and Lutron appears to offer little assistance with the excellent Homeseer plugin developed by Donmor.

If I had been given any hope that Homeseer was working on a solution, I would have waited for as long as it took. Now it too late!

That said; I think HomeSeer Automation is by far, light years ahead of their nearest competition and we need to make sure we continue to support this outstanding company. If this issue is eventually resolved I'll be back buying HomeSeer products in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old May 24th, 2018, 08:41 AM
dmiller dmiller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishman View Post
.............

I then made the decision to spend over $1,500 on Lutron wireless Caseta dimmers, .......
There is no reason to use Caseta if you have neutral wires to support z-wave dimmers. The most advanced z-wave dimmer/"3way" currently available are the 5th generation goControl models. Unfortunately Homeseer has a disincentive to support the central scenes feature in these devices.

Jasco has a smaller feature set compared to goControl. Both Jasco and goControl are nicer mechanically compared to WS200. But all other features being equal I would trade nicer mechanical functioning for the WS200 LED feedback.

If the WD200 can dim lower than the current firmware allows and adds direct association it will be the superior device. But trading off those core features for blinky lights is a disappointing compromise.

This is a stressful situation when deciding on dimmers and 3-ways for a whole house. Anyone know if dimmers will need to support z-wave security 2 to pass encrypted commands (as a routing slave) to locks?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old May 24th, 2018, 09:05 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,739
We have added the ability to dim lower and have also added the ability to directly associate the dimmer and switch with other dimmers and switches. This allows you to use the zwave dimmers and switches as companions in 3 way circuits so can have LEDs at all locations.

We also added the ability to disable the multi tap feature so the switch can respond faster.

We are testing now and should have an update soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmiller View Post
There is no reason to use Caseta if you have neutral wires to support z-wave dimmers. The most advanced z-wave dimmer/"3way" currently available are the 5th generation goControl models. Unfortunately Homeseer has a disincentive to support the central scenes feature in these devices.

Jasco has a smaller feature set compared to goControl. Both Jasco and goControl are nicer mechanically compared to WS200. But all other features being equal I would trade nicer mechanical functioning for the WS200 LED feedback.

If the WD200 can dim lower than the current firmware allows and adds direct association it will be the superior device. But trading off those core features for blinky lights is a disappointing compromise.

This is a stressful situation when deciding on dimmers and 3-ways for a whole house. Anyone know if dimmers will need to support z-wave security 2 to pass encrypted commands (as a routing slave) to locks?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old June 1st, 2018, 07:42 AM
marcusone marcusone is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
We have added the ability to dim lower and have also added the ability to directly associate the dimmer and switch with other dimmers and switches. This allows you to use the zwave dimmers and switches as companions in 3 way circuits so can have LEDs at all locations.

We also added the ability to disable the multi tap feature so the switch can respond faster.

We are testing now and should have an update soon.
I'm seeing conflicting reports on "soon" and "no plans"... Any update on a relaese date? Beta perhaps?
Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old June 1st, 2018, 07:58 AM
rsonedecker rsonedecker is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OH
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
We have added the ability to dim lower and have also added the ability to directly associate the dimmer and switch with other dimmers and switches. This allows you to use the zwave dimmers and switches as companions in 3 way circuits so can have LEDs at all locations.

We also added the ability to disable the multi tap feature so the switch can respond faster.

We are testing now and should have an update soon.
What will the wiring scheme look like for using the dimmers as companions - will the dimmer switch just use the neutral and traveler, and the load and line isn't used at all?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old June 1st, 2018, 08:58 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,739
The code is working but right now when you update you lose the node so you have to add it back to the network. We are working on a fix for that and then will post it. Should be real soon, I will try to get a date.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusone View Post
I'm seeing conflicting reports on "soon" and "no plans"... Any update on a relaese date? Beta perhaps?
Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old June 1st, 2018, 08:59 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,739
Don't use the traveler, the companion will just need neutral and line for power. It uses Z-Wave to communicate with the master.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonedecker View Post
What will the wiring scheme look like for using the dimmers as companions - will the dimmer switch just use the neutral and traveler, and the load and line isn't used at all?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old June 1st, 2018, 09:49 AM
rsonedecker rsonedecker is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OH
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Don't use the traveler, the companion will just need neutral and line for power. It uses Z-Wave to communicate with the master.
Hmm, but in most modern 3 (or 4 or 5) way wiring, you don't have a line (hot). (EDIT: referring to typical Z-wave device wiring where the traveler is re-purposed not to supply power)

Last edited by rsonedecker; June 1st, 2018 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old June 1st, 2018, 10:12 AM
waynehead99 waynehead99 is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonedecker View Post
Hmm, but in most modern 3 (or 4 or 5) way wiring, you don't have a line (hot).
I don't find this to be true. My house is just barely 10 years old, and I have neutral and hots in all boxes, and I think the contractor went buckwild with 3/4 ways in my house (I probably have over a dozen circuits like this).

Cooper switches work this way too if I remember correctly, where they don't need a traveler.

Rich,
Question on this as well since I would guess that different houses will have different wiring. Would the option be there to use the traveler if avail? I like the idea of having a wireless option, but would prefer wire whenever its available.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old June 1st, 2018, 10:35 AM
rsonedecker rsonedecker is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OH
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehead99 View Post
I don't find this to be true. My house is just barely 10 years old, and I have neutral and hots in all boxes, and I think the contractor went buckwild with 3/4 ways in my house (I probably have over a dozen circuits like this).

Cooper switches work this way too if I remember correctly, where they don't need a traveler.

Rich,
Question on this as well since I would guess that different houses will have different wiring. Would the option be there to use the traveler if avail? I like the idea of having a wireless option, but would prefer wire whenever its available.
Okay, yeah to clarify, you'd have to re-purpose the traveler to deliver the constant hot. When you install the typical z-wave companions, you re-purpose the traveler to be a communications link between the master and the child. So I'd have to re-connect it to hot to deliver hot through the traveler, but then you would not be able to have the typical communications link like you are asking for.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old June 1st, 2018, 10:40 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 434
Personally I wish that HS would add the ability to load our own custom dimming table thus overwriting the default one. It would only be 100 bytes long, actually 99 but who's counting, and it would allow us to tailor the dimming to the lights. These tables for different manufacture lights could be shared by user via the HS web sight.

We've done this for years on DMX lighting controller and it really makes a difference when using LEDs. Those system used 12 bit tables when being fed with 8 bit dimming data but the idea is the same.

If done right you can get a nice linear lighting curve rather than the logarithmic curve we currently have. HS could be a leader in this area.

Lastly it still would be good to have separate value for use when a light is change from OFF to a low dim setting since most LED will not start well when left at the lowest setting. The sequence would be OFF to special setting for two cycles then to the dim setting, i.e., OFF to 30% to 5%. This sends enough power to the LED so it's electronics can fire up quickly.

I've kinda done this using Z-Wave commands but it's way to slow however it does prove the point about LED not starting if they are just returned to their last setting after being off.
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Ret mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (GP).

HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard 3.0.0.435
Linux version: hs3 4.14.34-v7+ #1110 SMP Mon Apr 16 15:18:51 BST 2018 armv7l GNU/Linux
Mono version: 5.12.0.226
Z-NET V2 - Version 1.0.23
Number of Devices: 257
Number of Events: 320
Available Threads: 399
HSTouch Enabled: True

3.0.0.13: AirplaySpeak
3.0.0.48: EasyTrigger
3.0.1.109: PHLocation
0.0.0.42: Pushover 3P
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old June 1st, 2018, 10:52 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,739
Yes, this is a way to get a line or a neutral to the companion location, I have done this also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonedecker View Post
Okay, yeah to clarify, you'd have to re-purpose the traveler to deliver the constant hot. When you install the typical z-wave companions, you re-purpose the traveler to be a communications link between the master and the child. So I'd have to re-connect it to hot to deliver hot through the traveler, but then you would not be able to have the typical communications link like you are asking for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dimmer, feit, hs-ws100+, led, lutron

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any BR30 smart bulbs? jlrichar Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 4 December 15th, 2014 05:35 PM
ha20c and Feit LED Dimmable bulb TeleFragger HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 February 28th, 2013 08:45 AM
Security camera set from Costco htsource General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 1 April 29th, 2005 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC