www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer IFTTT Channel Integration

HomeSeer IFTTT Channel Integration General Discussion of HomeSeer's IFTTT Channel

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 23rd, 2018, 02:32 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
IFTTT only support on and off triggers?

I noticed that the only an on-and-off option is there a way for sensors to work as well?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 23rd, 2018, 05:37 PM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
You can use a virtual HS3 device to trigger IFTTT. For example, if you want IFTTT to trigger a fan to turn on at 77 degrees, create an on/off virtual HS3 device named “Temp is 77”. Then create an HS3 event which turns on the “Temp is 77” device when the temperature reaches 77. Then create an IFTTT recipe; IF “Temp is 77” is ON then turn on Fan switch.

I use this approach to control my attic fan.

Right now, I’m having trouble creating IFTTT recipes with HS3. Let me know if you are able to create a recipe.

Steve Q
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.368, Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 - Home, Number of Devices: 373, Number of Events: 666, Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.83.0: BLRF, 2.0.10.0: BLUSBUIRT, 3.0.0.75: HSTouch Server, 3.0.0.58: mcsXap, 3.0.0.11: NetCAM, 3.0.0.36: X10, 3.0.1.25: Z-Wave,Alexa,HomeKit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 23rd, 2018, 05:55 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Q View Post
You can use a virtual HS3 device to trigger IFTTT. For example, if you want IFTTT to trigger a fan to turn on at 77 degrees, create an on/off virtual HS3 device named “Temp is 77”. Then create an HS3 event which turns on the “Temp is 77” device when the temperature reaches 77. Then create an IFTTT recipe; IF “Temp is 77” is ON then turn on Fan switch.

I use this approach to control my attic fan.

Right now, I’m having trouble creating IFTTT recipes with HS3. Let me know if you are able to create a recipe.

Steve Q
I was able to create a geofence recipe yesterday Thai 2 homeseer to open my garage door when I arrive home. I'm still on the road I'll let you know if it works when I get home today
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 23rd, 2018, 08:39 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
Came home and the garage opened with the recipe created yesterday. So far so good.

BTW: I just happened to be looking into attic fan the other day. How is yours working out?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 24th, 2018, 10:19 AM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
The attic fan works great. But I am now controlling it directly with HS3. When I created it about 2 years ago, IFTTT was not very reliable.

For the past few days, I am not able to create an IFTTT recipe that triggers from an HS3 device change. Could you check and see if you can create a recipe using “if an HS3 device turns ON”. None of my devices are showing up. Thanks.

Steve Q
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 24th, 2018, 01:49 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Q View Post
The attic fan works great. But I am now controlling it directly with HS3. When I created it about 2 years ago, IFTTT was not very reliable.

For the past few days, I am not able to create an IFTTT recipe that triggers from an HS3 device change. Could you check and see if you can create a recipe using “if an HS3 device turns ON”. None of my devices are showing up. Thanks.

Steve Q

On my Android phone devices are loading just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 24th, 2018, 03:23 PM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
Ok, thanks. It must be something about my account or iOS. It is very strange because I can easily create a recipe using “device turned OFF”. I have a ticket in for HS help desk.

Steve Q
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 24th, 2018, 03:24 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Q View Post
Ok, thanks. It must be something about my account or iOS. It is very strange because I can easily create a recipe using “device turned OFF”. I have a ticket in for HS help desk.

Steve Q
have you tested it in your browser?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 24th, 2018, 06:03 PM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
In Chrome IFTTT freezes on the ON trigger screen.

But works on the OFF trigger.

Steve Q
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 24th, 2018, 07:01 PM
dannieboiz dannieboiz is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 222
that is indeed weird, I tested just now and it loaded just fine. Noticed you're using an ipad... Mine was done on a WinPC.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:04 PM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
I tried with Chrome on my win10 desktop. Same problem; it’s not the browser.

I also upgraded HS3 to ver 368. Still not working.

Steve Q
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 2nd, 2018, 09:52 AM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,657
I fixed the problem. I discovered a device in HS3 that was not configured. It had no information at all. It was “unknown”. I have seen this before, I think it is simply a device that gets saved before any configuration info is added. When I deleted this device, IFTTT started working properly.

Steve Q
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 3rd, 2018, 06:43 PM
Skinnez's Avatar
Skinnez Skinnez is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Uk
Posts: 425
I used this a few years ago too, and found it lagged a fair bit. Turns out I need to use it now for some wifi devices. Have you guys got any idea why a lot of my devices don't display? I've got a tonne of virtual devices but they don't show, which makes this functionality poor for me. This is why I ditched it a few years ago. Any ideas?

Cheers

J
__________________
HS3 3.0.0.368 Windows 8.1 Pro VM on a Mac-Mini VirtualBox
HSTouch, iTunes DAAP, Kodi, MediaController, PHLocation, Pushover, RFXCOM, UltraNetCam3, BLRadar, BLShutdown, weatherXML, Random, Jon00 Network Monitor, JowiHue, Nest, UZB-1
700+ Devices, 400+ Events & lots of scripts.

Hyper-V 2012 virtual domain - 3 VM's
Server 2008 R2, Server 2012, Exchange 2013..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does HS natively support IFTTT and Alexa? dannieboiz HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 2 February 20th, 2018 09:01 PM
IFTTT what is it? smokeycoles HomeSeer General Discussion Area 8 July 1st, 2016 03:49 PM
Creating HomeSeer Triggers for IFTTT macromark HomeSeer IFTTT Channel Integration 30 April 24th, 2015 05:30 PM
IFTTT By IFTTT Ultrajones UltraMon HSPI 3 June 6th, 2014 08:35 AM
Why does the title device not support status triggers. zimmer62 SqueezeBox Plug-In (3P) 2 October 30th, 2010 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC