Connecting POE cameras to HS3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Connecting POE cameras to HS3

I'm new to connecting a CCTV setup to HS3. I began searching the forums here and elsewhere to see what was available. Like many, I don't think I'm terribly happy with a DVR/NVR "kit" from Costco or Wal-Mart.

I found this excellent site VueVille. On that page Daniel shows HS3 as the home automation controller. He's also using a QNAP TS-253A NAS and the QNAP Surveillance Station (4 IP camera licenses included) All the hardware details are on that page. At that point I was looking at Hikvision cameras. With some additional research I found his Best Outdoor IP Camera 2018 Recommendations and am now looking at some inexpensive Reolink fixed cameras for my initial venture into adding this to my system.

So, I think I'm set to go with a QNAP TS-253A, a pair of WD Red 4Tb NAS rated hard drives, a PoE switch (see VueVille's list of hardware) and a few inexpensive Reolink cameras to start. Any comments on this setup?

I am curious what plugin(s) that VueVille/Daniel might be using with HS3 to provide the MotionDetection virtual HS3 devices show at the page in the top link? What are the best plugin(s) to use in HS3 that would be compatible with the QNAP Surveillance Station?

Thanks
    Nathan
    HS 3.0.0.435 (PRO)
    Hardware: Napco GEM-P9600 | VenstarT1800 w/Insteon 2441V adapter | Insteon PLM
    Plugins HS3: Napco Gemini (mine) | Insteon Thermostat (mine) | Insteon Plug-in (mnsandler) | HSTouch Server (HST)
    Platform: Windows 10 Pro 64bit, core2 duo 2.0Ghz, 4GB memory
    http://www.kazteel.com/

I like Blue Iris. It has Geofence, and I have some wall mounted tablets integrated for interior away viewing.

Comment

Here continue to utilize Zoneminder (many years now).

You can do anything with the Open Source Zoneminder program.

Relating to motion detection have always utilized hard wired PIR's to my alarm panel.