www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 31st, 2017, 03:50 PM
gtrguy gtrguy is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 26
Variable Speed Trane/Lennox/Anything Plugin?

Are there any plugins that work with the variable speed hvac systems? Seems like our only real option is a two or 3 stage system with nest.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 12th, 2017, 12:06 PM
gtrguy gtrguy is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 26
Seems like there are a ton of people that want to control trane or lennox or anything variable speed but cant with the current state of plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 12th, 2017, 12:43 PM
Richel Richel is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrguy View Post
Seems like there are a ton of people that want to control trane or lennox or anything variable speed but cant with the current state of plugins.
As a work-around, I am using IFTTT to get HomeSeer to control my Trane (Nexia) systems. It is a bit cumbersome, but it works.

Elliott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 12th, 2017, 01:02 PM
vasrc's Avatar
vasrc vasrc is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Locust Dale, VA
Posts: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrguy View Post
Seems like there are a ton of people that want to control trane or lennox or anything variable speed but cant with the current state of plugins.
Most of the variable speed controls nowadays are controlled internally to ensure proper airflow, energy savings, etc. What did you want to do in particular that the current thermostats are unable to do?

Z
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 13th, 2017, 05:04 PM
gtrguy gtrguy is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 26
Trying to do? Integrate with homeseer so I can monitor and change settings.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 13th, 2017, 05:08 PM
gtrguy gtrguy is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richel View Post
As a work-around, I am using IFTTT to get HomeSeer to control my Trane (Nexia) systems. It is a bit cumbersome, but it works.

Elliott
what functionality do you have with it? Is it only a 1 way street (i.e. can set temp but cant get current temp?)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 13th, 2017, 07:02 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasrc View Post
Most of the variable speed controls nowadays are controlled internally to ensure proper airflow, energy savings, etc. What did you want to do in particular that the current thermostats are unable to do?

Z

To everyone asking.... THIS!

Why would you want to get yourself into a proprietary system when you don't need to? With the Trane Z-Wave thermostats I have you can control a ground source or air source heat pump! I put one on a Waterfurnace that has an inverter compressor not too long ago.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 13th, 2017, 07:36 PM
vasrc's Avatar
vasrc vasrc is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Locust Dale, VA
Posts: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrguy View Post
Trying to do? Integrate with homeseer so I can monitor and change settings.
Look at the XR524 (Homeseer) and XR624. They do both control and monitoring and work on Zwave. I doubt there's anything about your system they won't provide for you. They're a bit of a pain with DST and time keeping, but there's a simple workaround for that.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 13th, 2017, 08:49 PM
Richel Richel is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrguy View Post
what functionality do you have with it? Is it only a 1 way street (i.e. can set temp but cant get current temp?)
Yes, unfortunately, it is a one-way street. I do have Aeon Tech Energy Meters on the HVAC to determine when the HVAC is running and when it is idle. I use this information to control ceiling fans. Elliott
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox wifi iComfort davebanas Thermostat / HVAC Discussion 14 November 28th, 2016 02:36 PM
Lennox iComfort WIFI Thermostat tome10 IPThermostat 0 October 8th, 2016 01:03 AM
Plugin status variable pyspilf BLML2HS (3P) 4 November 3rd, 2015 06:54 AM
ETA for Zwave (Thermostat Trane) Plugin pdixon HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 12 August 5th, 2015 10:55 AM
INSTEON and Variable Speed Pool Pump swanie2000 Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 7 May 14th, 2015 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC