www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 26th, 2012, 02:32 PM
davebanas davebanas is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: yardley, pa
Posts: 8
Angry Lennox wifi iComfort

I was searching on the boards and looking for anyone who had experience with the LENNOX system and particularly the WIFI I-COMFORT thermostat.

I currently use the TRANE COMFORTLINK (z-wave) thermostat which is 2 stage heat/cool compatible. On Monday i am having a LENNOX system installed and the installer cant understand why i would prefer my standard trane thermostat (zwave) over the WIFI I-COMFORT one.

First, is anyone able to write a plugin to work with the I-Comfort????????

Second, if anyone has experience with this delema, am i nuts to want the z-wave thermostat over the I-Comfort thermostat with all the bells and whistles?

Dave
HS-PRO
79nodes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 26th, 2012, 04:26 PM
reidfo's Avatar
reidfo reidfo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,241
Any idea if they publish an API for it? I didn't see anything after a quick search of their website. If there's a publicly available API it's certainly possible. I would be willing to consider adding support to BeakerStat if I can get some developer info.
__________________
Gearhouse Club Member
HS Pro 3.0 | Linux Ubuntu 16.04 virtualized under Proxmox (KVM)
Hardware: Z-NET - W800 Serial - Digi PortServer TS/8 and TS/16 serial to Ethernet - Insteon PLM - RFXCOM - X10 Wireless
Plugins: HSTouch iOS and Android, RFXCOM, BLLock, BLDSC, BLRF, Insteon PLM (MNSandler), BeakerStat, Device History
Second home: Zee S2 with Z-Wave, CT100 Z-Wave Thermostat, Aeotec Z-Wave microswitches, HSM200 occupancy sensor, Ecolink Z-Wave door sensors, STI Driveway Monitor interfaced to Zee S2 GPIO pins.
Author of BeakerStat, the Radio Thermostat WiFi thermostat plugin for HS2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 27th, 2012, 11:58 AM
davebanas davebanas is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: yardley, pa
Posts: 8
I will try to look into that. I've already talked to their Customer Support who put me in touch with their Consumer Relations but CR would not put me in touch with their Tech Support and Product Engineers. They suggested i write a letter to them and they would forward it to their tech staff.... is there anything in particular i should ask for?

db
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 29th, 2012, 07:02 AM
reidfo's Avatar
reidfo reidfo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebanas View Post
I will try to look into that. I've already talked to their Customer Support who put me in touch with their Consumer Relations but CR would not put me in touch with their Tech Support and Product Engineers. They suggested i write a letter to them and they would forward it to their tech staff.... is there anything in particular i should ask for?

db
They don't sound too customer friendly. Ask them if there is any third party development permitted, and if they publish an API for the thermostat.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 29th, 2012, 03:42 PM
cadillackid's Avatar
cadillackid cadillackid is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus Oh USA
Posts: 900
Lennox has long created proprietary protocols for their equipment.. I dont know about this piece of kit but their zone control stuff was always closed-architecture.. you could TRY wiresharking the wi-fi to tsee if you can latch on to any non-secure protocol transactions and see what you may find that way.. I had no luck trying to get info on the harmony zone controller years ago.. and was a lennox dealer at the time..
-Christopher
__________________
PerfecTemp - the Most advanced HVAC system I've ever Built - and its in my House
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 19th, 2015, 04:45 PM
JonFo JonFo is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 57
Has anyone created a plug-in for this yet?

If not, then here are some pointers that might be helpful if some developers want a crack at making one:

http://community.smartthings.com/t/r...hermostat/9520

http://www.iwasdot.com/extending-a-l...rt-thermostat/

https://github.com/ut666/LennoxThermoPi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 27th, 2015, 05:55 PM
Jayhawk's Avatar
Jayhawk Jayhawk is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 100
+1... Also would like to control/display status for the iComfort...
__________________
Tom

HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.297
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Work Station
Number of Devices: 278
Number of Events: 72
Available Threads: 200

Enabled Plug-Ins
0.0.0.21: drhsIpPlugIn
3.0.0.75: HSTouch Server
3.0.6104.19146: UltraRachio3
3.0.0.2: UPB
3.0.1.87: Z-Wave
Jon00 Echo Skill Helper
Jon00 HS2 - HS3 Connector
Jon00 Wifi LED Lamp Controller (MiLight)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 14th, 2015, 03:41 PM
Andy Andy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 125
add another user, would like to see a plugin!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 2nd, 2015, 03:16 PM
DRD
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
+1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 1st, 2016, 10:15 AM
gerard927
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
+ another 1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 24th, 2016, 02:32 AM
sleonard sleonard is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 15
Another +1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 28th, 2016, 12:58 AM
csiwiec csiwiec is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
+ 1 here
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 15th, 2016, 02:22 AM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 401
+2
I bought a house last year with these Stats installed, and have only moved to Homeseer from smartthings a couple of months ago. Now I would like to integrate a Z-Wave Thermostat, but they're all ugly compared to the iComfort. The ecobee is almost up to par, but I don't think I can make that switch as I still prefer the Lennox. I was just looking around and actually saw where these things are 400+ dollar units.! They do look good, it would be nice to integrate with Homeseer. I'm really interested in using Aeotec Multi Sensors as remote Thermostats for active zoning. I also just noticed with a google search that Smartthings integrates with the iComfort. I'll see this weekend if I can get them working as I still have my ST unit, and a bunch of Zigbee Flood Sensors that can't integrate with Homeseer. So, this is probably one of those situations where Control 4 and Smartthings are buying the rights for the API or something. So anyways, if someone can figure out how to hack it, I need Zoning with Temp and Motion sensors. I can't seem to find remote sensors for these units from Lennox in a google search, so I'm assuming they don't exist. Unless you guys know different?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 15th, 2016, 02:58 AM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 401
Is it true that the Lennox Outside Heat pumps will only work with the Lennox iComfort Thermostat? I didn't realize what the OP meant with having to have the iComfort Thermostats installed. So I couldn't install the Ecobee if I wanted to? that sucks. lol
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 28th, 2016, 02:36 PM
rsisson rsisson is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Frederick Md
Posts: 476
SMART THINGS talks to Lennox

Found this, I don't know if it will help anyone...

https://community.smartthings.com/t/...hermostat/9520
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC