www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HS-MS100+ Motion Sensor

HS-MS100+ Motion Sensor Forum for HomeSeer HS-MS100+ Motion Sensor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old January 20th, 2018, 03:07 PM
julez julez is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Illinois
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
So after extensive testing it gets worse. I cannot get this to continuously listen. I have been able to change all the settings except when I get to time. The time change window will not bring up the numbers if you first click on days. I have to choose another time first then clicking on days the numbers appear. However I am unable to set the time for any amount of minutes or seconds. I have tired this both on chrome and firefox. I can select 1 second and then after clicking on the set button I find that it never updates in the device, yet if I go back to change it, the seconds are still selected in the time change choice box.

Stuart
If you keep waking it up, I think it'll allow you to change it, but you have to be fairly quick. Either way, definitely not working as intended.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old January 20th, 2018, 03:45 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
So after extensive testing it gets worse. I cannot get this to continuously listen. I have been able to change all the settings except when I get to time. The time change window will not bring up the numbers if you first click on days. I have to choose another time first then clicking on days the numbers appear. However I am unable to set the time for any amount of minutes or seconds. I have tired this both on chrome and firefox. I can select 1 second and then after clicking on the set button I find that it never updates in the device, yet if I go back to change it, the seconds are still selected in the time change choice box.

Stuart
Looks like there was a firmware change for the production units (I've been using a prototype). So... click the network button 4 times to wake it up and then access the settings to change the PIR timeout to "0". Once that's done, the sensor will become very responsive to motion/no motion
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old January 20th, 2018, 03:46 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by julez View Post
If you keep waking it up, I think it'll allow you to change it, but you have to be fairly quick. Either way, definitely not working as intended.
click the network button 4 times to wake it up. Then change the PIR timeout to "0".

If you don't have the latest beta version of the Z-Wave plug-in installed, be sure to do that first!
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old January 20th, 2018, 04:22 PM
Stuart Stuart is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 846
Hi Mark,
Thanks, but I've already done that. Yea I agreee its probably a different firmware. Any possiblity to getting that ? Already had the timeout to 0 and it does recover quickly in reporting motion probably around 10 seconds which is great. But I would really like to have the always listening and repeating.
How about we do a swap of my units for yours ?

Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old January 20th, 2018, 06:48 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
Hi Mark,
Thanks, but I've already done that. Yea I agreee its probably a different firmware. Any possiblity to getting that ? Already had the timeout to 0 and it does recover quickly in reporting motion probably around 10 seconds which is great. But I would really like to have the always listening and repeating.
How about we do a swap of my units for yours ?

Stuart
Could be an issue with the plug-in. I'll check with Rich and get back to you.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old January 23rd, 2018, 08:56 AM
Stuart Stuart is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 846
Mark,
So when you do a test of connectivity on the znet, does your motion get skipped as a battery device or is it tested. Mine shows that even on a power supply it will still be skipped as a battery device.

Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old February 3rd, 2018, 01:57 AM
outbackrob's Avatar
outbackrob outbackrob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: El Lago, TX
Posts: 1,273
Question Outdoor Motion detector?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
Not for this product but we do have something in the works for this coming spring.
Anything you want to leak to make us salivate? I now have WD200's that are just dying to indicate motion outside!
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old March 14th, 2018, 08:39 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 851
It's almost spring, any news on this new product?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old March 14th, 2018, 09:17 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
It's almost spring, any news on this new product?
getting close on the firmware! once that's finalized and we have a chance to test it outdoors (brrrr), we'll be ready to move ahead. hang in there!
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old March 25th, 2018, 06:23 PM
outbackrob's Avatar
outbackrob outbackrob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: El Lago, TX
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
getting close on the firmware! once that's finalized and we have a chance to test it outdoors (brrrr), we'll be ready to move ahead. hang in there!
I'd be happy to help you test it outdoors here in the heat and humidity of the Texas Gulf Coast.....

Rob
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old April 6th, 2018, 06:50 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,426
For anyone that has one of these... would you say it responds fast enough to use it to control lighting in bathrooms.

Walk into the bathroom and the lights are turned on based on the sensor motion signal.
Is this sensor fast enough at sending the signal?
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old April 29th, 2018, 07:10 PM
Summerguy's Avatar
Summerguy Summerguy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
For anyone that has one of these... would you say it responds fast enough to use it to control lighting in bathrooms.

Walk into the bathroom and the lights are turned on based on the sensor motion signal.
Is this sensor fast enough at sending the signal?
+1

how well this sensor works?
Any user update?
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old April 29th, 2018, 09:11 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
For anyone that has one of these... would you say it responds fast enough to use it to control lighting in bathrooms.

Walk into the bathroom and the lights are turned on based on the sensor motion signal.
Is this sensor fast enough at sending the signal?
I have one in my downstairs bath but I'm using it to track occupancy; not control lighting. When the bathroom is occupied, LED 1 on my downstairs dimmers glows yellow.

To your point though, what do you consider "fast enough"?
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old April 30th, 2018, 08:06 PM
Summerguy's Avatar
Summerguy Summerguy is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
I have one in my downstairs bath but I'm using it to track occupancy; not control lighting. When the bathroom is occupied, LED 1 on my downstairs dimmers glows yellow.

To your point though, what do you consider "fast enough"?
How fast is it to get the yellow lights on your dimmers when it dectects motions? If you compare ti to something like aeon or everspring?

Is there a difference in speed/reliability if used with battery vs AC?
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old April 30th, 2018, 08:31 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summerguy View Post
How fast is it to get the yellow lights on your dimmers when it dectects motions? If you compare ti to something like aeon or everspring?

Is there a difference in speed/reliability if used with battery vs AC?
Delays with motion sensors generally have more to do with sensor sensitivity than any other factor. The interval between when the sensor fires and the Z-Wave command is received (by the controller or associated device) is essentially instantaneous. My sensor is mounted on the same wall as the door and is pointed into the bathroom. It fires as soon as I step through the door.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old May 11th, 2018, 11:39 PM
mrceolla mrceolla is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: US
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
Delays with motion sensors generally have more to do with sensor sensitivity than any other factor. The interval between when the sensor fires and the Z-Wave command is received (by the controller or associated device) is essentially instantaneous. My sensor is mounted on the same wall as the door and is pointed into the bathroom. It fires as soon as I step through the door.
My HS-MS100+ is not as fast as my HSM200's. I'm testing one in my bathroom and it does not send the signal fast enough for my tastes. The flash of the little blue light on the device corresponds with the controlled light turning on, nearly exactly, but the problem is that little blue light seems to wait a second or so after motion is present to light up. I'm assuming the blue light corresponds with the actual z-wave signal being sent and not motion being detected, but I could be wrong. I'm hoping a future firmware update can fix this because I too love this design.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old May 12th, 2018, 12:41 AM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 597
Does anyone have any side by sides or comparison photos of this sensor? I'm trying to gauge it's actual size. Is it about the same size as other eye-ball sensors like Dome, ZooZ, Neo, Fibaro?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fibaro motion sensor gen 5 generate motion when no motion tonlof HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 23 June 30th, 2017 12:32 AM
Fibaro motion sensor gen 5 unreliable motion sensor and event trigger mroovers HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 13 December 29th, 2016 01:16 PM
DHS-ZW-SNMT-01 Motion Sensor won't detect motion - Solution! Conchordian Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 4 January 5th, 2013 03:10 AM
Motion Sensor & Dusk/Dawn Sensor Script Package Discussion Jim Doolittle Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 262 October 31st, 2002 08:06 PM
A bug? Motion Sensor & Dusk/Dawn Sensor Script Package Version 4.30d bmms Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 7 March 22nd, 2002 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC