www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Analog & Digital IO Device Plug-ins > Analog & Digital IO Discussion > Arduino Plugin (3P)

Arduino Plugin (3P) Discussions related to the Arduion plugin for HS3 by enigmatheatre

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 12th, 2017, 07:45 PM
jmccresry jmccresry is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3
Arduino Plugin with Sonoff Relays

I've been experimenting with using the arduino plugin to control these Sonoff brand relay boards. They are basically an ESP8266 controlled relay board. So far the basic relay board works great, but where i run into problems is the 2 channel and 4 channel versions both use nodeMCU pin D8 for one of the relays.

The D8 pin doesn't seem to be available for use, is there anyway to add that functionality?

Also, one of the features of these boards is GPIO14 (D5) is brought out to a header for adding a temperature sensor. Ideally i would like to use a DHT temp/humidity sensor, but would accept a DS18B20.

Are there any plans to add the onewire bus as an option for the NodeMCU board?

I know it's probably possible to include this by using the API, but i'm not quite up to speed with Arduino IDE programming yet.

But having pin D8 available to the NodeMCU board would be awesome, if at all possible.

Overall using this arduino plugin with the Sonoff boards works great, very responsive, local control button works great (via an event in Homeseer) . I've also got the Sonoff Touch wall switches working the same way, also very responsive and look great on the wall!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 16th, 2017, 10:34 PM
jimbell jimbell is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccresry View Post
I've been experimenting with using the arduino plugin to control these Sonoff brand relay boards. They are basically an ESP8266 controlled relay board. So far the basic relay board works great, but where i run into problems is the 2 channel and 4 channel versions both use nodeMCU pin D8 for one of the relays.

The D8 pin doesn't seem to be available for use, is there anyway to add that functionality?

Also, one of the features of these boards is GPIO14 (D5) is brought out to a header for adding a temperature sensor. Ideally i would like to use a DHT temp/humidity sensor, but would accept a DS18B20.

Are there any plans to add the onewire bus as an option for the NodeMCU board?

I know it's probably possible to include this by using the API, but i'm not quite up to speed with Arduino IDE programming yet.

But having pin D8 available to the NodeMCU board would be awesome, if at all possible.

Overall using this arduino plugin with the Sonoff boards works great, very responsive, local control button works great (via an event in Homeseer) . I've also got the Sonoff Touch wall switches working the same way, also very responsive and look great on the wall!
How are you mounting the touch wall switches? From what I read, the switches are not compatible with the US wall switch boxes. I have been looking at them, but was put off by the non standard mounting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 17th, 2017, 05:36 AM
enigmatheatre's Avatar
enigmatheatre enigmatheatre is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK
Posts: 1,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccresry View Post
I've been experimenting with using the arduino plugin to control these Sonoff brand relay boards. They are basically an ESP8266 controlled relay board. So far the basic relay board works great, but where i run into problems is the 2 channel and 4 channel versions both use nodeMCU pin D8 for one of the relays.

The D8 pin doesn't seem to be available for use, is there anyway to add that functionality?

Also, one of the features of these boards is GPIO14 (D5) is brought out to a header for adding a temperature sensor. Ideally i would like to use a DHT temp/humidity sensor, but would accept a DS18B20.

Are there any plans to add the onewire bus as an option for the NodeMCU board?

I know it's probably possible to include this by using the API, but i'm not quite up to speed with Arduino IDE programming yet.

But having pin D8 available to the NodeMCU board would be awesome, if at all possible.

Overall using this arduino plugin with the Sonoff boards works great, very responsive, local control button works great (via an event in Homeseer) . I've also got the Sonoff Touch wall switches working the same way, also very responsive and look great on the wall!
I prefer to only provide the pins that are available on the supported board so that users with basic knowledge cant get it wrong. I would suggest trying the API mode as this is not to hard to use if you have a basic understanding of the Arduino IDE.

Greig.
__________________
Zwave = Z-Stick, 3xHSM100™ 7xACT ZDM230, 1xEverspring SM103, 2xACT HomePro ZRP210.
X10 = CM12U, 2xAM12, 1xAW10, 1 x TM13U, 1xMS13, 2xHR10, 2xSS13
Other Hardware = ADI Ocelot + secu16, Global Cache GC100, RFXtrx433, 3 x Foscams.
Plugings = RFXcom, ActiveBackup, Applied Digital Ocelot, BLDeviceMatrix, BLGarbage, BLLAN, Current Cost, Global Cache GC100,HSTouch Android, HSTouch Server, HSTouch Server Unlimited, NetCAM, PowerTrigger, SageWebcamXP, SqueezeBox, X10 CM11A/CM12U.
Scripts =
Various
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 18th, 2017, 11:38 AM
jmccresry jmccresry is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbell View Post
How are you mounting the touch wall switches? From what I read, the switches are not compatible with the US wall switch boxes. I have been looking at them, but was put off by the non standard mounting.


They make a US version that fit the normal boxes here, I did have to modify the mount slightly since the screws they use protrude too far and hit the side of the mount.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERRO Calling SetIOMulti in plugin Arduino Plugin:Object reference not set to an in fvhemert Arduino Plugin (3P) 5 April 28th, 2017 10:15 AM
Arduino Plugin V1.0.0.36. enigmatheatre Arduino Plugin (3P) 33 January 2nd, 2017 11:22 PM
About the Arduino Plugin. enigmatheatre Arduino Plugin (3P) 0 August 12th, 2014 11:40 AM
Relays not working on Stargate plugin? ajackson123 JDS (Stargate, TimeCommander) 20 March 1st, 2009 12:38 PM
Can Plugin Control Ocelot SECU Relays? Andy mcsSprinklers 4 April 30th, 2007 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC