www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > MCS Plug-Ins and Scripts > xAP > xAP Library

xAP Library Library area for plug-in nodes. Use the discussion area to discuss these - posting here is only allowed by the moderator.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 20th, 2010, 08:34 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,512
xapmcsMultimeter Telemetry for DMM

xapmcsMultimeter provides an interface to the Radio Shack 220-0812 digital multimeter to provide telemetry of the multimeter readings in the form of LAN messages using xAP protocol. The multimeter provides 26 measurement modes (e.g. AC voltage, DC voltage, ohms, etc.). Each of these, when selected on the meter, is transmitted as the raw reading, the rate of change of the reading, the maximum reading and the minimum reading. The content of these messages can be recorded in a database such as is supported by xapmcsDatabase, or accepted in other automation applications such as Homeseer where event logic can be used to trigger other actions.

xapmcsMultimeter will sense the user selections made on the multimeter and automatically report the measurement being made. It will identify the type of measurement, include measurement units, and scale the value as the meter auto-ranges from nano, micro, kilo, and mega. If a capacitance measurement is being made it will be reported in microFarad units in one device and nanoFarad units in another to ease the data collection capabilty of other applications. Similiar handling is done for amperage and voltage.

xapmcsMultimeter will compute the minimum and maximum readings unless the meter is setup to report only maximum or minimum readings. In this case the maximum and minimum reported by xapmcsMultimeter will be maximum or minimum from the meter. When the multimeter is in this mode xapmcsMultimeter will not report a current reading or a rate of change of the reading.

Version History
---------------
1.0.0.1 PR1 Change display date format to use 24 hrs clock if not USA

Available as http://mcsSprinklers.com/xapmcsMultimeter.zip
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Michael McSharry; February 21st, 2010 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 21st, 2010, 07:01 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,940
Purchased a Radio Shack 220-0812 digital multimeter last week. Will plug it into the Quatech box today. I know there are variances expected. Do you know what standard min/max values should be?

You just gave me a reason to purchase Lantronix WiBox.
__________________
- Pete

Automator


Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets)

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.435 | HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

HS3 Plugins - a bunch
Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee
Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo
Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2
Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick
Firewall - PFSense
CCTV - Zoneminder

Audio - Russound - AB8SS


Last edited by Pete; February 21st, 2010 at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 21st, 2010, 03:57 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,512
Quote:
Do you know what standard min/max values should be?
I have not researched it. I think I get quite a bit of variation here, but my location is somewhat remote so the quality of service may not be as good as some more urban areas. Just watching it now. Based upon this morning's data there may of been a load demand as the neighborhood wakes up.

Quote:
Will plug it into the Quatech box today.
I did not try it on Quattech, but should be no issue. My testing was with Lantronix EPS12. The WiFi certainly has come down in price over the past year.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 21st, 2010, 04:08 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,940
I guess still a bit paranoid about plugging my DMM into a serial port directly so Quatech for now WLAN in the next few days...I believe I have a Lantronic EPS12 in my retired but not forgotten HW box...could use that too....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 21st, 2010, 05:29 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,940
Working well with Quatech server. Now to some graphing.

Not sure if configured correctly. I have the application installed on another server. It is reading the voltages fine. I configured the variables on the HS box using the XAP application. It saw the three voltage variables. I saw them initially on my status. I also configured them as variables to graph. Just noticed that the variables are reading zeros right now. Will check configs.

Somehow unchecked some options on XAP main config page. All is well. Thanks Michael.

Last edited by Pete; February 21st, 2010 at 07:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC