www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API Discussions related to the Amazon Echo native support for connected home products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 20th, 2017, 02:40 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,456
Thermostat Mode

Is anyone able to control the thermostat mode (heat/cool/auto) with the Connected Home API?

Every variation I have tried does not work:
Alexa, set the Thermostat mode to Cool
Alexa, set the Thermostat mode to Heat
(Thermostat is the name of the root node)

Let me know if you are able to control and what phrase works.

Thanks
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 24th, 2017, 02:59 PM
PtHomeAutomation PtHomeAutomation is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 11
I've been trying to google the commands that are available through Echo for thermostats for about 30 minute now and I can only find the commands for changing temperature. And, those only work if the thermostat is in Heat or Cool modes (not Auto or Off). This is consistent with what I am finding on my own installation with a Radio Thermostat installed.

So, the following commands work in heat or cool:
  • set [thermostat] to XX degrees *note that "degrees" is optional
  • raise [thermostat] temperature
  • lower [thermostat] temperature

For everything else I had to use the HomeSeer skill:
  • tell homeseer to set [thermostat] mode to [off|cool|auto]
  • tell homeseer to set [thermostat] fan mode to [auto|on]
  • tell homeseer to get the [thermostat] temperature

I'm sure there are other things that can be done, but this is all that I've found so far through testing by myself. I'm interested in hearing what others have got to work as well.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 25th, 2017, 04:09 PM
wkomorow's Avatar
wkomorow wkomorow is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 195
For heat (which is all my thermostat controls) - I have created a virtual device heat - with on off and neutral and created an event. So I say turn the heat on or turn the heat off and the event runs and switches the virtual device back to neutral - it seems pretty natural of a phrase to me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 2nd, 2017, 12:52 AM
PtHomeAutomation PtHomeAutomation is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 11
I ended up creating virtual devices for heat, AC and fan for my two thermostats. So, now I can say:
* turn [on/off] the [upstairs/downstairs] AC
* turn [on/off] the [upstairs/downstairs] heat
* turn [on/off] the [upstairs/downstairs] fan

That coupled with the already existing "set the [upstairs/downstairs] temperature" commands let's me control everything using a very natural language command. And, even better, my wife uses it now as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell thermostat - HS returns wrong mode caustin ZWave 0 February 26th, 2012 02:32 PM
What's with the Thermostat Mode values ? donstephens Programming with HomeSeer 0 August 24th, 2011 10:07 AM
Thermostat Mode Value? johnoc HSTouch™ 0 December 3rd, 2008 04:42 PM
Thermostat Mode Control chrkov UltraM1G HSPI 4 July 31st, 2007 06:14 PM
Saving Mode of Thermostat sonypoolplr Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 1 October 6th, 2002 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC