www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API Discussions related to the Amazon Echo native support for connected home products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 4th, 2017, 09:36 AM
simonmason's Avatar
simonmason simonmason is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chatham, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,022
Send Alexa TTS commands

Is it on the development schedule to allow Homeseer to send commands to Alexa to speak instead of/in addition to using the homeseer speaker app? Is this even possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 4th, 2017, 10:25 AM
tenholde tenholde is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,769
Amazon currently only allows responses to requests issued via Alexa. You cannot send stuff to Alexa. Rumors that will be changing.

tenholde
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 25th, 2017, 12:38 AM
Bilbrey's Avatar
Bilbrey Bilbrey is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 27
Perhaps not quite what is being asked, but...

I have the old HomeSeer WFTT07 Android tabletop touchscreen, which I use with the HSTouch app. And HS3 can send TTS to the speaker in this device.

Since it is sitting next to my Amazon Echo, I tried sending:
<voice required="name = Microsoft Mike"> A lexa, what is the weather?

And my Echo unit responded with a weather report!

I had to specifically place a space in "A_lexa" to get Alexa to recognize the wake word. But now I've sent dozens of TTS commands, and they have all worked fine.

I'm using a HS3Pro running Windows XP (which is why I used the old Microsoft Mike voice).

Not a perfect solution, but working much better than I ever expected...

Oh, and for fun, I had my HomeSeer send a 'command' to Alexa, which Alexa then processed through the HomeSeer 'skill' to control the HomeSeer system.

"A lexa, Turn Movie Mode on"
Where 'Movie Mode' is a virtual device I created so that it can trigger events.

Alexa said, "OK", and then the "Event" executed on my HS3 system, setting the lights for watching a movie.


Why did I try this in the first place?
Because now I can have HomeSeer events run in the morning to:
- "Play Music" (And my Echo starts playing music)
- "What is the weather?" (And my Echo gives me a weather report)


Perhaps someone else will find this useful...

(BTW, I had to use the "Mike" voice for this to work, the echo would not recognize the "Mary" voice.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 25th, 2017, 07:03 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,731
That's how I ordered my first Dot. You had to order them via Echo and I was at work. Set up an event to have my WFTT07 v2 say "Alexa, order Echo Dot" and then "Yes" to confirm and it worked perfectly.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 29th, 2017, 07:41 PM
Gallina's Avatar
Gallina Gallina is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 136
win 10 updates

Has any one figured how to turn off Microsoft win10 updates . It screws up HS3 and sometime it does a restart. If I'm out of town I don't have access . I 'running HS3 on a small computer with nothing else . It runs well until ms win attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 29th, 2017, 08:50 PM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,621
Just stop and disable the Windows Update service. Then when you're ready, activate it, get the update, apply, reboot, disable the service.

Robert
__________________
HS3PRO 3.0.0.435 as a Fire Daemon service, Windows 2016 Server Std Intel Core i5 PC HTPC Slim SFF 4GB, 120GB SSD drive, WLG800, RFXCom, TI103,NetCam, UltraNetcam3, BLBackup, CurrentCost 3P Rain8Net, MCsSprinker, HSTouch, Ademco Security plugin/AD2USB, various Oregon Scientific temp/humidity sensors, Z-Net, Zsmoke, Aeron Labs micro switches, Amazon Echo Dot, WS+, WD+ ... on and on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 18th, 2017, 07:42 PM
wkearney99's Avatar
wkearney99 wkearney99 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 238
Has anything changed on this?

I'd love to have the ability to use an Echo device to query for occupancy.

As in, have it ask "Hello? Is anyone still using this space?"

Basically to 'clean up' the basement rec room when the kids are no longer in there and have left all the lights, tv and game consoles powered on...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 19th, 2017, 12:09 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Has anything changed on this?

I'd love to have the ability to use an Echo device to query for occupancy.

As in, have it ask "Hello? Is anyone still using this space?"

Basically to 'clean up' the basement rec room when the kids are no longer in there and have left all the lights, tv and game consoles powered on...
Have you seen this option to make two dots an intercom system?
https://www.theverge.com/2017/6/26/1...vices-dot-show
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 19th, 2017, 10:19 PM
wkearney99's Avatar
wkearney99 wkearney99 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupp View Post
Have you seen this option to make two dots an intercom system?
https://www.theverge.com/2017/6/26/1...vices-dot-show
Well, yeah, but intercom is not what I'm after. I'm looking to have HS be able to have an Echo unit ask a yes/no question and handle the response. As in "Hello, is anyone still here in the basement?" and if yes, do nothing. If no response then run a HS event to turn off the lights and shutdown AV gear.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 20th, 2017, 06:58 AM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Well, yeah, but intercom is not what I'm after. I'm looking to have HS be able to have an Echo unit ask a yes/no question and handle the response. As in "Hello, is anyone still here in the basement?" and if yes, do nothing. If no response then run a HS event to turn off the lights and shutdown AV gear.
If you are happy to use the Homeseer Automation skill (Ask Homeseer......), you can use my Echo Skill Helper to do this: https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=184504
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 20th, 2017, 01:03 PM
wkearney99's Avatar
wkearney99 wkearney99 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon00 View Post
If you are happy to use the Homeseer Automation skill (Ask Homeseer......), you can use my Echo Skill Helper to do this: https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=184504
I've set up the HS skill (I call mine "the house", as in "Alexa ask the house..."

But since the skill published the devices (lutron ra2 via that HS plug-in) I don't often find myself needing/wanting to use the skill syntax. That and I couldn't find much HS documentation about what syntax it supports. I'd welcome pointers to THAT!

Are you saying your skill helper will allow the HS program itself to initiate a response on an Alexa device? As in, an HS event notices there an idle situation in a given area, and can then send an audible query to a specific alexa device, and process a response?

Because that's really what I'm after, use HS as a way to monitor occupancy from a variety of different inputs (av usage, network activity, motion sensors, time of day, etc) and use that to make device changes.

Occupancy is a very difficult thing to track with 100% accuracy. Turn the lights off on people sitting idle on a couch or in an office and you greatly impair the wife acceptance factor. But in the event that I did manage to refine the detection 'well enough' I'd like to use audio and voice recog responses as a confirmation. Using an Alexa device seems like the perfect solution, provided I can initiate a 'conversation' programmatically from HS, and not just depend on the device being woken up via local voice recog.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 20th, 2017, 01:31 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,462
Details of the syntax for both skills can be found here: https://homeseer.com/amazon-alexa-integration/

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Are you saying your skill helper will allow the HS program itself to initiate a response on an Alexa device? As in, an HS event notices there an idle situation in a given area, and can then send an audible query to a specific alexa device, and process a response?
No, you have to ask Alexa first before you get a response but that response can be anything you want including a query on occupancy (if you have virtual devices etc which determine that). Look at the YouTube video on my first post for the helper which shows an example of Alexa/Homeseer feedback controlling a Coffee machine.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 20th, 2017, 07:52 PM
wkearney99's Avatar
wkearney99 wkearney99 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 238
Right, I get that but it wasn't what I was asking to perform. Thanks though, it does look like an interesting helper option.

Meanwhile I'll have to keep looking for a solution that allows HS to initiate an Alexa conversation.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 20th, 2017, 07:56 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,462
OK, yes, it looks like I misread your post. You can connect via Bluetooth using a HSSpeaker output.....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 21st, 2017, 04:52 PM
AgileHumor AgileHumor is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 264
Sadly, Alexa doesn't support this after all this time.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 25th, 2018, 12:57 PM
CinBRandon CinBRandon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: MS
Posts: 155
Any update on this?

What I'd like to be able to do:
A Homeseer event runs and then tells Alexa to make an announcement, to either all or some of the Echo's/Dots>

With no input from me Alexa would say:
"The time is 8:30p and your garage door is open"
__________________
HomeTroller Zee S2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 25th, 2018, 01:08 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by CinBRandon View Post
Any update on this?

What I'd like to be able to do:
A Homeseer event runs and then tells Alexa to make an announcement, to either all or some of the Echo's/Dots>

With no input from me Alexa would say:
"The time is 8:30p and your garage door is open"
Amazon doesn't provide this capability. Unless and until Amazon makes this possible, it is not going to happen.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange unintended commands from Alexa mikee123 HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 0 November 15th, 2016 03:17 PM
Alexa Not Responding to Commands sonypoolplr HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 3 September 30th, 2016 11:26 PM
What voice commands to use with Alexa? gerbila Envisalink Ademco Plugin (3P) 2 May 5th, 2016 09:40 AM
Can HS3 send voice commands to Alexa(echo)? justinm001 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 March 15th, 2016 02:02 PM
can you send text to Alexa drmcp HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 2 March 6th, 2016 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC