www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API Discussions related to the Amazon Echo native support for connected home products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old June 29th, 2017, 01:07 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevinH View Post
Yeah, I wrote my own skill using the Alexa Smart Home Skill API. The way I did it, I have to manually update the skill when I add new devices, unlike the Homeseer smart home skill, which figures it out automatically. But... I can do whatever I want with the custom skill... name devices how I want (even different from how they're named in HS3), use multiple names for a single device (if different people in the household like to call devices by different names), control the responses of commands, command the execution of HS3 events, etc. You can even combine it with commands that communicate with other systems, not just your HS box. Like, I have commands in the same skill that communicate with IFTTT... as long as the system you want to control has a public API to for it.

It's definitely a lot more work compared to just using Homeseer's skill, but if you're up for it, it's so much more flexible. As for how to setup something like that, there's a lot of tutorials and blogposts, both in the Amazon developer portal and by third parties. But I might be able to write a tutorial that's specific to HS3, if people want.
Is this using the the "Ask Homeseer" skill or the one that doesn't require it? I have the "ask homeseer" one worked out using Jon00s helper, but using the one that doesn't require "Ask Homeseer" is what has me tricked up.

If you have a way to set it up manually for the "Alexa, turn on [device]" I would love a tutorial on that even if I had to manually set it up and change it from time to time.
__________________
Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old June 29th, 2017, 01:26 PM
DevinH DevinH is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
Is this using the the "Ask Homeseer" skill or the one that doesn't require it? I have the "ask homeseer" one worked out using Jon00s helper, but using the one that doesn't require "Ask Homeseer" is what has me tricked up.

If you have a way to set it up manually for the "Alexa, turn on [device]" I would love a tutorial on that even if I had to manually set it up and change it from time to time.
No, it's not a general skill that requires the skill name. It's setup using the "Smart Home Skill API" which does not utilize the skill name ("ask homeseer to...").

The only limitation is that you cannot make up your own utterances (like you can with general skills that require you to say the skill name). Instead, with the SmartHome skill API, you're limited to the built-in utterances:

"turn on device"
"dim device to 25%"
"lock/unlock device"
"set temperature to 70 degrees"
etc.

But as far as actions you take, it can be anything that has a cloud API. In the case of HS3 stuff, it would be any action that you can do using HS3's JSON API.

An example of this would be creating an event in HS3 called 'Bedtime' which does... whatever. I have a hardcoded device in the SmartHome skill with the name 'Bedtime Mode', configured as a 'SWITCH' device type (which allows me to use the utterances 'turn on' and 'turn off') and its id is the same as the event id in HS3. That allows me to say "Alexa, turn on Bedtime mode", and the result of that executes the HS3 JSON method which executes that event.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old June 29th, 2017, 01:36 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevinH View Post
No, it's not a general skill that requires the skill name. It's setup using the "Smart Home Skill API" which does not utilize the skill name ("ask homeseer to...").

The only limitation is that you cannot make up your own utterances (like you can with general skills that require you to say the skill name). Instead, with the SmartHome skill API, you're limited to the built-in utterances:

"turn on device"
"dim device to 25%"
"lock/unlock device"
"set temperature to 70 degrees"
etc.

But as far as actions you take, it can be anything that has a cloud API. In the case of HS3 stuff, it would be any action that you can do using HS3's JSON API.

An example of this would be creating an event in HS3 called 'Bedtime' which does... whatever. I have a hardcoded device in the SmartHome skill with the name 'Bedtime Mode', configured as a 'SWITCH' device type (which allows me to use the utterances 'turn on' and 'turn off') and its id is the same as the event id in HS3. That allows me to say "Alexa, turn on Bedtime mode", and the result of that executes the HS3 JSON method which executes that event.
In that case I would love a tutorial
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old June 29th, 2017, 02:26 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 511
"Yes, Please!" (tutorial/guide)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old June 29th, 2017, 06:33 PM
DevinH DevinH is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 165
ok, I'll put something together over the weekend
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old July 3rd, 2017, 08:54 PM
DevinH DevinH is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
In that case I would love a tutorial
So I put together a tutorial. It ended up being a bit lengthy (25 printed pages), so I was hoping you'd be willing to review it... maybe go through it and make sure it's all comprehendable and without too many errors before I post it to the board.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old July 3rd, 2017, 09:49 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevinH View Post
So I put together a tutorial. It ended up being a bit lengthy (25 printed pages), so I was hoping you'd be willing to review it... maybe go through it and make sure it's all comprehendable and without too many errors before I post it to the board.
Sure. I PM'd you my email address.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old December 24th, 2017, 09:18 AM
randman randman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevinH View Post
So I put together a tutorial. It ended up being a bit lengthy (25 printed pages), so I was hoping you'd be willing to review it... maybe go through it and make sure it's all comprehendable and without too many errors before I post it to the board.
Is tutorial available?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would be nice if Amazon adds Echo location in home rmorton27 HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 3 January 30th, 2017 11:38 AM
Does Amazon send the Echo/Dot name? Krumpy HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 1 November 15th, 2016 08:52 AM
HomeSeer Devs - Amazon Echo Home API - Suggestion (Multiple - Echoes, Echo Dot's) Daweeze HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 7 April 28th, 2016 01:49 PM
Can HS3 send voice commands to Alexa(echo)? justinm001 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 March 15th, 2016 02:02 PM
WM6 Phone App to send gps location Simonk HomeSeer General Discussion Area 9 April 14th, 2009 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC