www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API Discussions related to the Amazon Echo native support for connected home products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 10th, 2017, 11:10 AM
WAR WAR is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 42
Triggering EVENTS with Alexa

I have the HomeSeer Skill in my Alexa app. It works perfectly for turning lights on or off, but does not work for events.

What is the best way to trigger an event in my situation?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 10th, 2017, 11:17 AM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,451
One method I use is a Virtual Device. We have an event called Bedtime. This event turns off lights, sets back thermostats, arms the alarm, etc. The event is triggered with a Virtual Device (also called Bedtime) turns ON.

We say "Alexa, turn on bedtime."
The Virtual device turns ON, triggering the event to do it's thing.
The last thing the event does is turn the Virtual Device back to OFF.
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 10th, 2017, 04:50 PM
petez69's Avatar
petez69 petez69 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alice Springs, Australia
Posts: 872
Exactly what I do, create a virtual device and run an event when the device status changes....and set the virtual device back to a known state when done :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2017, 10:02 AM
WAR WAR is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 42
Thanks for the great directions!

Where is the best place to become informed about setting up a virtual device?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2017, 10:39 AM
petez69's Avatar
petez69 petez69 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alice Springs, Australia
Posts: 872


:-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 11th, 2017, 10:43 AM
WAR WAR is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 42
Thanks, Pete!

I am so pleased with Alexa controlling devices, I can't wait to get this set up to run events / virtual devices.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 11th, 2017, 11:45 AM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,621
I use Jon's Alexa Helper which runs my events without issue.
The only down side is you have to tell homeseer... or whatever name you give it. Still, works great and I highly recommend it!

Robert
__________________
HS3PRO 3.0.0.435 as a Fire Daemon service, Windows 2016 Server Std Intel Core i5 PC HTPC Slim SFF 4GB, 120GB SSD drive, WLG800, RFXCom, TI103,NetCam, UltraNetcam3, BLBackup, CurrentCost 3P Rain8Net, MCsSprinker, HSTouch, Ademco Security plugin/AD2USB, various Oregon Scientific temp/humidity sensors, Z-Net, Zsmoke, Aeron Labs micro switches, Amazon Echo Dot, WS+, WD+ ... on and on.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 11th, 2017, 02:59 PM
WAR WAR is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 42
Is Jon's Alexa Helper easy to install / use?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 11th, 2017, 04:12 PM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,621
Yes it is. Jon provides great documentation and structure in his packages.
Just take your time and read through the documentation and you should be good!

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 01:34 AM
rjbur's Avatar
rjbur rjbur is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 168
I'm trying to figure all of this out as well and it seems that there is no way to get around the need to tell Alexa to turn ON or OFF a device and just RUN the event.

I had to create the Virtual Device "Reset Lights" and say "Alex, Reset Lights On"

It seems that ON and OFF is all Alexa understands.

The whole teller her to tell HS to run an event is too long winded as you have to say it and then she insists on conforming if that is what you want to do and you have to say yes...

It would be great is Alexa also understood NOW in addition to ON and OFF so I could just tell her "Alexa, Reset Lights Now"

I need this event as it seems that HUE lights remember their last settings. If your messing with the fun app that changes all the colors and intensity on all the lights in the room to say a movie and then stop and tell her to turn on the living room lights, well they all come on at different colors and intensities. Need a way to just reset them.

Next I'll see if I can just overwrite the room command and actually have Alexa reset the lights every time I ask the room to be turned on...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 10:28 AM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbur View Post

It seems that ON and OFF is all Alexa understands.
You can also dim/bright lights.

"Turn on Kitchen (lights) at 50%."
"Increase/raise/bright(en) kitchen (lights)." (In 20 or 25% steps)
"Lower/decrease/dim kitchen (lights)."

Thermostats:
"Set downstairs to 68 (degrees)."
"Increase/raise downstairs to 2 (degrees)."
"Decrease/lower downstairs to 2 (degrees)."
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 03:27 PM
scorp508 scorp508 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 262
I'm curious to see what happens once the next Alexa API update is approved. There is now a "Voice Command" setting for events themselves though I haven't seen anyone say how we'll interact with it once the API update is approved. For example would it be "Alexa, run reset lights" if your event was configured with "reset lights" for its voice command?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 11:56 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by petez69 View Post
Exactly what I do, create a virtual device and run an event when the device status changes....and set the virtual device back to a known state when done :-)
Oh man... years later I am just seeing this,.... and bet it explains why some of my virtual devices are flakey with the Echo.

Help me get my head around this.

If I have a virtual device for a lighting scene... and tie 'on' to an event that that turns lights on, and tie 'off' to an event that turns the lights off... why would I need to reset it?

So, each event uses "if a device changes manually and becomes off", run scene.

yet I notice my virtual garage doors get all hoarked up.... lighting scenes don't always run, etc.

Ironically, the "tell homeseer" version of the alexa skill works every time, although now that I think about it, it might be just running the event which has a similar name to the virtual device.

what am I missing with the reset?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 05:02 PM
randycboone randycboone is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NL, Canada
Posts: 196
I use the "Routines" of the Alexa app to do these things. It allows me to configure Alexa to recognize a specific phrase (i.e. Alexa, It's Bedtime) and have that phrase trigger a virtual device in HomeSeer. The device, in turn, will then trigger the event to lock the doors, arm the security, and set my lighting to my preferences.

It works exactly as being described in this thread, except the "On/Off" key words are not needed and the English seems much more normal.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 05:39 PM
scorp508 scorp508 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by randycboone View Post
I use the "Routines" of the Alexa app to do these things. It allows me to configure Alexa to recognize a specific phrase (i.e. Alexa, It's Bedtime) and have that phrase trigger a virtual device in HomeSeer. The device, in turn, will then trigger the event to lock the doors, arm the security, and set my lighting to my preferences.

It works exactly as being described in this thread, except the "On/Off" key words are not needed and the English seems much more normal.
Yes, and I'm hoping once the API update is approved we don't even need to create/manage Alexa routines. I'm hoping the event voice command becomes a routine you can call the same way an Alexa routine currently is.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 7th, 2018, 04:20 PM
NeilsenRM NeilsenRM is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: MI
Posts: 24
I have Echo triggering events using the virtual device "turn on" command and it works quite well. Is there any progress on getting HomeSeer to speak through Echo. I'm in a remote location 6 months of the year with my Echos and want to hear HomeSeer responses. If I'm connected with HS3Touch with my smart phone I get HomeSeer reponses through my phone.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 7th, 2018, 06:33 PM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
I actually like using virtual devices to trigger events. I think it gives you much better control. You can somewhat pass a button select to a virtual device but you can't to and event since events don't allow a conditions to be passed. However there are some issues that would need to be addressed.

Right now I can say think like, "Alexa, Office On" or "Alexa, Office Off" but I can't say "Alexa Office Cleanup" even though my "Office" virtual device has an On, Off and Cleanup button. I'm fairly sure that Alexa can handle this since I've seen other Hubs be able to use a device with more than an Off or On.

Actually we have the same problem with "Last" when you try to say something like, "Alexa, Ceiling Light Last" when you can say "Alexa, Ceiling Light On" or "Alexa, Ceiling Light Off". We're also going to need the option to set colors on lights using Alexa and we know she can since she does it with Phillip Hues.

You can do this with the native HS voice control since it looks at whatever you enter into the button names but Alexa Smart Home is not looking at that field but is looking at the Control Use field and we can't do anything with it so we're stuck with it's limited options.

Hopefully HS has addresses this in HS3 update for Alexa version 3.
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (GP).
System:
HomeSeer Version: HS3 ZEE S2 Edition 3.0.0.368
Linux version: Linux HomeTrollerZeeS2V2 4.1.19-v7+ #858 SMP Tue Mar 15 15:56:00 GMT 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux
Mono version: 4.5.1
IP Address: 10.0.1.65
Number of Devices: 164
Number of Events: 212
Available Threads: 385

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.0.0.12: AirplaySpeak
3.0.0.47: EasyTrigger
3.0.1.109: PHLocation
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 8th, 2018, 03:08 AM
AgentGladstone AgentGladstone is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Washington
Posts: 30
Alexa supports “scenes” now. It’s be nice if there was a way to have homeseer export events as scenes.

https://developer.amazon.com/docs/smarthome/provide-scenes-in-a-smart-home-skill.html
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 5th, 2018, 05:23 AM
logbuilder logbuilder is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 666
I wish it supported 'toggle'.

Please tell me I am missing this functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 3rd, 2018, 08:53 AM
djsaad1 djsaad1 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: texas
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentGladstone View Post
Alexa supports “scenes” now. It’s be nice if there was a way to have homeseer export events as scenes.

https://developer.amazon.com/docs/sm...ome-skill.html
If you click "add voice command" in the event options it will show up as an alexa scene. Much easier than creating a bunch of virtual switches.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Events, Alexa, and Last Level sleeve JowiHue Plug-In 4 October 25th, 2017 01:53 AM
Alexa and homeseer events csullivan2005 Alexa (3P) 6 June 24th, 2017 01:11 PM
Ideas to prevent unauthorized users from triggering certain events with Alexa jono HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 2 January 12th, 2017 11:01 PM
Alexa Global Cache & Events billbingaman HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 2 January 3rd, 2017 11:07 PM
adding more events to alexa rkshack HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 4 December 23rd, 2016 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC