www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API

HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API Discussions related to the Amazon Echo native support for connected home products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 11th, 2017, 09:34 PM
Jfree23 Jfree23 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 39
2 Echo Dots, 2 Amazon accounts, only 1 can be active with HS API?

Originally posted as reply in Omni plugin thread, should have posted here.

We have 3 Echo Dots, and 2 Amazon accounts (under one Amazon Household), and 1 myHS free account. I can enable Alexa HS simple skill/API from Alexa app signed in on one Amazon account, discover devices successfully, all works well, from Alexa on that account.

Then log in to other account in Alexa app, enable skill, discover, all found. But Alexa connected to original Amazon account now says all devices don't respond.

Then tell Alexa to switch accounts, now she can control the devices again. Log back in to the original Amazon account in Alexa app, all devices are shown offline, that is why Alexa on that account cannot control them.

On that original Amazon account, disable and re-enable skill, rediscover, all good again for Alexa on that account, but now Alexa on other account cannot control things, and app for that account says devices all offline.

I suspect MyHS can only accept one Amazon linked account login at a time, even though same Household, so Alexas on different accounts cannot both access MyHS and connect to devices.

Can anyone confirm, or is this a matter to raise (again?) with Homeseer support? My wife and I have different uses and profiles for our Alexas and I don't want to have to keep them all on one account just to use HS.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 1st, 2017, 08:59 AM
Jfree23 Jfree23 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 39
Got an answer to this from Matt at HS: he confirmed that a basic MyHS account can only be connected with one Amazon account. That is why an Alexa on a different Amazon account (even in same household) cannot control the devices. He said MyHS Premium account, $24/year, can accept multiple Amazon account connections.

My reply to him asked for an enhancement to enable multiple Amazon household account logins to the base MyHS, or offer a lower tier premium MyHS for 1 device but several Amazon accounts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 1st, 2017, 10:38 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfree23 View Post
Got an answer to this from Matt at HS: he confirmed that a basic MyHS account can only be connected with one Amazon account. That is why an Alexa on a different Amazon account (even in same household) cannot control the devices. He said MyHS Premium account, $24/year, can accept multiple Amazon account connections.

My reply to him asked for an enhancement to enable multiple Amazon household account logins to the base MyHS, or offer a lower tier premium MyHS for 1 device but several Amazon accounts.
+1 to this idea
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 16th, 2017, 02:44 PM
AgileHumor AgileHumor is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 264
So I can't associate 2 amazon accounts (wife's and mine) with myhs...using the Same myhs account?

This used to work...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 16th, 2017, 03:53 PM
Jfree23 Jfree23 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgileHumor View Post
So I can't associate 2 amazon accounts (wife's and mine) with myhs...using the Same myhs account?

This used to work...
Interesting that it used to work; HS Support did not mention that.

You can set up Echo Dot's in each Amazon account and link them to your 1 myhs account. But it seems like only 1 Amazon account is able to log in to myhs at any one time, and the last one you set up seems to lock the other ones out permanently. The locked out ones seemed to show all devices offline no matter what I did.

Also interesting that connecting via HSTouch seemed to cause the working Echo Dot to show all devices offline, but issuing a command via Alexa to a device took it back from HSTouch and that device then showed online for Alexa. So HSTouch seemed to be able to pass control back and forth with one Amazon account/Echo, but the 2 Amazon accounts were not able to pass control back and forth.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 4th, 2018, 10:13 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 460
I, too, believe that multiple Amazon Alexa’s should be able to control multiple devices.

As a workaround, I am using Yonomi to control our bedroom TV through Alexa. The living room TV is controlled through HS.
__________________
Michael

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.423 | 777 devices | 351 events | OpenSprinkler | BLShutdown | EasyTrigger | NetCAM | Harmony Hub | Sonos | SDJ-Health | BLUPS | PHLocation | BLBackup | BLLock | Z-Wave | weatherXML | Pushover 3P | Blue-Iris |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 5th, 2018, 06:16 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 293
There is a very easy solution to this issue and I'm surprised that no-one has caught it yet.

You register all the Echos to a single account then setup the "Household Profile" on that account. This will allow you to link other Amazon account holders in your household to the same echos. Once you do this new account user will go through training and the echos will be able to recognize the voice of that user.

Once done Alexa will use their account settings which is controlled by their Alexa app on their phone. For many things it will identify you using your voice and for others you have to tell alexa to switch accounts. This includes such things as delivery notifications, music libraries, Flash Briefings, your calendar, voice purchasing, lists and other features.

For users that don't have their own Amazon account, such as yours kids, their actions will fall under the currently selected Amazon account.

I'm hoping that at some point Amazon will add a user profile name, much like version 3 can send the echo's name, to apps so that even HomeSeer will know which user is giving commands.

Here is more information on the subject. Household Profiles on Alexa Devices
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (GP).
System:
HomeSeer Version: HS3 ZEE S2 Edition 3.0.0.368
Linux version: Linux HomeTrollerZeeS2V2 4.1.19-v7+ #858 SMP Tue Mar 15 15:56:00 GMT 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux
Mono version: 4.5.1
IP Address: 10.0.1.65
Number of Devices: 164
Number of Events: 212
Available Threads: 385

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.0.0.12: AirplaySpeak
3.0.0.47: EasyTrigger
3.0.1.109: PHLocation
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 10th, 2018, 08:29 PM
Jfree23 Jfree23 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 39
I agree, this will work, but I consider it a workaround, not a solution. You can only issue Alexa commands to HS when the Echo you are talking to is on the right Amazon account in the household. Yes, you can ask which account it is on, and ask to switch accounts if needed, then issue HS commands. That is what I'm doing also, as that is the only way that works.

However, IMO Amazon accounts are great for personal preferences, keeping your own lists, briefings, purchases, etc. But one should be able to control their house, from any "household" account, right? That's why there are Households for Amazon! It does not make sense to me that only 1 account can control the house, and you have to switch to that account every time, if you "live" in a different account. HS devices should provide shared access.

I believe the bottleneck is in MyHS, not on the Amazon side. Just my view.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 21st, 2018, 12:09 AM
scorp508 scorp508 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
Once you do this new account user will go through training and the echos will be able to recognize the voice of that user.

Once done Alexa will use their account settings which is controlled by their Alexa app on their phone. For many things it will identify you using your voice and for others you have to tell alexa to switch accounts. This includes such things as delivery notifications, music libraries, Flash Briefings, your calendar, voice purchasing, lists and other features.
This works now? I thought you still always had to say switch profiles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Echo's and two Alexa Amazon accounts chasers03 HAI/OMNI Panel for HS3 Plug-in (rmasonjr) 4 December 1st, 2017 08:57 AM
Alexa Skill now available for UK Amazon accounts! Rupp HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 13 February 26th, 2017 09:20 AM
HomeSeer Devs - Amazon Echo Home API - Suggestion (Multiple - Echoes, Echo Dot's) Daweeze HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 7 April 28th, 2016 01:49 PM
Using the Amazon Echo and the amazon-echo-ha-bridge with HomeSeer3 Ultrajones Ultra Scripts and Plug-Ins 1 January 10th, 2016 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC