www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Camera Plug-ins > Camera Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 18th, 2016, 06:11 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
Hikvision NVR

I will be getting some Hikvision DS-2CD2132F-I cameras (I am thinking 2.8mm) for around the house

UPDATE:

I have decided to build a PC and run Blue Iris
Here are the specs of the PC I will be building:

MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-Z170N-WIFI Mini-ITX
CPU: i7-6700K LGA1151
CPU FAN: Dynatron T450 CPU cooler
RAM: G.SKILL Aegis 16GB (2x8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM 2400 (F4-2400C15D-16GIS)
Hard Drive Main: Samsung 850 EVO SSD 250GB 2.5"
Hard Drive Storage: Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB
PowerSupply: PicoPSU-160-XT/15A 180W AC-DC with barrel connector
Case: Morex 557 Mini-Itx
Case Fans: Noctua NF-A4x10 FLX (4 of them installed down one side of case)
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board

Last edited by Blade; October 21st, 2016 at 05:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 18th, 2016, 10:07 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,625
Isn't it superfluous if you're using BI? I have Hik cams and BlueIris and I love it. It runs on the same box as HS3 for me and doesn't require another piece of hardware etc.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 18th, 2016, 10:18 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
Isn't it superfluous if you're using BI? I have Hik cams and BlueIris and I love it. It runs on the same box as HS3 for me and doesn't require another piece of hardware etc.
Ditto, sorta..... using Sighthound on same box as HS3 and recording to hard drive.... specifically so I didn't have to use a separate recorder....
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.398
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station

Enabled Plug-Ins:
  • 2.0.49.0: BLBackup
  • 2.0.22.0: BLUPS
  • 1.2.2.0: Device History
  • 3.7.0.0: Harmony Hub
  • 3.0.0.42 Easy Trigger
  • 3.0.1.90: PHLocation
  • 3.0.6331.36036: UltraCID3
  • 3.0.5917.35093: UltraLog3
  • 3.0.6554.33094: UltraMon3
  • 3.0.0.76: weatherXML
  • 3.0.1.162: Z-Wave
  • 3.0.51: HS Touch Designer
  • 3.0.0.40 Z-Seer+
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 18th, 2016, 10:47 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
I do not want to use a capture card for the cameras
I thought Blue Iris could connect to cameras using the NVR. Is this true?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 18th, 2016, 10:58 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,479
Capture cards were used in the analogue days and no longer utilized today with IP cameras.

Blue Iris is a software IP NVR.

The NVR posted above is a propietary Linux device with an autonomous network of POE connected cameras (an all in one solution).
__________________
- Pete

Automator


Hardware | HS3 Pro - Haswell iSeries 3 - 16Gb | HS3 Lite Pine64 2Gb computers

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.398 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

HS3 Plugins - a bunch
Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee
Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Amazon Echo
Security - Leviton Omni Pro 2
Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick
Firewall - PFSense
CCTV - Zoneminder


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 18th, 2016, 11:30 AM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,158
Blade,

Like was already stated you don't need anything but Blueiris and the cameras.

I also would try and talk you out of the glass dome versions of Hikvisions. They are great for vandal resistance but they are the worse for picture of the bullet and turret style at night atleast.

I run 10 or more hikvisions at two different houses with Blueiris. On the porches I use the indoor model with a speaker and mic to enable two way with someone at my door. The rest are mostly bullets with two of those domes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 18th, 2016, 11:34 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I do not want to use a capture card for the cameras
I thought Blue Iris could connect to cameras using the NVR. Is this true?
No capture card needed... although I (optionally) added a separate NIC card to handle just the video....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 18th, 2016, 12:00 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
Unhappy

I was leaning toward the dome ones because I have boxes mounted in the soffit around the house. Not sure how the bullet ones would look

If I just use Blue Iris then I must still need a POE switch, correct?
Which POE switch would be best?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 18th, 2016, 12:14 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I was leaning toward the dome ones because I have boxes mounted in the soffit around the house. Not sure how the bullet ones would look

If I just use Blue Iris then I must still need a POE switch, correct?
Which POE switch would be best?
You don't necessarily need a POE switch, but you do need a POE injector. If you need a new switch anyway, buy one with lots of POE ports. If you already have a serviceable switch and aren't out of capacity, you can buy a multi-port injector. I have an 8 port passive one that I bought for $25. It doesn't do anything fancy, just adds power between the switch and the patch panel. Depending on number of cams, you need to be careful on total load for these though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 18th, 2016, 12:41 PM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
If I just use Blue Iris then I must still need a POE switch, correct?
Which POE switch would be best?
You don't necessarily need a POE switch, but that is an option. When I add more cameras, I'll probably use these folks....

https://find-a-poe.com/products/
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 18th, 2016, 04:38 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
I assume this POE switch would be good enough to run 7 IP cameras

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TL-SG1008PE-...MAAOSwFL9Tvazr
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 18th, 2016, 04:54 PM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I assume this POE switch would be good enough to run 7 IP cameras

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TL-SG1008PE-...MAAOSwFL9Tvazr
Yup that would work. I also use the 8 port injector tho as was mentioned by ewkearns above. Most POE switches have fans and make noise. It is much cleaner and faster (not that you need gigabit to the cameras) to run a POE switch. But an injector of either 10/100 or gigabit like these works just fine if you don't mind taking up a bit more space.

This is what I use:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...L2WJVKDOJB5HK3

This is the gigabit model of above:
https://find-a-poe.com/product/WT-GPOE-8-48v60w/

Can be had from www.find-a-poe.com or threw amazon or other places.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 18th, 2016, 06:57 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
Yup that would work. I also use the 8 port injector tho as was mentioned by ewkearns above. Most POE switches have fans and make noise. It is much cleaner and faster (not that you need gigabit to the cameras) to run a POE switch. But an injector of either 10/100 or gigabit like these works just fine if you don't mind taking up a bit more space.

This is what I use:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...L2WJVKDOJB5HK3

This is the gigabit model of above:
https://find-a-poe.com/product/WT-GPOE-8-48v60w/

Can be had from www.find-a-poe.com or threw amazon or other places.
Thanks
Would that one from Amazon be enough to power 7 IP cameras streaming at the same time with no issues. I am new to IP cameras but I ran 7 of them here when we built the house
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 18th, 2016, 07:07 PM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,158
That one is 60w total or they have an optional 120w inverter. Thats 8.5 for each camera if you have 7. Think my hikvisions draw like 7w each at nighy with the ira on and like 5 during the day. But your best bet is to look at your models power draw and make sure its under 60w for all. If not get 120w inverter version.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 18th, 2016, 07:07 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I will be getting some Hikvision DS-2CD2132F-I cameras (I am thinking 2.8mm) for around the house and am wondering if anyone is using or has used the Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P NVR.

Here is the link to the one I am looking at getting:

http://www.hikvision.com/us/Products_1_10649_i8725.html

I am curious on user feedback and how it works with Blue Iris
Bob Just an FYI, that NVR doesn't get very good reviews on Amazon but it doesn't look like you will need one anyway.
https://www.amazon.com/HIKVISION-DS-.../dp/B00VMNRZS4
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 18th, 2016, 09:24 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
Blade,



Like was already stated you don't need anything but Blueiris and the cameras.



I also would try and talk you out of the glass dome versions of Hikvisions. They are great for vandal resistance but they are the worse for picture of the bullet and turret style at night atleast.



I run 10 or more hikvisions at two different houses with Blueiris. On the porches I use the indoor model with a speaker and mic to enable two way with someone at my door. The rest are mostly bullets with two of those domes.


I love my ds-2cd2532f-is with 2.8mm lens models.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 19th, 2016, 03:28 AM
billt billt is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupp View Post
Bob Just an FYI, that NVR doesn't get very good reviews on Amazon but it doesn't look like you will need one anyway.
https://www.amazon.com/HIKVISION-DS-.../dp/B00VMNRZS4
Did you actually read the reviews? Most of the negative ones are about lack of support from Hik USA as they'd bought a grey import. The other negative ones were typical Amazon reviews with little relevance to the actual product. I would disregard all the 1 and 2 star reviews, the remainder are positive with a few small criticisms.

FWIW, after trying Blue Iris on my HS system I decided to abandon it and move to a separate NVR. I found that BI is a CPU hog and it was getting to 100% CPU with only 4 cameras. I could have changed the server to a power hungry monster, but I suspect that BI would still get CPU bound. The Hik NVRs are very low power (less than the extra which would have been used by a more powerful CPU) and I prefer to have one processor for one task!

The NVR I use is a DS-7716N-E4-16P and has been fine for my purposes. The built in POE means that I don't have to mess around with injectors or waste POE outputs on my switch. The cameras being on a separate network is a welcome security barrier, given the issues about network devices.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 19th, 2016, 05:53 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by integlikewhoa View Post
That one is 60w total or they have an optional 120w inverter. Thats 8.5 for each camera if you have 7. Think my hikvisions draw like 7w each at nighy with the ira on and like 5 during the day. But your best bet is to look at your models power draw and make sure its under 60w for all. If not get 120w inverter version.
The DS-2CD2132F-I camera says a max of 5W so I will be fine with the 60W POE injector
I will just get a regular Gigabit switch then and I should be all set
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 19th, 2016, 06:07 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,024
Would these rackmount ones work for me?

https://www.amazon.com/WS-POE-16-1U-...ctor+rackmount

or

https://www.amazon.com/WS-POE-16-48v...+injector+rack
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 19th, 2016, 09:21 AM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Yup if you need that many ports. The 2nd link is what u need.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HikVision camera plugin for motion alerts - C# example sgieseking HS3 Plug-In Development 40 September 10th, 2017 04:05 PM
Hikvision Camera in HSTouch aldo HS3Touch General Discusion 19 March 15th, 2017 08:06 AM
Help with Hikvision cameras - Working! ando1 HomeSeer NetCam Plug-in 8 September 20th, 2016 04:04 PM
howto add hikvision ip cameras Mdlllc Camera Discussion 0 June 21st, 2016 12:58 PM
Hikvision url ESSCHENK HomeSeer NetCam Plug-in 5 December 22nd, 2014 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC