www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer Zigbee Plug-in

HomeSeer Zigbee Plug-in Discussions relating to the Zigbee plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 24th, 2017, 05:46 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
What can we use with this plug-in?

I haven't been able to find much information on the zigbee plug-in. I am wondering if there is a list of devices somewhere that can be used with this plug-in. I have the sylvania smart+ (osram lightify) hub and a bulb and they work fine. Just need to know what else will work! thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 24th, 2017, 11:28 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Does anyone know if this plug-in will work with all zigbee devices or is it limited? Anyone!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 25th, 2017, 06:05 AM
Richel Richel is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Florida, USA
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowinger View Post
Does anyone know if this plug-in will work with all zigbee devices or is it limited? Anyone!
I think it may be limited to Osram Lightify. I am using it with their bulbs and their gateway. It works well, but only for brightness and color temperature, not color.

Elliott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 25th, 2017, 10:14 AM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richel View Post
I think it may be limited to Osram Lightify. I am using it with their bulbs and their gateway. It works well, but only for brightness and color temperature, not color.

Elliott
I am contacting Osram to get a list of compatible products. Will post when I get them. There website is osram dot com. Email lightify@osram dot com.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 25th, 2017, 10:45 AM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,208
https://shop.homeseer.com/collection...lug-in-for-hs3
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 25th, 2017, 10:54 AM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
Thanks. Are "Light Link" and "Link Smart" the same thing?

Does that include:
We know Sylvania & Osram
GE?
TP-Link?
Sengled?

How do we know for sure if these are all compatible?

Found this website:
http://www.zigbee.org/zigbee-for-dev...ee-light-link/

It shows Zigbee Light Link, including GE, Greenwave, OSRAM Sylvania and Philips.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 25th, 2017, 12:19 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,139
The Zigbee devices that can be seen are relating to the firmware on the OSRAM LIGHTIFY Wireless Gateway.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 25th, 2017, 12:24 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
The Zigbee devices that can be seen are relating to the firmware on the OSRAM LIGHTIFY Wireless Gateway.
Thanks Pete. How does the "Light Link" play a part in all of this. Osram says they are compatible with it and the brands I mentioned all claim to use it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 25th, 2017, 12:40 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richel View Post
I think it may be limited to Osram Lightify. I am using it with their bulbs and their gateway. It works well, but only for brightness and color temperature, not color.

Elliott
I was at the Osram website and they show color bulbs in their list. I had to go into the app and select the device and then it showed an upgrade for one of the bulbs. I turned it off and then back on and then selected the upgrade button. It should show a progress bar as it upgrades. Might give that a try. I then saw a page where they had the main 3 colors and selections for each.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 25th, 2017, 12:53 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,139
How does the "Light Link" play a part in all of this. Osram says they are compatible with it and the brands I mentioned all claim to use it.

Light Link is just Osram's proprietary name for their Zigbee protocal. Compatible brands work with the Osram Light Link Zigbee hub firmware.

Such that whatever is on Osram's list mentioned by cowinger will work. The Osram hub is the most cost reasonable at $28.00.

Same or similar to the use of the above Zigbee JowiHue paid pluging working with the RaspBee. IE: you can now do a ZNet like Zigbee thingamajig. IE: a Zigbee GPIO card on a RPi connected via a POE connection in the attic. Only difference is that it is not a cloud connected hub and will cost more than $50 with an RPi and GPIO Zigbee card.

My Zigbee Leviton serial ZIM has a tiny LCD display and allows connectivity to Zigbee appliance / light modules, thermostats and door locks. Not sure if it works with light bulbs. Thinking I paid less than $200 for the ZIM.

The Smarthings cloud connected hub talks ZWave and Zigbee. Paid less than $100 for the Smarthings hub. (well it was a gift - so it was free).

The Almond + talks ZWave,Zigbee and regular wireless and can be used as a cloud connected hub or not. Less than $200.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 25th, 2017, 01:25 PM
cowinger cowinger is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
How does the "Light Link" play a part in all of this. Osram says they are compatible with it and the brands I mentioned all claim to use it.

Light Link is just Osram's proprietary name for their Zigbee protocal. Compatible brands work with the Osram Light Link Zigbee hub firmware.

Such that whatever is on Osram's list mentioned by cowinger will work. The Osram hub is the most cost reasonable at $28.00.

Same or similar to the use of the above Zigbee JowiHue paid pluging working with the RaspBee. IE: you can now do a ZNet like Zigbee thingamajig. IE: a Zigbee GPIO card on a RPi connected via a POE connection in the attic. Only difference is that it is not a cloud connected hub and will cost more than $50 with an RPi and GPIO Zigbee card.

My Zigbee Leviton serial ZIM has a tiny LCD display and allows connectivity to Zigbee appliance / light modules, thermostats and door locks. Not sure if it works with light bulbs. Thinking I paid less than $200 for the ZIM.

The Smarthings cloud connected hub talks ZWave and Zigbee. Paid less than $100 for the Smarthings hub. (well it was a gift - so it was free).

The Almond + talks ZWave,Zigbee and regular wireless and can be used as a cloud connected hub or not. Less than $200.
Thanks again Pete. Looks like there is quite a few choices now. I will await an email from them (hopefully) with a complete list. I will post if and when that happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-in support on Linux (Plug-in authors please read!) rjh HS3 Plug-In Development 40 December 29th, 2017 11:30 AM
Does this plug-in play well with the Alexa Plug-in? outbackrob Honeywell WiFi Thermostat (3P) 20 July 31st, 2016 05:02 PM
Plug-in doesn't see PLM or Hub, HomeSeer plug-in does LouieD Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 27 July 19th, 2016 11:31 AM
Compare/contrast ACRF(2) plug-in and RFXCOM plug-in? NeverDie ACRF Processor (3P) 1 November 12th, 2013 11:18 AM
Insteon PLM Plug-in is moving to a licensed plug-in mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 19 September 22nd, 2010 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC