Mysterious? LED flickering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mysterious? LED flickering

First of all, I'm a total noob to this stuff.
    I just received my Zee S2 and HS-WD100 switches last week and have never used z-wave or home automation before. So if there are some basic settings I should be aware of, don't assume I am.

Here are the pertinent? facts:

Equipment:
    Zee S2
    HS-WD100+ dimmer switches

Lighting loads:
    Kitchen table lighting - 3-bulb chandelier
    Kitchen island lighting - two 1-bulb pendants

All fixtures are using the same brand and size of dimmable LED bulb (not sure which brand - bought at Home Depot).

The problem is that the island lights flicker randomly. It can be several minutes between a flickering and the flickering may be a single flicker or a series of flickers and generally short pulses.
    The table lights do not flicker at all.

Both pendants flicker in unison. So I assumed it was the switch. So I swapped switches between the island and table lighting. The flickering remained with the pendants (i.e. the flickering did not follow the switch).

I've also disabled the S2 z-wave plugin and the flickering still occurred. So presumably it's not the controller telling the light to do something.

The load line from the switch to the pendants is a single wire so there is a split somewhere between the switch and the pendants to feed both of them.
    So, I'm wondering if this could be the root cause of the flickering. Maybe too much loss or something? And I'm wondering if there are some Z-wave tweaks that can mitigate the problem? Or really interested in any other suggestions.

Thanks,

Mitch

I think my Jasco switches flicker when they get polled.
    https://forums.homeseer.com/forum/de...plifier-plugin

Comment